We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #86 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

My very first visit to NYC and no mistake for choosing Hotel Metro! Thank to TA reviews. For the price we paid, definitely one of our best accommodation we had after travel more than hundred of cities! Great location for all, you name it they have it. Food/transport available 24hrs within walking dist. and is safe to move around late in the nite. Token from HM, a nice wine and gift choc had add to our memorable 25 anniversary with a free upgrade to Penhouse.. let alone for roof garden view! We are also invited to their wine tasting nite that make us feel 4 nite was just not enough to enjoy their wonderful hospitality with service that is nothing short. Staff are warm and helpful, with nice breadfast welcome you every morning!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lcmmarcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,112
    1,478
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
717
2,111
141
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

a great hotel. service and staff were kind, courteous and helpful. the rooms were clean, neat and there is free internet. the breakfast was good and the most amazing and best part was that we were upgraded to the penthouse suite which was beautiful. my husband and i hardly get away alone and so this was like a gift! well, it was a gift.... ps. there is a terrace on the penthouse floor that is common for all guests......it overlooks the empire state building......it was really something to see all lit up...........

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alyssa s t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I have stayed at The Hotel Metro many times and have always found it clean, comfortable and suitable forr my brief stays. This is a hotel that seems to cater to mostly European tourists. There is always a friendly face and someone eager to hear about where to go in NYC. The staff are warm and friendly, a particular shout out to Mathew the doorman. This is not a large chain hotel, but rather a small European style hotel in the heart of a large city. The breakfast which is included is excellent. Fresh bagel, coffee, muffins, fruit, and juices get the day started. Away from busy Times Square this is a good location. You can walk almost everywhere.

Room Tip: I prefer higher rooms. Ask for a room not facing construction. This is difficult in NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majong11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at this Hotel for 3 nights on arrival the reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Ok the room was quite small and dark with no view as it was an inner room overlooking 3 brick walls, but very clean and adequate for what we wanted as we weren’t in the room except to wash and sleep. This was one of the very few hotels in this price range that we found that offered a breakfast which was a continental style with toast, there is also free coffee available all day. As already said perfect location for midtown, there are supermarkets in both directions only 1 Block away to purchase water for the fridge in your room. Excellent roof top bar on the hotel only slightly bettered by the view from the roof top bar at 230 5th Ave give it a try. Would definitely stay at this hotel again, also a plus was the weather 70 degrees for the 4 days we were there bonus.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a street view ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Very good hotel. I found myself going to New York on business last week at less than twenty-four hours' notice. I have to be based in the Midtown and so did a thirty-second Expedia hunt in the taxi on the way to the airport and came up with this.

It's very good and I reckon I got a pretty good deal. When I got to NY and checked in, I was given an upgraded room so what I actually got was a family suite on the fifth floor. It comprised an entrance hall, kitchenette, bathroom, a huge room with two enormous double beds and one additional room with one double bed in it. I was on my own and really did get lost in there. The only thing which stops me giving it five points is that the decor is just a little tired. They need to get on with sprucing it up. It was, though, extremely comfortable and the noise form W35thSt below didn't bother me (I live next door to a busy road in Edinburgh, so I'm conditioned to it!)

The staff at the desk were excellent. Really efficient, polite, helpful, knowledgeable. The foyer is very smart, which slightly belies the decor I got in my room. I used the fitness centre - it's compact, but fine. I had breakfast the following morning - it's a bit of a carbs-fest, but it was fine. There is a truly amazing view of the Empire State Building from the deck up at the top of the hotel.

I had friends staying in another hotel a couple of doors down from this one. When I went into their room, I was a little surprised at how little they were getting for $100 more per night than I was paying. I really felt like I'd landed on my feet with the Hotel Metro.

Would I stay here again? Yes, definitely. It's ultra-convenient for everything that you could want to see or do in NYC. You're five minutes' walk from Times Square and much less from Macy's. The subway station is literally a twenty-second walk from the front door of the hotel.

There are plenty of good places to eat nearby and there's a really good Deli just around the corner on 6th Avenue.

Book it - you'll not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Given the very positive comments from the majority of the reviewers, I expected a little bit more. Sure, the hotel is OK, but nothing more than that. The main concern that I have is about the noise (a lot of it!) coming from the street - the windows let all the noise in (and my room was on the 11th floor!) which made the night quite uncomfortable.
Other cons:
- the complimentary breakfast was slightly disappointing - limited choice of food in an over-crowded room, and you would have to clean your table after the previous guests if you'd like to sit without waiting for an unreasonable time.
- the wifi went on and off all the time, which is annoying if you are trying to work.
The pros:
- great location, friendly and polite staff, very nice restaurant in the lobby, great view of the Empire State Building while drinking a beer on the roof terrace.
My 2 cents: the lack of attention for details makes this hotel just OK, definitely not great. If you find a discounted rate, go for it, otherwise look somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Relly nice hotel, very comfortable and very clean room. Excellent location, right in the centre of Manhattan. Would recommend to anyone travelling to NYC.

Room Tip: Breakfast can get very busy from about half 7 so time it well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#100 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#117 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing