We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spencer House is a wonderful B&B experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Spencer House B&B is a wonderful, welcoming historic Inn operated by live-in owners/hosts Mike and Mary. They, and their professional, gracious staff, made every effort to see that our stay was pleasant and memorable. The Inn is very well maintianed, clean and comfortable. Excellent breakfasts were cooked to order each morning and plentiful. The location is great, being a short walk from numerouse restaurants, shops, the waterfront and the ferry to Cumberland Island. This B&B is highly Recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

Spencer House and staff provided all the charming "extras" for a special anniversary get away! You cannot go wrong with this place!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mueller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

The Spencer House B&B is conveniently close to I-95 in the fishing village of St. Mary's and was a delightful respite from all the impersonal chain motels we usually stay at on our travels. The pleasant staff and very helpful owners greeted us personally and showed us several attractive rooms from which to choose. After relaxing with a cup of freshly-made coffee, we walked a short block to explore the quaint waterfront and enjoyed an excellent dinner in a hotel built in the 1800's. We enjoyed a delicious, hot breakfast the next morning and were sorry to leave. This special place will be our regular stop when traveling through Georgia.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAILORPETEMIAMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Stayed overnite at Spencer's Inn Bed and Breakfast and found it to be a nice, comfortable getaway. Owners do a great job of keeping up this 1872 historic inn. Rooms were clean and very well kept. Many extras provided by the owners. Very nice breakfast made to order. Would recommend for a quiet getaway in south Georgia.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bruggesfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We were pleased with the room (and maid service), and Mary did everything to make the stay pleasant and was certainly attentive to our needs. The breakfasts were top-notch (the French toast was awesome), and Mary/John had plenty of information, suggestions, and insights to make us feel like we had our own concierge. In a nutshell, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruhuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Superb attention to detail...all our needs were met. Felt like we were visiting friends in their home. Loved every minute of our stay. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jds7642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed two nights at the Spencer House over the 4th of July. When finalizing the reservation, we were advised that St Marys would be having a parade the morning of the 4th and if we arrived in time, we could sit on the porch overlooking the parade route. Since we were just 30 miles away on Amelia Island, we were able to make the quick trip and enoy a typical small town 4th of July celebration and we appreciated the information in advance of arriving.

We also really enjoyed staying with Mary and Mike in their beautiful Inn. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom clean and well appointed. Breakfast was excellent each morning, with lots of choices and always with a hot dish option. I especially loved the homemade coffee cakes! In the afternoon there was also a desert, and both days the options were to good to pass up. We had reservations for the 2nd day at Cumberland, and took Mary up on the option of the packed lunch...which was excellent and hit the spot after hiking around the island.

I would highly recommend the Spencer House to anyone that is visiting St Marys...we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlb49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
0.2 km away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
215 reviews
12.7 km away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
690 reviews
20.8 km away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 12 in Fernandina Beach
1,538 reviews
0.1 km away
Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range: $237 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spencer House Inn, built in 1872, is located in the heart of the St. Marys Historic District, within walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the ferry to Cumberland Island National Seashore. We can make your ferry reservation and pack a picnic lunch for you as you head off for your adventure on a beautiful, undeveloped and pristine barrier island - the beach was voted "one of the best wild beaches" by National Geographic Traveler magazine. You'll enjoy relaxing in the cypress rockers on the Inn's verandahs. Walk to the waterfront park, fishing pier and boat ramp. Take a leisurely stroll around our historic village. There are 2 championship golf courses nearby. Okefenokee Wildlife Refuge is 45 minutes away. The beaches of Jekyll, St. Simons and Amelia Island are a short drive from our St. Marys, Georgia bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer House Inn Bed And Breakfast St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing