We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #98 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Just returned from a 4 night break in NYC, staying at Metro with easy access to subway, Macy's, Times Sq, ESB and Broadway. Breakfast plentiful and varied with coffee and tea available all day. Hotel room towards back of hotel and therefore street noise minimal and bed extremely comfortable. Access to free computers helpful when checking in and printing boarding passes for return flight and rooftop terrace an added bonus. Would highly recommend this hotel for its location and serenity after a hard day pounding the NY streets, taking in all the sights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,436 - 2,442 of 4,273 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed for three nights during March. We were informed on arrival that we had been upgraded to a superior room, which had a superb view of the Empire State Building. Room was clean and comfortable and air conditioning was very welcome for the unseasonably hot weather we had during our stay. Breakfast was complimentary and although basic, was very adequate, particularly toasted bagel with cream cheese!

Our room was a little noisy, even though we were eleven floors up, but think this was due to ongoing maintenance work on the roads outside the hotel.

Hotel penthouse roof is worth a visit for the spectacular view of the Empire State Building, and was especially nice during the evening when it was all lit up. As coffee is available 'on tap,' we took ours up there to enjoy.

Location was excellent. Five minutes walk from Empire State Building, and ten minutes from Time Square, Broadway and Penn Station.

A very enjoyable stay and I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenatHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

My husband booked this hotel for a long weekend trip. It's an immaculate place styled in art deco/ black & white film-star theme. Our room was extremely comfortable, air-conditioning, fridge & safe included. The complimentary breakfast was amazing, lots of choices and served from 6:30-11. The hotel couldn't be a better location, 1 block from the subway, 5th Avenue and the Empire State Building and 2 blocks form Macy's. Surrounded by great Irish bars.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoMarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have been meaning to stay at the Metro for some time having heard some good reviews from others. I finally stayed there for 3 nights and would recommend it as a great choice, and it's a stone's throw from Macy's. The staff were very good, and I was efficiently checked in, and was advised of the facilities available such as a complimentary breakfast, a business centre and free wifi. I had forgotten to print my travel voucher, and they were fine about this, allowing me to check in first and settle in, and then print it out at the business centre. They do control access to this using keys at the front desk.

I was fortunate enough to get a room upgrade to a Premier room located on a higher floor. The room was decently sized, but as with many New York rooms a bit dark. There are some nice extra touches to the room which made it a great experience, including a large screen flat screen TV, a Keurig Coffee Maker (with some tea cartridges) and a fabulous shower which gives you 3 options to shower (rain shower, standard and hand held). The bathroom has been refurbished to a nice contemporary standard. It provided generously sized toiletries comprising of soap, shampoo, condition and lotion. A shower cap is also provided alongside a hotel style hair dryer unit. On their website they advertise a fridge with a welcome beverage for this room class, but I did not get this, although this might be as it was a room upgrade. The bed was fantastically comfortable. In addition to these facilities, the room also had an iPod dock, laptop friendly safe and iron. The air conditioning was an old style model under the window which did make some noise, but was controlled using an electronic thermostat.

The hotel also offers a complimentary continental breakfast which was very handy. It served tea/coffee, apple and orange juices, bread, bagels, muffins, pastries, yoghurt, cereals and fruit. I would say that the offering was on par with that at the Park South hotel, but not as extensive as the Staybridge Suites which also offered some hot options like oatmeal, waffles and eggs. In addition to the breakfast, it was possible to get complimentary tea and coffee all day. You can also pick up a copy of the New York Times from the front desk.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here and it now on my "go to" list of New York hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a_travel_monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is very centrAl, being between Maceys and the Empire State. It may not be the newest or largest but was clean and convenient. Continental breakfast included and very welcome. In all a good place to sleep but not to luxuriate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1248mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in NYC and stayed at the Hotel Metro. It is a great hotel,art deco in style and has a lovely calm feel amongst the mayhem of Manhattan.
The rooms are clean and spacious with a safe for your valuables and a small fridge. The bathroom is adequate with a nice large shower to use.
A breakfast is included and is available from 06.30am until 11am. Hot drinks, juices, cereal, bagels, yoghurts and fruit as well as toast and large muffins! Enough to give you the energy to hit the shops!
There is a gym available for hotel guests to use, but after pounding the pavements for hours I only managed to look at it!
The one fantastic feature of this hotel is the roof bar with its amazing view of the Empire State Building. It certainly is a wow moment when you look up and see this wonderful building.
Another good reason to stay at this hotel is its proximity to the stores. Macy's is about a 1 minute walk and 5th avenue about the same.
A large subway station is about a 30 sec walk away.
All in all a great little hotel in a fantastic location and the staff were fantastic too.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The hotel overall was very good however we were a little disappointed that it was our honeymoon and we had advised reservations prior to our visit requesting information on things to do and our email was forwarded to the concierge who never got back to us. Our room was on the third room and although the room was a great size, it was dark all the time. We had to have a light on continously. Get a room above the fifth floor. Other guests advised us they arrived at 1pm and if they wanted to get a room before 4pm, they had to pay for an expensive upgrade. The location was great, with subway stops at the end of the street. The roof top bar has just opened and has great views of the Empire State Building however it gets very busy with New Yorkers! The continental breakfast is okay but be warned the cutlery is plastic and the plates and bowls paper which is a littlle disconcerting. We made a mistake operating the safe, advised reception but the engineer never turned up and we were there for 6 nights.
Overall hotel lovely, lots of towels, big room size, clean, near to everything and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: make sure the room is as high as possible, there are 12 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 470 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#162 of 470 in New York City
2,234 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#201 of 470 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#33 of 470 in New York City
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $178 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing