We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #125 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed 10 days in the Avalon hotel and it was a very good choice. We got a good deal for a junior suite, so we had a large room at the price of a normal one (very rare in ny!).
The hotel is so well located that we didn't need to wake up very early in the morning to reach any place!It is everything behind the corner, underground, museums, good restaurants, malls!
The rooms are old fashion, not very modern at all...but the personnel keeps them very clean. The towels and the sheets were changed every day. The only negative aspects were the views (not that great!) and the hitting system (very noisy).
The persons working there were always very helpful and kind.
There is no additional services like swimming pool or fitness center, but the wi-fi is for free.
Overall it was very good choice!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Black_Mamb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Black_Mamb4,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us all about your stay at the Avalon and letting us know what made it a great one. We are delighted that our location made it possible for you to enjoy New York to its fullest and are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and experience with the staff. We very much appreciate that you chose the Avalon, and hope that you will come back upon your next visit to New York-- please contact my office directly if you do so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    563
    131
    8
    10
See reviews for
414
553
38
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Excellent hotel all round. Friendly staff, huge rooms and an excellent location. We would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be staying here again.
Best hotel we have used in NYC.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Percypeanuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Percypeanuts,

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good visit at the Avalon, and would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. We really appreciate that you chose the Avalon for your last visit, and are thrilled to hear you'd choose us for your next. Upon your return to New York, please contact my office directly so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay even better.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I had read mixed reviews on the Vincci Avalon prior to arrival in New York, but I am happy to say that the hotel was lovely. Check in was super smooth, with very friendly and charismatic staff. I found Melody to be particularly friendly and efficient.

Our room was a Junior Suite on the 9th floor. The bathroom was nicely presented with twin sinks, separate tub and shower and was always very clean. The view from the room was not great, but to be honest we were never there to see the view. Mini bar prices were extremely high, but again a minor detail. We had 2 large flat screen Sony tv's in our room which was a lovely touch. Then there was the bed!!! What a bed it was too. Massive, with the most luxurious cotton sheets and lovely warm duvet. It was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in.

The hotel itself is located on 32nd street. It is just round the corner from the Empire State Building and a few blocks from Macy's. Closest subway is 33rd street which offers easy connections to midtown, uptown and downtown Manhattan.

Overall a wonderful stay in NYC, with some great staff and a hotel in a great location, that is close enough to touch all of the sites, but far enough away not to wake you up in the morning!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulh8280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear paulh8280,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Avalon. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your rooms and will let Melody know that she helped to make your stay a great one. We'd love to welcome you again soon, so if you plan to return to New York, please contact my office directly as I would like to extend a complimentary upgrade to provide you with another wonderful stay.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We happened upon the hotel on a web search and booked because of the great price. We stayed this past week for the Westminster Dog Show and can not say enough great things about the staff and hotel. Everyone was exceptionally polite and helpful. The price got us to book this hotel but the staff will keep us coming back. We usually pick a different hotel everytime we travel to New York but will only stay at the Vincci Avalon from now on. It is convenient and the excellent service makes the stay truly enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Luanne S,

We are so happy to hear that you had such a good experience with the staff at the Avalon, and would like to thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us. We are very appreciative that you chose the Avalon for your last visit, and delighted that you would choose us for your next. If you do return to New York, please contact my office directly if you do so that I can provide you with a complimentary upgrade to show you how much we appreciate such a loyal customer.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

The only indentifier of the hotel fromt he street was the door mat so hard to find from the cab, but to be fair they are changing management and going through a few changes. Staff were friendly and quick to respond to requests for help. Was fantastic to have the complimentary breakfast (this might have been temporary to make up for the confusion during the cahnges but was very welcome and very good).
Huge room (junior suite) with 2 beds and 2 TVs (?). Nice quiet street but very easy to get to Union Square and Times Square on foot. A very good base for the city.
Furniture in bedroom was a little tired, but the room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was immaculate.
Free luggage store.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear LadyKLondon,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Avalon. We are sorry that finding the hotel was an inconvenience, and since your visit, have replaced the overhang so that the hotel is much easier to spot from the street. However, we are happy to hear that you had a positive experience with your room and the staff and thank you for choosing us for your stay, and would love to have you again. If you do return to New York, please contact my office directly sot hat I can provide a complimentary upgrade.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My partner and i travelled to New York and stayed at the Vincci Avalon for my 30th Birthday in January this year.
We had read many good reviews and after a long tiring journey we arrived in New York late and very tired. The receptionist was very polite and upgraded our room to a suite which was very nice, we entered the room and were immediately struck by the generous size of the room, very clean and crisp appearance and modern.
The bed was literally the most comfortable bed we had slept in and the bathroom was clean and the marble was a nice touch.
After having a fantastic break in New York and staying at the Vincci Avalon 2 nights we checked out around midday, and saw the last of what we could see before our airport taxi picked us up from outside the Vincci Avalon at 6pm.
We got back to the hotel around 5.30pm and it was so cold outside that the kind staff at the Vincci Avalon let us wait in the lobby until 6pm.
Overall our experience at the Vincci Avalon was excellent. Impeccable service, fantastic and spacious rooms and a warm welcoming atmosphere, being our first time in New York we were so impressed and vowed to return again in the Summer.
Thanks again for making our First visit to New York and my 30th Birthday Truly memorable and we both hope to stay at the Vincci Avalon again soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2012
Dear Stephen1981,

We really appreciate that you chose the Avalon for such a special occasion, and are very happy that we could make your birthday a great one. Thank you for letting us know about your experience—we are thrilled that the staff was such an important part of your stay, and will definitely let them know about this. Please contact my office directly if you plan to return to New York, as I would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade to make your next stay an even better one.

Sincerely yours,

Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Only stayed one night for business. Booked the room only a few daythe s before stay and the price was very reasonable. Spoke directly to the hotel and felt that the staff really wanted me to stay with them. Very welcoming. Good room rate for a last minute booking. Arrived late on Tuesday night. Check in was very easy and night clerk was very hospitable. Empire Pizza is a block away on 5th ave. for good late night food. I used to have an office a few blocks away so I knew the neighborhood. Room was clean and very old style NY. Big windows and hard wood floors and over stated trim. Floor was warm and did not creak. Stayed on 5th floor facing the street. Room was quiet and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable. WiFi in the room was a little flaky. Breakfast buffet is expensive for what you get and caters to European travelers as well as American. Better breakfast for my needs is available down the street. The Library / Business center was very comfortable and a good place to work. All the hotel staff were very helpful and gracious. Rumor is the building has been sold to a new investor group that will try and turn the Avalon into a 5 star hotel. I will definitely try them again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtrain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Avalon Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Dear rtrain4,

Thank you very much for letting us know what you thought of your stay at the Avalon. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your room and experience with the staff, and are in the progress of upgrading the WiFi so that it will be faster and more reliable. If you plan to return to New York, please contact my office directly so that I can extend a complimentary upgrade to provide you with another wonderful stay.

Sincerely yours,

Michael Rawson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#134 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#112 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midtown Park Ave
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Midto...
#116 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#157 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 32 32
Hotel 32 32
#178 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#101 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: 16 East 32nd Street, New York City, NY 10016-5402
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#97 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel New York is centrally located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan, convenient to all neighborhoods. Only two blocks from the Empire State Building, the Avalon Hotel New York is also only a few blocks from seven subway lines. Penn Station is 2 blocks away from the Avalon. The hotel is easily accessible to LaGuardia, JFK and Newark Airport. Guest rooms are spacious, with the majority over 400 sq.ft. Many rooms have two beds and a sofa bed. With only 100 rooms, the Avalon Hotel New York is a classic boutique hotel with personal service and exceptional value. Conference space is available for intimate gatherings or business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel New York City
Vincci New York City
Vincci Hotel Avalon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing