We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,846)
Filter reviews
3,846 results
Traveller rating
1,912
1,186
421
188
139
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,912
1,186
421
188
139
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest lounge new york floor lounge tenth floor the empire state building roof terrace rooms are small madison square park boutique hotel free coffee bigger room street noise continental breakfast an upgrade corner room location was perfect around the corner
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 3,846 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

Visited hotel in October. Have to say was very disappointed with our room and it did not match pictures on their website and certainly wasn’t a 4 star hotel. Room was classed as superior and have to say there was nothing superior about our room. Room was small and cramped. No natural light and was very noisy. Air conditioning unit in both our room and other rooms near by keep us awake. Yes it was that bad we could hear other rooms air conditioning units! On check out we were told we had to pay approx $70 residency tax. We disputed this as we hadn’t been told about it on check in and when we booked on booking.com we were told it included all taxes and charges. Hotel informed that the ‘complementary’ WiFi and coffee on the 11th floor was what the charge was for. Not sure how something can be complementary when they then try and charge you for it. To make matters worse they did not refund or give back deposit that they had taken.

However hotel was clean and was in an excellent location. Loads of nice bars and restaurants within walking distance and close to subway. Having stayed in loads of 4 and 5 star hotels all over the world this doesn’t meet the standard. At best it’s a 3 star.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 651gillianr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experience794405, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Dear Gillian R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I apologize for the inconvenience of the noise you experienced during your stay. Our engineering department is working into the issue to solve it. We hope to have you back again so we can turn your experience around by trying other category of rooms Marcel offers.

Best,

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2018

The room is new, clean and big! The staff are very kind! They have a rooftop from where you can see the skyline.There is a bus stop in the corner and the metro stop is also near! Good restaurantes around!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experience794405, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Dear Laura V,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is our pleasure to see you enjoyed the accommodation from our hotel and the hospitality from our staff during your stay. We hope to see your return again in the future!

Best,

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2018

Rooms are actually bigger than what you seen in the pictures! The Gramercy/Nomad area has a treasure trove of non-touristy restaurants (Maialino, Marta, Scarpetta, Upland, etc). Flatiron/Chelsea/Union Square are super walkable. The shopping area at 5th ave (near union square) are accessible as well. Free coffee all day, and the coffee is good. The staff (special mention to Sidney at the front desk and Dhan of housekeeping) are very friendly and are always there to help. Will definitely recommend to friends!

Room tip: the 11th floor has only 4 rooms and has its own private deck with a view of the empire state bldg
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank phoenixmemphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experience794405, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2018

Dear phoenixmemphis,

We are happy to see you had a good time exploring the Gramercy area and enjoyed your stay at Marcel. We really appreciate your recognition on our friendly and helpful staff; on top of it we appreciate your recommendation to friends! We hope to see on your next trip to NYC again!

Best,

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2018

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Manhattan not far from the UN where one of my friends had some business and ran across the Marcel at Grammercy. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. As I am working from members of Altrusa International of New York City to grow he membership, I needed a place where we could have a meet & greet with prospective members; the hotel lounge was the perfect spot.
All in all it was a great experience; I have already booked my room for a return trip in December.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank chatulita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experience794405, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2018

Dear chatulita 1,

We are so happy that we suited for your need and being a great new option for you in New York City. Our lounge area is truly an excellent spot for both business and leisure purposes. We can't wait to see your return in December!

Best,

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018

The Marcel at Gramercy received us with open arms and were very ready to help. We had contact with Milta, Kaira, Carolina and Isabel as well as the bell men. Very kind and helpful, from the time of our reservation to specific requests during our stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jacobo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Experience794405, General Manager at The Marcel at Gramercy, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2018

Dear Jacobo W,

It is always nice to have you back like a friend coming to visit. Our team is here to provide the best services to our valued guest like you any time. We look forward to your next time return soon!

Best,

Isabel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews