We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK Hotel”
Review of Super 8 Thurmont

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Super 8 Thurmont
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurmont
Delhi, New York
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“OK Hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2009

Nothing special, but a nice place to stay. Continental breakfast was ok (bagels, danish, cereal, juice, coffee). Room (Queen) was spacious w/ recliner & fridge. Service and desk was very good. Overall a good hotel but a bit overpriced (not much choice in the area).

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doughboysigep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    74
    76
    50
    55
See reviews for
136
61
45
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2008

I have stayed at this location a number of times with no problems , but things had gone down hill this time . I booked 2 months in advance , 2 beds , non smoking . Arrived at 6pm to find only single bed smoking rooms available . Internet service was not working , apparetly for some time . Bathroom had a hair problem , and carpeting was quite dirty along the edges . I think that its time to change locations .

  • Liked — Convenient for business function
  • Disliked — Dirty
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank danielgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Thurmont hotels

baltimore
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2008

Wonderful Motel,stayed there many times.Its much better then the Cozy Inn

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank baltimoreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2008

This is a nice, clean motel right off of Route 15 and right next to Catoctin Park. If you enjoy the outdoors, there are lots of things to see and do in this area. The Super 8 is also less than 2 miles from the Catoctin Wildlife Preserve - our main reason for visiting this area. While in Thurmont, you can check out the Camp David museum (a one room display) at the Cozy Restaurant down the street from the Super 8. The Super 8 is a great location at a great price and we will certainly stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

I stayed at the Super 8 in Thurmont, MD for one night during a recent vacation trip. The property is conveniently located right off of Rte. 15, south of Gettysburg, PA and not far north of Frederick, MD. I had decided to stay in Thurmont rather than in Gettysburg after reading reviews of Gettysburg hotels. My room was very clean and the shower had good pressure with a variable setting shower head. It appears to be a fairly new property and seems well maintained. There are interior corridors with good locks on the room doors. The hotel is a bit out of the way from Gettysburg if that is your main destination, but is a good option if you also want to see the local sights in the Thurmont, MD area or if you are traveling through and need a place to stay for the night. There is a Super Start breakfast in the lobby area with bagels, cereal and milk, but no fruit was provided which was disappointing. The staff was helpful and gave me directions to places I was planning to visit in the area. I would definitely stay at this motel again.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — No fruit at breakfast
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellinDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas/Ft. Worth
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2007

We stayed in this Super 8 4 days. Above-average Super 8. The Super Start Breakfast was as advertised--complete with cereal and milk. The free high-speed internet connection was easy to use. Only problem was a toilet that "ran" constantly, which was both annoying and a wast of natural resourses. Helpful staff.

  • Liked — It was closest to family.
  • Disliked — only motel nearby, so they have a monopoly and can overcharge
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveler6245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thurmont
13.7 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Emmitsburg
19.7 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Frederick-Fort Detrick
23.6 km away
Best Western Historic Frederick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 km away
Cobblestone Hotel and Suites Waynesboro
27.8 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
32.0 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 27 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Thurmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Thurmont

Property: Super 8 Thurmont
Address: 300 Tippin Dr, Hwy 15 Exit Hwy 806 Turn West, Thurmont, MD 21788-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Thurmont
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thurmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Thurmont 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Property Located 15 Miles From Historic Gettysburg Battlefield, 5 Miles From Cunningham Falls State and National Parks and Only 7 Miles from Catoctin Mountain Park Book your room at our Super 8 Thurmont hotel near Cunningham Falls State Park. Located just off Highway 15 between Frederick, MD, and Gettysburg, PA in the Appalachian Mountains and just a short drive to Catoctin Mountain Park, Mount St. Mary's University and Frederick Municipal Airport, our pet-friendly hotel provides comfortable accommodations and friendly service at an affordable rate. Start each day at our Thurmont, MD, hotel with free 8-item SuperStart breakfast bonanza and enjoy great in-room amenities including free Wi-Fi Internet access. Rooms with a refrigerator are available. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our hotel, and there is plenty of free parking for your bus, truck or RV. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS If you are an outdoor enthusiast or Civil War buff, you will find great attractions near our Thurmont hotel. Travel north on Highway 15, crossing the Pennsylvania border, to visit the hallowed grounds at Gettysburg National Battlefield Park to see distinctive turning points in the battle at Little Round Top and Devil's Den. Cunningham Falls State Park is a great spot for hiking, fishing and canoeing, just five miles from our hotel, and Catoctin Mountain Park, site of the Camp David presidential retreat, is just 7 miles away from our hotel. The Eisenhower National Historic Site, Barbara Fritchie House and Gambrill State Park are also nearby, and it is just an hour drive to Washington DC. DINING OPTIONS Choose from dozens of family-friendly restaurants just outside our Thurmont hotel starting with Mountain Gate Family Restaurant. Or You could head over to Main Street, and try comfort food at Thurmont Kountry Kitchen. If you're craving Asian you can try Simply Asia, New wing hing, or Peking Palace.Or one of our two Italian restaurants Rocky's or Fratelli's for dine-in or Delivery. You could even head about 10 minutes north on Highway 15 and eat at Fitzgerald's Shamrock, one of Western Maryland's favorite source for casual fine dining. Our little town of Thurmont is also home to a McDonald's, Wendy's, KFC/Taco Bell, Pizza Hut, Roy Rogers, Subway and Burger King. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Thurmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Thurmont
Thurmont Super 8
Thurmont Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing