We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
Not super big but very informative

Let me start by saying this museum is FREE. There is a small park with a Korean War memorial and... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
lilannie1971
,
Russellville, Arkansas
Great Outlook of One of Our Finist Generals

Several floors of the museum were dedicated not only to the career of Gneral McArthur, but the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
jgemza
,
Whitesboro, New York
Read all 95 reviews
  
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
55
34
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
34
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful memorial on display wars arkansas video
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 95 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2017

Glad we went. Not crowded at all. Some interesting things about the Civil War and the Black Seminoles that I'd never heard of.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank MrPenguin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017

This is a nice historic site for a quick visit. Been a while since I have seen the exhibits offered. The grounds are lovely and it sits in the Quapaw Historic District. Lots of lovely homes in the area to see.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

This historic building and grounds has so much history. From the civil war to WWII. Nothing fancy, just simple history of Arkansas' role in these battles. Take about 2-3 hours to see the building, grounds and movie on Gen. McArthur, who was born on these grounds.

Date of experience: February 2017
1  Thank toma130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Director at MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

Thank you for the rating and for coming out to visit! We are glad you had a good experience here and we hope you come back to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

This museum is housed in a beautiful building that was the birthplace of Gen Douglas MacArthur. It had a lot of information on Arkansans in Wars from the Civil War through Vietnam, as well as a room and film dedicated to Gen MacArthur. We enjoyed the exhibits on war posters from both WWI and WWII and seeing the jeep. In the Civil War area they have a beautiful stained glass window dedicated to David Dowd a boy spy for the Confederacy. Outside, they have a stone monument to him, also. On the grounds, there are also a Korean War Memorial and a Confederate memorial. It was well worth the visit.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank 561laurim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephan M, Director at MacArthur Museum of Arkansas Military History, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We are especially happy that you enjoyed the jeep-- it seems to be a crowd-pleaser! Hope you'll come visit us again. Thank you for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

This is an excellent free museum, easy to find with lots of parking. This is a historical structure which now houses the MacArthur Museum. The staff is pleasant and friendly. While not a huge museum it is well worth the effort to see. It offers a lot of history of General MacArthur. While not in the best of neighborhood's it is safe. There is a city park adjacent to the museum which appears to be frequented by homeless people but they do not bother you.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank bubba42101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews