We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Metro
Nearby Hotels
US$347
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$182
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
US$217
US$197
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Westin New York at Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$458
US$359
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$239
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$235
US$195
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$286
US$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$148
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$142
Park Central
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (4,383)
Filter reviews
4,383 results
Traveller rating
2,306
1,616
328
79
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,306
1,616
328
79
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracemetro grillbagelsthe empire state buildingtea and coffeepremier queen roomnew yorkgreat hoteltimes squarecontinental breakfastfamily suiteset you up for the dayherald squarepenn stationthe penthousefresh fruitperfect location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,557 - 2,562 of 4,383 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2012

have just returned from the big apple what a wonderful hotel great area to stay with all amenities not to far to walk to place either, the roof terrence was great to see empire we have some great photos of this only downside no views from windows but hey we were out all day was great to come back and have acoffee in lounge to relax before the night life began will definatly booking again if they have rooms available in june need to see more

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vitamia37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Hotel location is fantastic! Close to Broadway and 5th avenue and touching distance from the Empire State Building and Macys.
Our room was good with TV and I pod docking station, it was cleaned everyday the bathroom was a bit small but Ok for one person at a time. The shower was good and we always had hot water. We did have a problem with our toilet blocking and flooding but evertime we reported it someone came to fix it pronto. I think there was a hidden problem somewhere.
We had no view at all from our room but had heard from other reviewers that this might not be a bad thing as the room should be quieter. The room was fairly quiet at night but we were woken up at 7am by the builders in the adjoing building. This was not a great problem for us as we wanted to be up early to see the sights but if you plan on partying and getting in late I would take the early morning building noise into consideration.
The consierge was helpful and gave us a good detailed map of the area, however I found some of the reception staff a little bit miserable and we were not told on arrival about breakfast, the gym or the roof terrace? I knew about them from trip advisor but it wouldn't of hurt to be told on arrival or for the guy to smile or ask where we was from or something, even the bar staff in the Metro Grill told us and were more friendly! The Merto bar and grill is good and a nice place to get a drink or lunch. Get the Nachos in the evening, Yum, I would also recommend Brendan's bar and grill opposite for a nice lunch or dinner. The service was good and the food too.
On the whole apart from our toilet blocking 3 times and some building noise we had a good experience and would recommend this hotel for a friend as a great located hotel who bother to put on a cold breakfast (unlike most hotels in New York).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank youngy124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just returned from a 4 night break in NYC staying at the Metro Hotel. Excellent flights with American Airlines, booked through BA. Booked the Go shuttle from JFK to the hotel, takes about 1 hour. Check in was fast and efficient, room on 6th floor with a view of Empire State (ok so you had to kneel down and look up but at least you couldsee it!). The room was a decent size, lovely comfy bed and pillows, bathroom perfectly adequate with large shower and toiletries provided. All very clean.
Breakfast was the perfect set up for the day; bagels, muffins, toast, cereal, fresh fruit, yogurts, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Go up onto the 12th floor roof terrace for a great view of the Empire State.
This hotel is perfectly located, one block from the Empire State, 3 mins to Macys, 10 minutes to times square. If you want to go to Wall st, Staten island ferry, ground zero etc then walk along 34th st at the side of Macys to the LIRR station and catch the 1 subway train. It costs $2.25 each and takes you all the way to the South Ferry. We then went on the free Staten Island ferry which goes past Ellis Island, Statue of Liberty and gives great views of the NY skyline, takes about 25mins and we just got straight back on and came back across!!
Empire state was good, we did it the first evening and the lights of Manhattan are impressive, you can buy your tickets online before you go and it saves a bit of time. Rockefeller centre (top of the rock) was excellent, do this during the day as the views to Empire State and Liberty and Central Park are breathtaking. Ground Zero was a beautifully serene place and you feel lost in your own thoughts and memories of what happened there, the design of the memorials was perfect - quite understated for the americans, but perfect.
Walk up 5th Avenue then through Central Park, watch the skaters on the Wollman rink then walk round to Strawberry Fields.
Bubba Gumps Shrimp house in Times Square was well worth the visit, we also had a lovely steak at O'Reillys just along the street from the hotel.
All in all we had an excellent time, saw everything we wanted, great hotel and flights.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I have just returned from a four night trip staying at Hotel Metro and will definalty be coming back to this hotel on my next trip! It has to be the best boutique hotel I have ever stayed in! The rooms are a lovely size, clean and spacious, the staff are so friendly and helpful along with a delicious breakfast and free wi-fi, not to mention the lovely housekeeping! Beautiful view of the Empire State Building from the roof top bar and fab location central to everything. Would highly reccomend to anyone..I cannot wait to go back! Thank you "Hotel Metro!" :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank harryjack11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I have now stayed here about 6 times on business since the late fall and highly recommend for business travelers who need to watch their budgets but don't want to stay in Queens....this place is great; the rooms are small but not as bad as other boutique hotels but the value is superb. In addition to free breakfast AND free wi-fi, the Premier rooms include complimentary soft drinks; what a small cost to the hotel that engenders such positive vibes! The staff is very solid and housekeeping does a very nice job. There is free coffee and tea all day long which is another great benefit; the gym is basic but clean (they need to add wipes for us to use to clean after!), and there is a business center that allows free printing. Most guests are overseas tourists because the price and reviews are so compelling but that makes it even better for business travelers since their hours tend to be different. All in all a great place and a nice tip is to go out on deck at night for a stellar view of the Empire State Building. A great value in a convenient location close to everywhere...

Room Tip: Pay the extra for premier and you'll get a nice renovated bathroom....
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thisgoesto11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews