We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay!”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #83 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay!”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Me and my fiancee stayed at Hotel Metro for 4 nights in early Feb 2012 and we both thought the hotel and all it's staff were excellent. A family member had emailed the hotel telling them of our recent engagement and when we checked in we recieved a complimentary upgrade to a bigger room and had champagne on ice waiting for us inside the room with a lovely note from the staff. The room was nice and big and the view of the empire state building from the roof top terrace brilliant. We never ate in the hotel restaurant but it was always busy and food looked very nice. The breakfast in the dining room was just what you needed before a long days sightseeing/shopping. Lots to choose from, bagels, toast, cereal,muffins, fruit, yogurt, tea and coffee. The hotel is in an excellent location right next door to macys and empire state building and only a 5 min walk to times square. We booked the all around town tour with thomas cook before we left and payed £40 each which was cheaper than what you would be charged in nyc. It also included a tour of brooklyn and the river cruise which was excellent for sight seeing. When we go back to nyc in the future we will be definitely be staying at the Hotel Metro again.

Room Tip: higher the room the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannyandbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,136
    1,492
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
723
2,136
143
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (712)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

have just returned from the big apple what a wonderful hotel great area to stay with all amenities not to far to walk to place either, the roof terrence was great to see empire we have some great photos of this only downside no views from windows but hey we were out all day was great to come back and have acoffee in lounge to relax before the night life began will definatly booking again if they have rooms available in june need to see more

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vitamia37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Hotel location is fantastic! Close to Broadway and 5th avenue and touching distance from the Empire State Building and Macys.
Our room was good with TV and I pod docking station, it was cleaned everyday the bathroom was a bit small but Ok for one person at a time. The shower was good and we always had hot water. We did have a problem with our toilet blocking and flooding but evertime we reported it someone came to fix it pronto. I think there was a hidden problem somewhere.
We had no view at all from our room but had heard from other reviewers that this might not be a bad thing as the room should be quieter. The room was fairly quiet at night but we were woken up at 7am by the builders in the adjoing building. This was not a great problem for us as we wanted to be up early to see the sights but if you plan on partying and getting in late I would take the early morning building noise into consideration.
The consierge was helpful and gave us a good detailed map of the area, however I found some of the reception staff a little bit miserable and we were not told on arrival about breakfast, the gym or the roof terrace? I knew about them from trip advisor but it wouldn't of hurt to be told on arrival or for the guy to smile or ask where we was from or something, even the bar staff in the Metro Grill told us and were more friendly! The Merto bar and grill is good and a nice place to get a drink or lunch. Get the Nachos in the evening, Yum, I would also recommend Brendan's bar and grill opposite for a nice lunch or dinner. The service was good and the food too.
On the whole apart from our toilet blocking 3 times and some building noise we had a good experience and would recommend this hotel for a friend as a great located hotel who bother to put on a cold breakfast (unlike most hotels in New York).

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youngy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just returned from a 4 night break in NYC staying at the Metro Hotel. Excellent flights with American Airlines, booked through BA. Booked the Go shuttle from JFK to the hotel, takes about 1 hour. Check in was fast and efficient, room on 6th floor with a view of Empire State (ok so you had to kneel down and look up but at least you couldsee it!). The room was a decent size, lovely comfy bed and pillows, bathroom perfectly adequate with large shower and toiletries provided. All very clean.
Breakfast was the perfect set up for the day; bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurts, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Go up onto the 12th floor roof terrace for a great view of the Empire State.
This hotel is perfectly located, one block from the Empire State, 3 mins to Macys, 10 minutes to times square. If you want to go to Wall st, Staten island ferry, ground zero etc then walk along 34th st at the side of Macys to the LIRR station and catch the 1 subway train. It costs $2.25 each and takes you all the way to the South Ferry. We then went on the free Staten Island ferry which goes past Ellis Island, Statue of Liberty and gives great views of the NY skyline, takes about 25mins and we just got straight back on and came back across!!
Empire state was good, we did it the first evening and the lights of Manhattan are impressive, you can buy your tickets online before you go and it saves a bit of time. Rockefeller centre (top of the rock) was excellent, do this during the day as the views to Empire State and Liberty and Central Park are breathtaking. Ground Zero was a beautifully serene place and you feel lost in your own thoughts and memories of what happened there, the design of the memorials was perfect - quite understated for the americans, but perfect.
Walk up 5th Avenue then through Central Park, watch the skaters on the Wollman rink then walk round to Strawberry Fields.
Bubba Gumps Shrimp house in Times Square was well worth the visit, we also had a lovely steak at O'Reillys just along the street from the hotel.
All in all we had an excellent time, saw everything we wanted, great hotel and flights.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have just returned from a four night trip staying at Hotel Metro and will definalty be coming back to this hotel on my next trip! It has to be the best boutique hotel I have ever stayed in! The rooms are a lovely size, clean and spacious, the staff are so friendly and helpful along with a delicious breakfast and free wi-fi, not to mention the lovely housekeeping! Beautiful view of the Empire State Building from the roof top bar and fab location central to everything. Would highly reccomend to anyone..I cannot wait to go back! Thank you "Hotel Metro!" :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank harryjack11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have now stayed here about 6 times on business since the late fall and highly recommend for business travelers who need to watch their budgets but don't want to stay in Queens....this place is great; the rooms are small but not as bad as other boutique hotels but the value is superb. In addition to free breakfast AND free wi-fi, the Premier rooms include complimentary soft drinks; what a small cost to the hotel that engenders such positive vibes! The staff is very solid and housekeeping does a very nice job. There is free coffee and tea all day long which is another great benefit; the gym is basic but clean (they need to add wipes for us to use to clean after!), and there is a business center that allows free printing. Most guests are overseas tourists because the price and reviews are so compelling but that makes it even better for business travelers since their hours tend to be different. All in all a great place and a nice tip is to go out on deck at night for a stellar view of the Empire State Building. A great value in a convenient location close to everywhere...

Room Tip: Pay the extra for premier and you'll get a nice renovated bathroom....
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thisgoesto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

For my 21st birthday i stayed here, breakfast was good, room was always clean and the staff were very friendly. On my last day I got food poisoning from new jersey, the staff gave us an extra hour then moved us into the lobby. They were very helpful and im very greatful for letting me stay. The hotel is lovely and the food was amazing. I would definetly go again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethD91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#101 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Best Western Premier Herald Squa...
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#40 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing