We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria New York
Ranked #263 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The Waldorf Towers were worth every dollar. The view from the 28th floor was unbelievable. The newly remodeled rooms had all the modern amenities. Service was impeccable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,618
    3,138
    2,070
    1,078
    589
See reviews for
3,069
3,938
401
1,883
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,981)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of March and can only describe it as opulent luxury. We had a smoking room which was massive and had everything you could possibly want. The restaurant and bars are wonderful. A little on the expensive side though. The hotel is in a great location for all the fantastic things to see and do in New York. You won't be sorry if you book this hotel.

Room Tip: We requested a smoking room which was fine so not sure about the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolivia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We are Hilton diamond and were allowed early check in at 1 and upgraded to suite without asking. We had a comfortable living room, king bed and 2 bathrooms for the 2 of us. All very nice. Signs of age gave character and were no issue with us. Everyone was friendly and helpful from arrival to departure on a busy memorial day weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2livewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waxhaw, NC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Stayed at the Waldorf Astoria a few days after Christmas. Rockefeller Center and the entire shopping area was still bustling in full Holiday style. So location was great-just slightly far enough away for a bit more quiet. This hotel has such history and architecture, dated from a different era-yet still beautiful in its own splendor. BUT if you are more of a glass and steel and modern person, you probably should go elsewhere-because this may just feel old to you. Service was great-the most gracious/professional check-in I have ever experienced. We got an amazing last minute deal for the week after Christmas-so I honestly was not expecting an amazing room with amazing views-which was OK we were there for 1 night and intended just to sleep there.(BTW we overlooked the heating/ac units in the middle of the building) The room is definitely old feeling-but the beds were very comfortable and the linens and bathroom things were a touch of luxury-much better than average. One thing I would say-is (if you are a woman) is go into the ladies room off the lobby-it is like walking back into a 1940s movies-really kinda cool to see what was thought to be luxurious/opulent for the time-again you have to have an appreciation of older times.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMAZZWaxhaw_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our first family trip since 1997 - and the children are now all grown up. We wanted to make it memorable and staying at this amazing hotel was worth it. Our rooms were spacious, not particularly modern or even recently updated, but in excellent condition and reasonably roomy. I've stayed in better rooms around the world but to judge the Waldorf on that alone is to miss the point. The whole hotel is a fabulous experience with so much history. The staff were friendly and our thanks to the concierges who answered our endless questions and made our bookings speedily and efficiently. It is the most central location, everywhere was in easy reach, and that alone is worth it's weight in gold. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when I go again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
268 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We've stayed at the Waldorf many times over the years, so I was pleased to see that the refurbished rooms are a delight, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are a decent size and everything works - except possibly the bath but then this is America!

The one drawback of the whole place is that queue (line) at reception. Why does it take so long to book in? And to add insult to injury no matter what time we arrive our room is never ready, even at 8pm in the evening. Normally we've just got off a transatlantic flight so would love to have a shower and a lie down, but no it's a sit in the entrance hall (majestic though it is) for half an hour whilst housekeeping complete the room service.

So why do we keep going back? Well the location for one thing - very central, Oscar's for another - excellent breakfast, and yes the rooms, because once you are in them they are just what you need after a long flight - quiet and spacious.

Room Tip: Ask for twin queen beds - you will naturally get a larger room to accommodate them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lagomaggiore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I think your experience will depend on the room. I've stayed at this property three times and each time had a corner room which gives you more privacy and space. This is still a grand dame of a hotel in mid-city, art deco w/ a beautiful lobby. You can feel the history. However, if you tend to prefer quiet and relaxing you might opt for a smaller boutique hotel uptown. The Waldorf is owned by Hilton and is a bustling hotel but a great location for business and Broadway.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bordeaux&castles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#109 of 468 in New York City
2,224 reviews
Midtown
The Benjamin
The Benjamin
#95 of 468 in New York City
2,607 reviews
Midtown
Lotte New York Palace
Lotte New York Palace
#81 of 468 in New York City
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
InterContinental New York Barclay
InterContinental New York Barcla...
#99 of 468 in New York City
870 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#34 of 468 in New York City
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria New York

Property: Waldorf Astoria New York
Address: 301 Park Avenue, New York City, NY 10022-6844
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Spa Hotel in New York City
#174 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#224 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Astoria New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waldorf Astoria New York is temporarily closed while undergoing a complete renovation and restoration. It is planned to reopen in 2019/2020. Waldorf Astoria New York will feature restored historic public and event spaces along with luxury condominiums and guest rooms and suites that will set a new standard for luxury and service in New York. ---- New York’s grandest landmark hotel, the city's first sky-scraper hotel opened on October 31, 1931, and is still delighting visitors with its elegant Art Deco accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Astoria New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Waldorf
New York Waldorf
Waldorf Historia
Waldorf New York
Hotel Waldorf New York
Waldorf Astoria Hotel New York
Astoria New Waldorf York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing