We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveller rating
335
326
140
63
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
335
326
140
63
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper east side madison avenue central park museum mile sinai hospital cooper hewitt rooftop terrace new york hour coffee free coffee and tea boutique hotel king suite sitting room front desk staff great boutique lounge area bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 904 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2016

We have stayed at this hotel every year for the past thirteen years. Hotel Wales has tons of charm and is in a great location for access to museums and Central Park. You can easily walk to the Guggenheim, the Met, Neue Galerie ... a quick bus ride down to the MOMA from the Met. The neighborhood also has tons to offer -- quaint shops, excellent restaurants. There is a corner grocery to grab a snack on the fly ... you can easily get fresh fruit or sliced luncheon meats. There is a sitting room on the 2nd floor with free coffee and tea 24 hours. Room service is catered by Sara Beth's (restaurant on the first floor of the building) so room service is limited to the restaurant's hours of operation, but they serve great food for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Sara Beth's also has a bakery for breakfast scones or an afternoon cookie break.

Room Tip: In the winter, reserve a room on a lower floors as they are cooler. In the summer, higher floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2016

Thank you for your review Mary Beth! It is truly amazing that you have stayed with us for so many years. Thank you for your loyalty and may the tradition live on for many years to come! Should we be able to assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact us.

Our great team looks forward to your next visit! In the meantime we would all like to wish you many safe and exciting travels.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2016

Have stayed here multiple times with mixed reactions. Recently stayed in "family room" on top floor which is a great setup if you have kids or more than one guest and want to share a room. Two bedrooms, one with 2 twin beds and the other a king. Small, but comfortable living room between the two. However, only one bathroom, which is tiny and outdated, in the king bedroom. Hotel is very hot on upper floors, even in winter. Has old fashioned window AC units which are loud. Hotel staff was friendly, but seemed disconnected from the guests needs. Decent free coffee and tea in the mornings and throughout the day. Elevators are tiny (typical for NYC), so stay on a lower floor if you can and use the stairs! Does have a very nice rooftop patio (when it's open) with wonderful views where you can sit and have a drink or snack (self supplied).

Room Tip: Corner rooms on a lower floor are best.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2016

Thank you for your review Henry. And thank you for your loyalty to the Hotel Wales. I regret that you had difficulties during your stay with us this time around. I want you to know that we will address the items you mentioned and take corrective action where necessary. During your future visit to New York I encourage you to contact me directly. I would personally like to handle all your reservation needs to ensure that you have a much more memorable experience with us.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2016

Check-in was efficient and friendly. Your accommodations include free coffee and tea during the day and free wi fi. Our room was surprisingly nice with a sofa, two TV's, mini refrig, fireplace, several hardcover books, comfortable bed, and a nice bathroom. We did not find our room to be claustrophobic whatsoever. The problem was in my opinion a serious flaw: There was NO AIR CONDITIONING. They told us they don't turn on the AC until summer, and they don't have any fans. It was only April, however every now and then in Aprill and especially May, on the ninth floor it gets HOT. So sleeping was pretty uncomfortable. There was no thermostat, but I'd guess the temp. had to be about 80 degrees. This is inexcusable for a hotel not to provide adequate temperature controls on high floors where the heat of the day rises..

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dawnHawthorne_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2016

Thank you for your review Mrs. Hawthorne. We are delighted that you were able to take advantage of all the amenities The Hotel Wales offers including our complimentary coffee and tea which we serve through out the entire day. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience which you experienced. Please note that most of our rooms are now equipped with air conditioning as the weather is beginning to get warmer. We remove the individual window units once the weather gets cold. During your next visit to New York please contact me directly and I will personally handle all your accommodation needs to ensure that you do not encounter any difficulties with your stay.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Lovely boutique hotel fairly traditional by NY standards--rooms are small but well appointed. I was in a handicapped accessible room which I was at first unhappy about until I saw the huge shower. My only critique was that they hit the credit card for about $100 over the expected charge--a little unnecessary I think.

Room Tip: The handicap accessible rooms give you a little more room...
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2016

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to accommodate you. We are all very delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Please note that the hotel does require a pre-authorization of $50.00 per night. We take this deposit in the event that any additional charges are incurred as many of our guests take advantage of room service which the famous Sarabeths restaurant provides for us.

We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back during your next visit to New York!

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights while attending a meeting nearby. The location of the hotel is good: close to Central Park and in a quiet neighbourhood! Close to museums too! The coffee room on the mezzanine level is a great addition although one does wish there was a bit more than just coffee and tea available. Friendly, attentive staff. The room itself was small with no view (just other windows) a bit of a bummer after coming from so far. I still feel the price was steep for what we got. And I don't think I would stay here again while there are cheaper options with bigger rooms and better views

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TholangK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWales, General Manager at Hotel Wales, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2016

Thank you for your review! Our team is delighted that you enjoyed the area as well as the amenities offered at the Hotel Wales including our complimentary coffee and tea served the entire day. Please note that we offer a lot of different promotions on our website which can often times lead to saving as much as 25% off of our best available rate.

We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in New York City.

Sincerely,

Nestor Teran
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews