We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Penhouse Suites at the MC”
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #185 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Penhouse Suites at the MC”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

We were lucky enough to be gifted a night at one of the MC's penthouse suites. These are found on the hotel's 27th floor and above, and require a special elevator/key card to be reached. I'm not familiar with the rest of the hotel/time share accomodations, but my guess is the penthouse suites are somewhat more snazzy.

Our suite was not huge but plenty spacious; galley-efficiency kitchen (coffee provided), sitting area with pull-out queen sofa, bedroom, and two very large bathrooms. The bathrooms are fabulous. The glass/tile walk-in shower in the master bath was, on its own, almost as big as a whole bathroom! Plenty of upscale toiletries are provided; the linens are very good quality and the bed comfy. The suite was clean and quiet.

The quality/character of the lobby was not what I expected -- small, and always seemed rather noisy and crowded. We arrived at 4 o'clock check-in time, and the line at the front desk was quite daunting; basically almost backed up to the front door. Luckily, as we were going up to the penthouse suites which have their own check-in procedure, we avoided the line, but I felt sorry for those who could not. And, as everyone says, the elevator situation is totally inadequate to handle the volume of guests.

We enjoyed our stay and would return to the penthouse suites. They are comfortable and the Club's location is excellent. I'm not so sure, however, if I would return to stay in one of the other lodging options.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D0ntFenceMeIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
We are truly delighted that your stay in the penthouse suite at the Manhattan Club was so enjoyable. All of our suites are appointed and equipped with plush fabrics, elegant furnishings, kitchenettes, pillow-top mattresses, luxurious marble baths, and more for our guest’s ultimate comfort. Your many gracious comments concerning your accommodations were greatly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Manhattan Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    532
    133
    62
    70
See reviews for
481
435
35
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Stayed in this fabulous time share accomodation for the second time. Lovely accomodation with well appointed room, kitchenette and huge beautiful bathrooms in our suite. Worth the price just to have those bathrooms.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ljkfmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your second stay with us at The Manhattan Club. Our stylish suites are elegantly appointed and equipped to make guests feel at home so we're glad you liked them so much. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We did an RCI exchange and so far are very pleased. I'm quite fussy when it comes to rooms. We have a junior suite. It's .clean well and well appointed looks new... We are staying on the 22 floor. I am not aware of what the lower floor rooms look like, so I cannot comment. My only complant so far is a queen size bed rather than a king. That was my husband's fault when he booked through RCI. He thought they were all king. It's not worth the $75.00 per day for an upgrade.so I will have to deal with a queen. The location is perfect. I will,post a follow up,review.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank mychel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
We do hope that the rest of your stay ended as well as it started. The Manhattan Club continuously refurbishes our rooms to assure guests that suites are maintained in their original well-cared-for condition. When a guest takes the time to mention that they felt the room was well appointed and make note of its cleanliness, it makes us proud. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back once again to The Manhattan Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed over Christmas for a week with two teenage children. We got a studio suite on the 23rd floor. The layout of the room worked out well, as it allowed me to leave the bedside lights on without disturbing those on the sofa bed.
Our room and bathroom was clean. Furnishings were modern and not worn. Housekeeping staff was great. We had no problems waiting for the elevators. The bar/lounge at the very top floor was a nice retreat.
Best feature of the hotel is the location.
Only issue was the heat in our room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3dtropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
We're so glad that you were able to join us during the holiday season in NYC. The Manhattan Club's prime midtown location allows guests to easily make their way around the city for sightseeing, activities, shopping and everything in between. We're happy that you found our location to be beneficial while enjoying your suite with all its amenities. If any concerns come up during your stay, please don't hesitate to let us know. We hope that you will visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed for a week over New Years with our two children. We had a fabulous time and the Manhattan Club was the perfect place to experience New York City. We stayed in a one bedroom, one bath and had plenty of space foe everyone. The room was immaculate and the furnishings were very nice. We had everything we needed in the kitchen. We felt very safe and the staff were excellent. John is so helpful and nice and my children still speak of him since we returned home. I wish I could remember our housekeepers name because she was fantastic too. She cleaned room 1208 from the 28th thru 2nd if management would like to share the review with her. She was friendly and the room was always sparkling when we returned. We will definitely return to the MC when we visit again.

Room Tip: We requested a high floor because of the better views. We liked to look out in the streets and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0vet0travel433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Your gracious praise for our staff is very much appreciated and we will share your comments with everyone, thank you. The Manhattan Club prides itself on maintaining the highest quality in product and service so that you will experience a carefree stay each time you visit. We’re glad you also enjoyed our location in midtown Manhattan where we are in close proximity of the city’s most popular attractions. Everyone at The Manhattan Club will be looking forward to your next visit. Thank you again for your many kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We are staying here right now! Certainly a fabulous location! Don't agree with reviews of not being clean- yes a little worn - but in a comfy way and spotless bathrooms! Couldn't be happier with the place!!

Room Tip: A view would have been nice - when they say view of the park they mean Park hotel! But nice staff an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Learning how happy you were with your stay at The Manhattan Club fills us with delight. We love to hear when a guest enjoyed not only our location but the accommodations as well. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again for another visit to NYC and The Manhattan Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Location. Location, Location, perfect for all New Year festivities, 10 min stroll to Times Square, 5 min to the park, room was large, very clean, all staff very good, would go back anytime, but my wife said I had to much fun, only negative was a noise at night from the elevators because all else was quiet...also my wife trapped one roach in the middle of the living room

Room Tip: Penthouse area is worth the price versus regular rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 645propane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Happy New Year! We're delighted that so much fun was had by all on New Year's Eve. The Manhattan Club is as you mentioned conveniently located to many of NYC's great attractions including Times Square and ideal for ringing in the New Year. We’re disappointed that we did not have an opportunity to address any of your concerns during the time of your stay and hope you won’t hesitate to let us assist you in the future. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#99 of 468 in New York City
1,533 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#135 of 468 in New York City
1,382 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#74 of 468 in New York City
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#392 of 468 in New York City
34 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#268 of 468 in New York City
4,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Property: The Manhattan Club
Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#173 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Manhattan Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing