We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Formerly the Taft Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Michelangelo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #35 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Formerly the Taft Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed at the Michelangelo because it used to be the Taft Hotel, where my parents were both working when they met 72 years ago!!! But besides the sentimental attachment, it is a great location and lovely, classic hotel. My only complaint is that our room was on the inside of the building and very dark. While there were windows, it gave the sense of being windowless and as a result was somber and confining.

Room Tip: The restaurant, Insieme, was expensive, but very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laikador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,072
    782
    161
    57
    33
See reviews for
638
1,414
123
402
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I spent a week in NY for our first stay in US.
The Michelangelo Hotel is the perfect location to be in NY.
Staying at the Michelangelo give you the unique opportunity to be on Time Square, 2 min from Rockfeller Center, 2 min from the 5th avenue, 5 min to Central Park .... The location !!
James, the Head Concierge, is the key personal for Guests' request. Always here to make your stay memorable !!
For sure, we will be back

Room Tip: Our Junior suite 717 was very enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erwan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My daughter and I spent one week at the Michelangelo earlier this month. She was working and I got a transit card and played tourist, visiting as many museums, sights and shows as I could. The location was ideal. The subway was very close and we could walk down to Dufy square to get half price tickets just before the show. By joining I prefer (free membership) before we arrived, we got free internet and a free room upgrade to a junior suite which was roomier and had a sitting area. The room was huge, although it still only had one bed. We were told we would have to pay $50 more to have 2 beds. The bed was very comfortable, furnishing were nice and the bathroom was large and sumptuous although it only had one sink. Once we had moved in, we were pretty much left alone, except that a maid knocked on the door at 9 am each morning, wanting to clean the room. That seemed very early to us. We thought rooms were cleaned laster in the day. Also, we were jet lagged, so still asleep at 9. The concierge was nice, but not terribly knowledgeable. As I was leaving, he told me it would be fine to take the subway to the airport on a Saturday, but it turned out the local line was closed, which was a hassle. The staff was friendly enough when approached, but we didn't feel in any way pampered. Breakfast, included with the room, was only served from 7-9 (you now know we are not early risers) and was very basic - choose from a pile of croissants or a pile of mini scones, help yourself to a cup or tea or coffee. So, if you are independent and are looking for a comfortable, quiet, attractive place in a great location, look no further. IF you want pampering, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PHguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Found the Mic through on-line references and found it to be everything I'd hoped for and more. Spacious rooms, gracious staff, excellent location and reasonably priced (for NYC). I'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlProfessore21212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

If you choose to stay at this hotel, beware of theft. Lock up everything -- including your toothpaste! Don't leave anything unattended. Housekeeping and security are inexcusable. The management is unprofessional, appalling, and completely deplorable when there is a problem. The general manager was completely indifferent, unconcerned, and insulting when I had items stolen from my room. It is very disturbing to have personal items stolen from one’s hotel room, but it’s more distressing when management chooses to ignore their problem. In addition to the items stolen from my room, there were other problems and disappointments, but not as significant when compared to theft. I am well traveled and have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels. I stayed at The Michelangelo five nights and can undoubtedly say this is hardly a luxury 4-star hotel. Location was the only positive thing and there are many other reputable hotels in the area from which to choose. This was my first visit to The Michelangelo; needless to say, it was my last visit.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank FMGTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

You really can't beat this hotel. It has the best standards. I have stayed here four times and will never stay anywhere else in NYC. Perfect location- near Timesquare, walking distance to central park and radio city. But the rooms are amazingly quiet for how close it is to all the action. Great staff, great comfy rooms and beds, amazing everything. Either go to their restaurant or get room service and try the pasta- it is soooo good. It's been months since I've been there, and I still dream about it! Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, N
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Arrived on December 31, 2011for New Year Eve celebration in Times Square as part of a Christmas gift for our son, his first time in NYC... this was a great location, right around the corner from Times Square & all the action. The hotel staff was excellent. Our room was clean, the bathroom was big and the tub was huge. Having a television in the bathroom was great. I already recommended this hotel to people and my family would stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alida D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,231 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#55 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#34 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,347 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#47 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,036 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#48 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Property: The Michelangelo Hotel
Address: 152 West 51st Street, Between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#31 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing