We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing, Amazing, Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #99 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, Amazing, Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was there with my mother over 4 days and although we were only in the room to go to sleep, from the moment we stepped into the front door until the end of our trip, we were always treated with the utmost respect. The staff there are all so inviting and actually spoke and listened to us as people and not as a number (as some other larger hotel staff have done). The room was small, but there was no need for it to be any larger! Rooms were decorated amazing and we loved walking through the hallways. Window blinds were great as they were so dark and it was so quiet, which was nice to have. Location was ideal! Perfect walk no matter where we were headed - Times Square, Upper East Side, Columbus Circle etc. Breakfast lounge on the second floor was the greatest. Cake and fruit in the morning were a perfect little kick for us to start the day with a coffee, tea or hot chocolate. Since we were always out between 5 and 7, we were unable to experience the cheese and wine but I am sure it would have been amazing! Overall fab experience and we cannot wait to come to NY, let alone back to the Moderne hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 147MCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to post on our property. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your comments. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    900
    534
    145
    62
    46
See reviews for
292
763
97
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Recently stayed with my husband at the Moderne for a weekend trip to New York. We absolutely loved it! Tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, the location which is just off Broadway can't be beat and makes for a great home base for a city experience. Wonderful restaurants, such as La Masseria and the famous Carnegie Deli are steps away as is " the Soup Nazi " of Seinfeld fame! Located close to both Times Square, Lincoln Center and great shopping near Columbus Circle look no further for lodging! Great staff, great and inexpensive parking next door, great renovated boutique hotel...the Moderne ROCKS!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed for six nights with my family at the Moderne hotel at a great rate. Much to my pleasure, the rooms were-as depicted on the internet. Free floor space and shelf space in the bathrooms is very limited. However, the room was tastefully decorated, and very clean and everything worked well with a new LCD television. Doorman/bellman and front desk staff were uniformly friendly and attentive. I never saw the housekeeping staff but they performed well daily. THe coffee cake each morning was a little skimpy and the coffee was just ok even though it was a single cup dispensor. The breakfast room was really nice and was a good place to read. Its only a quick 4 or five block walk to Times square and one to three blocks to two seperate subway stations making travelling in town very convenient. Nice Frette' towels and bedding, I slept well in the room. Will definately use this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Family took two of the four rooms on the ground floor. A little noisy the first night, however elav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgj1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words on our property, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your feedback as we strive to improve the complimentary items in our lounge and will take your thoughts into consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Marina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a week. We loved it. The decor is fantastic, the beds soooo comfortable and the staff are just brilliant.
The hotel is just off Broadway at 55th Street, so is an easy walk to Theatres etc. It is surrounded by great places to eat and just a short walk to the Metro and busses.
We bought 7 day unlimited Metro passes at just under 30Dollars and they are so wothy it. We travelled extensively on the Subway and Buses including a trip down to Coney Island.
Final comment must be to compliment Victoria on the front desk who is outstanding. If you are going to New York, please try this hotel out - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnfris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our property and our staff. We strive to make every guests' experience memorable and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Room was very quiet as we never heard anyone in the hall or the next room. Don't get a room facing the street as the noise level from construction and street traffic is high. Our room phone did not work so a staff member came up and knocked on our door every morning as a wake up call. They also treated us to delicious cupcakes as an apology for the inconvenience. Nice large TV with somewhat limited channels--no ESPN or CNN. Coffee lounge on 2nd floor open 24 hours with pound cake available in the morning for a quick breakfast. I wish I could put the pillows and bed in my suitcase to bring home. Towels and linens were great. Bathroom small with limited space to put toiletries and no shelf in the shower for soap and shampoo but the shower was great.

Excellent location and a 10 min walk to Times Square or Central Park. Lincoln Center is a 12 minute walk. Corner of 9th and 53rd is a corner deli, Cascades. Great place to get a freshly made salad, pizza, sandwich, dessert, open late. Crumbs has the best cupcakes and is a two minute walk away. Avoid Applebees. Overpriced and poor service.

Room Tip: Avoid a room facing the street. Construction on building directly across the street starts at 6 AM...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I am happy to report that we are actively working on all of your concerns. We hope to have new television channels by the end of the month and are in the process of adding new shelving units to the bathrooms. We look forward to welcoming you back so you can appreciate all of our improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My daughter and i recently had the pleasure of spending 2 nights at The Moderne in NY City. What a great find! Wonderful room. Great location. Fair price. A staff that was SOOOOO helpful and cheerful. We will be back! Linda Fraser (Minneapolis MN)

Room Tip: We faced 55th street on the 5th floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay! Thank you so much for your kind words - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Never had the time to write a review as I travel frequently for work. The experience at this hotel on 2/17 to 2/20 prompted my first trip advisor remark.
All of the preceding reviews have pointed out the pros and cons of this hotel regarding location, price, etc. What truly stood out were the staff. Their service was outstanding.
Teddy, CJ, Lopsang and Victoria went above and beyond their responsibilities to perform their job. We were treated like family and friends, not just a guests.
There were only 2 on staff most of the time, yet were able to take the time and patiently take care of our needs even though they were busy.
Each brought a different skill set to the experience, and all were extremely helpful. Teddy is from California, CJ from Miami, Victoria is a native New Yorker, while Lopsang was from Tibet. Each were able to give us recommendations based on a different point of view.
I can't stop raving about how they made us feel as guests of this establishment. Highly recommend staying here whether for bussiness or pleasure.
Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jjm556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and sincerely appreciate all of your kind words. We also think our staff is pretty great and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#139 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,681 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#82 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,772 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#44 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Property: Moderne Hotel
Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing