We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,586)
Filter reviews
1,586 results
Traveller rating
193
545
492
189
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
545
492
189
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central park west columbia university park view stay there again subway station fresh towels rooms are small three blocks times square west side few blocks big apple manhattan ave
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,586 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2018

The Park West Hotel (or Astor on the Park) is in an excellent location, with one of the best views of NYC, the west side of North Central Park, right in front.

The hotel is also very close to the 103 st and the cathedral Pkwy subway metro stations. The price was worth it. The rooms are small but comfortable and with modern features and design; the staff was nice and friendly at all times. We arrived really early in the morning and we stopped by to leave our luggage before check-in time. Adam helped us later with an about one-hour early check-in.
Our only comment is the general cleanliness of the hotel reception and breakfast area (we have no complaint with the room neither the floor corridor where we stayed). The first thing you notice arriving at the hotel is the dusty and dirty floor of the lobby. It looks like it has not been cleaned or washed in days or probably weeks. The same situation is with the floor of the breakfast area in the basement which is really dirty and therefore, uninviting.
Also, the hotel has an unbeatable view of central park, but if you pay for a room with the view of the
park, it turns out to be a big disappointment, because unfortunately the windows do not open for the air conditioning and they
are completely dirty too, so you cannot get clear views and clear photos from inside your room.

We hope the hotel pays attention to these details, once they are important and would turn it into a whole satisfactory arrival and stay. We can say that due to the location and convenience of the hotel, we would return to stay again. Thanks!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emejiamx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

The receptionist was friendly & welcoming on our arrival. But the room was tiny & although overlooking Central Park we requested a larger room. This room was a little larger, on the ground floor, but was so dark & dingy. The window overlooked a dingy, dirty courtyard where old, broken furniture & other rubbish was stored.. The air conditioner was so noisy & rattled all night. The only good point was that it was opposite Central Park!

Date of stay: June 2017
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenny P, Front Office Manager at Astor on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2018

We appreciate your feedback and we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We will follow up with maintenance to have this issue solved immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018 via mobile

Small room. Clean and was affordable. Close to Subway to get to see Broadway shows, Coney Island. Across from Central Park. Would stay there again. Perfect location in New York City! Staff was helpfull.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jpiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenny P, Front Office Manager at Astor on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate you stayed with us and we will definitely make sure we take good care of you when you return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018

Just arrived home from a 5 night stay and honestly cannot fault this hotel. Arrived early without pre warning the hotel yet they happily let us check in early. The staff were so nice and friendly and helped with anything and everything. The room was spotless, modern with a working TV, lovely bathroom with bath shower, fresh towels, free toiletries. View from our room was of the park, only a few minute walk to the subway station. Paid about £600 for 2 people for 5 nights, could not find another half decent hotel in the city for less than £1000. So chuffed with this hotel, will definitely stay here again if we're in the city again

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenny P, Front Office Manager at Astor on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us, we are happy when we make you happy. WE appreciate your feedback it lets us know how we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 30, 2018

I made a reservation with this hotel for 03/27/18-03/30/18 and was not able to make it and canceled in plenty of time and I called them about getting a refund, and they said it was not their department since I booked through another website they had no control over it, so I got the number and called hotels.com and they told him they would contact them and they would have to approve it, hmmmm, but anyways they had the final say after saying they had nothing to do with it, their email address doesn’t work either, just the phone number works, the manager is never available. I was going to reschedule, but not now! I have never felt more ripped off

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank williamskendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenny P, Front Office Manager at Astor on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2018

We are sorry you were misinformed by hotels.com. Your reservation was nonrefundable noncancellable. Unfortunately those terms are stated in the cancellation policy before you finalize your booking. We cannot refund nor cancel a nonrefundable booking unless there was proof of a emergency in which you would be required to provide documentation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews