We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
42
63
34
38
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
63
34
38
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gas fireplace antique furniture social tap third floor room california coast dune ocean seaward
Filter
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 224 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is not a place for you if you cannot overlook the lack of cleanliness and poorly maintained hotel. The carpet in our room was dirty, the shower was dirty. That said, I didn't walk around the room barefoot. The windows were so dirty we couldn't see out of them. The balcony was so uninviting because it had bird droppings on the floor. My biggest complaint is their website advertises that it's a bed and breakfast. Not so! Its Continental breakfast in a shabby room with old tables and chairs and not maintained.

Room Tip: The only positive is the location.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hartes62012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel is a great, quiet place to stay on the beach if you don't like the corporate cookie-cutter hotel chains. Get a room overlooking the beach, as opposed to the other side of the building which overlooks the parking lot. Open up the sliding glass door and let the ocean air come in.
The place is small and there was some dust and cobwebs on the ceiling but overall, it was nice. Looks like there might be a permanent resident or two in the building as well. Staff was friendly and helpful with recommendations. The building needs a bit of work.
It's on Seaward Avenue in a kinda funky beach-town area with a good mix of beach-town denizens in the neighborhood. If you like clean, generic beach towns, with chain hotels and chain restaurants, then this place ain't for you. But if you like independent restaurants and retailers, then you may like the Seaward neighborhood.
Good coffee joint a block down from the hotel. Some nice-looking restaurants in the neighborhood but we didn't go to any of those except the coffee place. We drove a short distance to downtown Ventura for great restaurants.

Room Tip: Get a room on the beach side on an upper floor for good views.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigdog1382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Not necessary to pay the extra money to be on the beach-it was pretty cold and windy! Accommodations were fine, quaint, but could use a deep cleaning. Breakfast was simple, but adequate-coffee, juice, pastries and oatmeal. Employees were very friendly. Really enjoyed Duke's Griddle-N-Grill right down the street-great fish tacos, salmon BLT's!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWIAKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We went here for our Anniversary, it had amazing views! There was a lighting storm and we got front row seats to see mother natures show. Walking distance to restaurants and other attractions in town, it was a fun get-a-away that was close to home.

Room Tip: I prefer a upper story
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minami N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We had a lot of trepidation about staying in this place after reading the reviews. We basically wanted a place to stay at the beach so we wouldn't have to lug the kids back and forth. For that reason, it was a practical choice for us... we could easily go to the beach and come back to use the restroom, clean up, etc. The staff was actually quite nice which I wasn't expecting from the previous reviews. And the other people staying at the hotel were very friendly. Was the room immaculate? Nope. But the view and convenience made it worth it. My hunch is some rooms are worse than others because when we checked in we were told we had one of the better rooms. The spa jets in the bath didn't work but other than that everything was fine. Meh.

Room Tip: The rooms on the end have unobstructed views of the beach...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews