We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,604)
Filter reviews
2,604 results
Traveller rating
1,398
931
172
56
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,398
931
172
56
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper west side museum of natural history central park amsterdam avenue nice martin new york columbia university attached restaurant great neighborhood subway line two blocks coffee maker wonderful hotel times square queen room hudson river business center
Filter
Updating list...
256 - 261 of 2,604 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2017 via mobile

One elevator didn't work. Front desk staff were curt at best. And room is outdated. No way to set temperature with window air con unit -- it's either hot or cold. The shower was good though. Still, won't return here.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Jared G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2017

Our 2 night stay during early December 2016 was absolutely ideal & in a really nice location & within walking distance to shops & cafe's/restaurants, trains & the park. Yes I agree the hotel is of an older style .. so what, it was clean, the staff were really lovely & so helpful - the room had everything required and the bed was very comfortable. We did only have breakfast in the dinning room - was really nice & light & clean with windows overlooking the streets which was great to people watch & see New York life! Can recommend.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatmuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

We stayed the last weekend of April 2017. I assure you, the "official" photos do not accurately reflect all rooms. We stayed in Room 901. It smelled musty & damp, the carpeting was well traveled (i.e., somewhat worn), the bathroom lighting was dim. If you require adequate lighting to put on make-up, bring your own mirror so that you can set it up on the desk (much better lighting). The room, however, was clean and the bed coverings were nice. What was maddening was the air conditioning. It was extremely loud. I believe that white noise may be appealing to some, but the excessive sound was uncomfortable. It was a good thing I had earplugs to lessen the noise. The location is very good. The subway (#1 train) was convenient (one block away). The Natural History Museum was a short walk, Central Park is a five minute walk. It was quite a lovely walk through it on the way to the Metropolitan Museum of Art (15 minute walk). The hotel is located in a lovely neighborhood with lots of small eateries. If you're willing to pay a somewhat high room rate, a great location and easy access to public transportation you may want to consider this hotel. I am unsure it we will stay here again. Next time, we will more than likely ask to see the room prior to occupying it.

Date of stay: April 2017
1  Thank Arles16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2017

Convenient hotel if you are visiting UW Side of NY. Hotel is old, small rooms and a bit worn but clean. Staff is friendly. This property is not deluxe by any stretch of the imagination but they also don't charge deluxe prices. I would stay again but ask for larger room.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank familytraveller06001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2017

My wife and I stayed here while visiting family in New York. A lovely experience.

The rooms are a nice size, the beds were comfy, everything was very nice. The staff was friendly and did a great job. The location was excellent, a block from the subway and all kinds of restaurants in the neighborhood.

A nice little touch - an umbrella in the room for you to use, and it worked great on a rainy, very windy day.

My only minor complaints are that parking isn't included and was an extra $55/day. Breakfast is also not included, though they have a happy hour free glass of wine.

Overall, a very nice experience.

Room tip: 6th floor or higher if you want to see the sky
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Swift-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Thank you for writing this lovely review. We're so pleased to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us, and our neighborhood. We will pass along your kind words to our staff, they'll love to hear it! We hope to see you again on your next visit to NY!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews