We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Room for location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #321 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Room for location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

I got the room because it was part of a package with Expedia. It's all about location
We had a corner room so two windows, very clean and no bugs. Beds were comfortable. Noise hardly ever. Request a hotspot for morning coffee at the front desk. No wifi but starbucks across the street has it for free. Eat at the food cart down the street for breakfast for fluffys to the right. I would stay again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    2,653
    1,594
    572
    366
See reviews for
1,579
2,263
318
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (920)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Really good value for money and fab location. Room not massive but did the job. We were on the 4th floor in a corner room, not too noisy at all. Bed comfy, couldn't complain. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison_1973_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Wellington is a fantastic location on 7th Ave and 54th St. We pulled up in front of the hotel and the valet greeted us and assisted us with our bags. We stayed in a junior suite. The website listed suites as having a queen pull out sofa in one room, and a queen or two twins in the second room. We had suite #320 and found a king size bed in one room, and a double bed and twin bed in the second room. We were thrilled, because we have 4 small children, and there was enough room for all of us. The bathroom was clean, not huge, but the same size as our bathroom at home. We also had a bar fridge, microwave and sink at the kichenette. There were 2 closets, one in each room. The only drawback were related to curtains. There are shades in each bedroom, but no blackout curtains. Also the bathroom tub has a safety rail that extends past the edge of the tub, so the shower curtain does not close completely, and the bathroom floor gets wet-very wet. We were only a few blocks north of Times Square and south of Central Park. The subway was just a across the street. There are a variety of resturants with in a few blocks. Carnegy Hall is across the street. Broadway is one street over. This hotel is not on the cutting edge, but it was clean, in a great location and we got a great deal for Easter week. We will definately return on our next trip to NYC.

Room Tip: Suite #320 is two rooms and one bath. One room had a twin and a double bed, the other room has a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MomtoFourinBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Older hotel in need of some work but comfortable and best of all within walking distance of Times Square, Central Park etc.

Room Tip: Request at least a queen size bed - our room for 2 was only a full size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenkaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson, Minnesota
Level Contributor
109 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My family stayed during four days of a school break in October 2011. Easy access to subway, taxi (or pedicab if we walked two blocks to Central Park). Close to very decent restaurants. In five to ten minutes, we could easily walk to Times Square.

The rooms were large (we had a two bedroom suite) with character. Don't expect modern, and you'll be happy.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Quist17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel was beautiful and comforting and the rates were good. I was booked at the different hotel and switched after the first night because it was a nightmare. Spent two nights and the Wellington. The staff was courteous and willing to help.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trip4LH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Wellington Hotel for a business trip. Though yes things were a little out dated and yes the room my be smaller than the average room I felt that for the money paid was very fair given the general location. I did quite a bit of walking so it was nice to have things so close. Also you save on taxi fare. I guess the only issue I would say I had is the mattress was a little hard but overall I was happy with the stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GatorFan023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#270 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,841 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,223 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#326 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#220 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,506 reviews
Midtown
Staybridge Suites Times Square - New York City
Staybridge Suites Times Square -...
#136 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,191 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
Holiday Inn Midtown / 57th St
#345 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing