We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (592)
Filter reviews
592 results
Traveller rating
295
177
65
33
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
177
65
33
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews freedom tower battery park courtyard marriott great location wtc memorial the financial district rector street new york wall street brookfield place marriott rewards floor lounge corner room building work brooklyn bridge statue of liberty safe area
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 592 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2018

Nice hotel. Close to 911 Memorial museum. Good happy hour and breakfast. Nice walk to Tribeca. Only negative was slow elevators but they are working on it and room was not ready at check in time. Front desk did comp us free glass of wine.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStar687841, General Manager at Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Courtyard New York Manhattan/World Trade Center, Patricia, and we thank you for sharing your lovely review. We were delighted that our amazing location in the heart of the Financial District benefitted your travels throughout the city perfectly, including our close proximity to the humbling One World Trade Center Complex. And while we were pleased that you also enjoyed your time relaxing and dining in our modernly-appointed accommodations, we do apologize for the minor issues you encountered with our elevators. Please know that the normal speed of our elevators is set by a local ordinance and overseen by a national third-party organization to ensure it is not altered. Yet we do understand there was a slight maintenance issue during your visit that required a little extra attention. We greatly appreciate your understanding and hope that we will have the chance to fully win you over with an all-around five-star stay on a future visit to the Empire State!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Good value and location hotel in central Manhattan. very close to everything. I stayed in this hotel same month last year and my experience now and then was the same. I would recommend this hotel if you wanted to save some money on a pricy NY Manhattan.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carl0ssalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStar687841, General Manager at Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

We were delighted to learn that you had yet another wonderful experience staying with us, Carl, and we thank you for taking a moment to share this most recent visit. Knowing that you have found our modernly-appointed accommodations and welcoming hospitality to be consistently a great value and five-star worthy brightened our day. We greatly appreciate you sharing your resounding recommendation of us to others looking for a great home base for any NYC explorations, and hope that we have the pleasure of continuing to welcome you back through the doors of the Courtyard New York Manhattan/World Trade Center for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2018

Hotel gave us the ease of access to the attractions in lower Manhattan we were interested in. Construction next store made for noise that continued late into the night. (Midnight on Friday).Found everything to be very small and not very comfortable but everything was provided.

Room tip: Need to find space to build or add drawers in these very tiny rooms.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ajc646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStar687841, General Manager at Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2018

We greatly appreciate your feedback regarding your recent guest experience with us. While we were delighted that our Lower Manhattan location and convenient access to multiple forms of public transportation benefitted your overall visit to the city, it was disappointing to read that your stay fell short of exceeding all expectations. We were disheartened that your guest room accommodations did not afford you all of the comforts of home as we take great pride in our contemporary style and modernly-appointed design. This smaller, “NYC” size is an inherent feature of all properties in the area yet we do have rooms of varying footprints available and wish we could have had an opportunity to accommodate you better during your stay. We do apologize if the construction adjacent to our property impacted your overall enjoyment and hope to have a chance to welcome you back so we may provide you with a stay that will truly win you over!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

This property is in an excellent location, right next to WTC, a block from the #1 Subway train and 1 1/2 blocks from the Oculus (with access to quite a few subway lines). There's quite a few food options around, and the area is pretty safe.

The room I had on the 21st floor was a bit on the small side, but it is NYC after all. Didn't have a view unfortunately... I take that back. I had a view of the next building. I didn't mind though. The bathroom and shower were average size, just be sure to put a towel down near the shower door when you use it.

My only issue with this hotel (which was rectified by the Manager on Duty), was that this hotel gets credit card authorization happy. While I was there, they authorized my card not once, not twice, but THREE times for varying amounts. I was told that the hotel should only hold $20/night for incidentals; they held quite a bit more than that. If I hadn't put a hold on my card, they would've taken everything that was available on my CC. I spoke to the manager on property and he promised to note my reservation to not authorize the card anymore, and also promised 17,500 points.

All in all it's a newer hotel with good qualities. The manager coming to my room and discussing the problem with me as opposed to hiding behind a desk showed character. I wouldn't be opposed to staying there again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank chgocutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStar687841, General Manager at Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/World Trade Center, Tim. We were delighted that our location, and convenient access to all forms of public transportation, afforded you with the perfect, modernly-appointed home base for your personal NYC travels! Due to the limited space in the city, everything is “NYC-sized” including our accommodations, and even though this aspect did not affect the quality of your stay, we do have larger room options available to consider for the future. That said, we regret to hear about your issue with the incidental charges you incurred throughout your visit. Please know that while these authorization holds are common throughout the hospitality industry, your experience was not on par with our normal implementation of this procedure and we sincerely apologize. Rest assured that your feedback concerning this service will be reviewed by our Management Team to ensure that any outstanding issues are addressed to alleviate future unwarranted issues. As you noted, we take great pride in always providing the highest standard of personalized customer service and we will share your praise for the “character” of our hospitality with our entire team. It was wonderful to learn that your recent experience has left you with the desire to return and we look forward to welcoming you back to strive to receive that elusive fifth star.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2018

While Downtown Manhattan can be somewhat out of the way for those focusing on midtown sights, it still has a lot to offer. It is just 2 blocks south of the Oculus (exit form the PATH train end) where you can take the PATH Train to Newark Penn Station for transfer to Newark Airport.

This is a cool hotel. It is the only Courtyard in the US I have been to that has some kind of "lounge" for elites. While nothing compared to some international Courtyards' lounges and no free food (elites get gradual discounted rates down to 0 for breakfast), it has something and that is appreciated. The patio off the lounge area offers a great view if you can't get a view in your room.

The staff is nice and helpful. There is a small gym in the basement and a laundry closet.

I think the experience at the hotel would be greatly influenced by the room you end up with. Some of the rooms are probably 10 feet away from a super tall building that is being constructed. It can't be pleasant looking out to that.

I booked a corner room - upgrades to them are probably tough. The corner rooms with the best view overlook Ground Zero and get a great view of the WTC and Hudson. While the view is beautiful, it is sad to think about what happened that day, the lives that were lost that day and in the wars that follow and how it changed the world.

The bed is comfortable. Nice sizable bathroom. Towels are somewhat on the cheap side.

There are also 2 penthouse suites on the top floor. They share the same balcony. Maybe one day....

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Want2GoHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStar687841, General Manager at Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Reading your reflective and informative comments regarding our property and personal experience was a delight, and we thank you for taking the time to share such an eloquent review. We know that many travelers looking for the perfect home base for their own NYC adventures will benefit from learning all about the many different amenities and services we offer as well as the inherent features of our surrounding Lower Manhattan area. Speaking of your personal experience, it was wonderful to know that you found your guest room to not only be comfortable but that it afforded you with an inspiring view of one of the most hallowed areas of our entire city. We were pleased that this picturesque backdrop was also present during your time spent in our 6th Floor Lounge. Our utmost priority is to ensure that our guests feel at home in our care and we were thrilled that you found our team members to be attentive and courteous throughout your stay. It was wonderful to know that this recent visit left you with the desire to return, whether in similar accommodations or with the penthouse view, and we look forward to welcoming you back through our doors in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews