We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget place in central New York”
Review of West Side YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Side YMCA
Reviewed 13 May 2012

I had my FIRST trip to New York City last week.

The original plan was to possibly stay at The Leo House, but time was running short due to circumstances for me and my vacation.

My partner and I ended up staying at the Y on 63rd st.

For the price it IS a deal. You DO get what you pay for.

IF you can deal with a shared bathroom, it really isn't that bad. It's well maintained and the staff are just great.

As this was my FIRST trip to New York, I was prepared for just about anything.

We certainly had no complaints and it's with in eye shot of Central Park.

IF you are on a tight budget and need a place to crash in NYC, I WOULD recommend it just for the experience.

Again, the staff was first rate, but then as I've learned, how YOU are with them, THEY are with you.

I'd do it again!!! Although preferably NOT bunk beds

Room Tip: IF you are a couple, try to get a single larger bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pmartelToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 1,365 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2012

Its a nice hostel regarding the price per night, we been at the room 973 a private with twin bed, with a table and 2 chairs. The bathroom is shared, there is one for girls and another for boys, both has hot water. The location is excellent, a 50 mt from the Central Park and 10 blocks from Times Square, half block from Broadway Av and 3 blocks from Columbus Circle were you can eat. Is has no kitchen. The towels were changed daily. Check out 1130 am but you can leave your luggage until 9pm. The windows were not able to open.

Room Tip: It is a place just for sleep. At Manhattan you just need a place to sleep. The 973 has window to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginaadgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Nice location, but if this were located in pretty much any other American city, the health department would shut it down. The bathrooms are third world, and not GOOD third world. They are completely, utterly disgusting. The Y should be ashamed of itself. Bleach doesn't cost that much. DO NOT EVER STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: find another place to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mn1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

the place is probably good for teenagers/students and people on a very low budget but personally i had a depressing time there and would not recommend it to anyone who looks for some decency. i was mislead, when choosing to book here, by the description on their website: "single de lux room on our newly renovated floor with semi-private bathroom", which came at 115 usd per night. the room was in fact very basic, similar to a poorly maintained student room on an average campus. the walls were dirty and stained. the hallways to the room were horrible, painted in a strong yellow. the bathrooms were on the hallway and not necessarily clean (true, this also depends on the people who use them). there was no sink in the room, though i somewhat thought that "semi-private" bathroom would mean that.

The only good things are the location and the coffee-shop, where they serve breakfast at 6-7 USD. And the computing and internet facility, which again costs 2 USD for 20 minutes.

I will not go there again. There are better and more decent options in the southern part of Manhattan.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcelia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

For the price, this is a good place to stay in NYC. It is less than 5 minutes walk to Central Park and about 10-15 minutes from Times Square hence a good location too. The room was clean and we were provided with towels. There was a luggage storage room too for one dollar. However, the bathroom was dirty and there is little privacy in the showers - they are right behind the sinks and the curtains don't close properly. The bunk beds in our room were very high and we were not provided with a ladder so I had to climb on the furniture to get into bed and the light in the room is on a sensor and would come on in the night and wake us up. Also, the staff on reception were not very friendly - on arrival we were seen by a lady called Brittany who was extremely rude and had no customer service skills at all. On the whole, it is a good hostel to stay in when you are in NYC as you are not in the hostel very much anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 02kel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

You pay for what you get I suppose, although we didn't expect to share our room with an ant infestation.. I also cut my foot on a shard of metal sticking out from one of the bunk beds.

Complaints aside, the location was great, just over the road from Central Park and the views from the hostel were pretty decent.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joellabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This is the worst hostel I have stayed in. The room was freezing and the radiator was broken. The girl on the front desk was very unhelpful. They sent a serviceman up to our room to fix the radiator but he couldn't fix it. Instead of moving us to another room he used one of our towels to try to block off the vents where cold air was blowing in to our room. We had a shared bathroom which was filthy and the shower curtains don't fit so everyone in the room can see into your shower. Went back to the bathroom the next day and they still hadn't been cleaned. Only good thing about this place was that they gave us our money back so that we could stay somewhere else

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#347 of 471 in New York City
6,325 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#218 of 471 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#19 of 163 in New York City
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#26 of 163 in New York City
207 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Midtown
Jazz on Columbus Circle
Jazz on Columbus Circle
#14 of 163 in New York City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7162
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 163 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $96 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle transit hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year. Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities Include Cable TV, Shared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioning, Housekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels provided. Elevator BuildingAround the clock check-in 24 hour security Free WiFi in lobby area Safe Deposit boxes No Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing