We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St. Mary's Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 St. Marys B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2012

The Spenser Inn was outstanding. Mike and Mary were wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome. Our room was excellent with beautiful decor and furnishing. The breakfast everyday was very good. The Spenser Inn is located in downtown St. Marys in the historical district and is within easy walking distance to the Ferry for Cumberland Island. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is a great choice for catching a 45-minute ferry ride to Cumberland Island National Seashore. Mary and Mike, the host/owners, maintain a relaxed, friendly atmosphere--helpful but not intrusive. The historic inn is impeccably maintained, and includes first and second story balcony/porches with rockers. The historic town of St. Mary's and its riverfront gives any visitor a chance to slow down and explore on foot. Check to see if the Cumberland Island Museum across the street is open (volunteer-staffed). It's a little gem that gives a great historical overview of the Island.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Lyn and I wanted to spend the night at a B&B. Our Garmin came up with The Spencer Inn.
Wow, what a find. We felt so welcome! Very satisfying in every way. Love our room, with its beautiful decor and furnishings, good lighting,air cond/with fan over bed, comfortable chairs, a desk and so forth. The breakfst Mike fixed was so delicious, with more offerings than one can imagine. Mary and Mike are so friendly. thankl you, thank you for your special place

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is a lovely, relaxing place to stay, within walking distance of restaurants and the waterfront. Mary and Mike are gracious hosts and gave us several suggestions about biking in the area. We enjoyed the porch right next to our room for viewing the sunset and appreciated the comfortable room furnishings. The breakfasts were delicious.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Mary and Mike were extremely accommodating and very welcoming! We loved the decor of the rooms and the enticing porches. It was a great place to stay with comfortable beds, delicious food and hospitable Inn Keepers. We'll be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The attention to detail was outstanding, the location was perfect and the breakfast delicious--just excellent in every way!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We only stayed two nights at the Spencer House Inn but found the accommodations and hospitality to be exceptional. Our hosts Mary & Mike are intelligent and warm people that made us feel at home. We hope to stay again with them soon!
ga-bikers

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarleyAnn720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Marys
0.2 km away
Riverview Hotel
Riverview Hotel
#2 of 4 in St. Marys
215 reviews
12.7 km away
Seaside Amelia Inn
Seaside Amelia Inn
#5 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
692 reviews
20.8 km away
Villas of Amelia Island Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Cumberland Island Inn & Suites
9.8 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Island-Historic Harbor Front
Hampton Inn & Suites Amelia Isla...
#2 of 13 in Fernandina Beach
1,544 reviews
0.1 km away
Goodbread Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 200 Osborne St, St. Marys, GA 31558-8400
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > St. Marys
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in St. Marys
Price Range: $236 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spencer House Inn, built in 1872, is located in the heart of the St. Marys Historic District, within walking distance to restaurants, shops, museums and the ferry to Cumberland Island National Seashore. We can make your ferry reservation and pack a picnic lunch for you as you head off for your adventure on a beautiful, undeveloped and pristine barrier island - the beach was voted "one of the best wild beaches" by National Geographic Traveler magazine. You'll enjoy relaxing in the cypress rockers on the Inn's verandahs. Walk to the waterfront park, fishing pier and boat ramp. Take a leisurely stroll around our historic village. There are 2 championship golf courses nearby. Okefenokee Wildlife Refuge is 45 minutes away. The beaches of Jekyll, St. Simons and Amelia Island are a short drive from our St. Marys, Georgia bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Spencer House Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spencer House Inn Bed And Breakfast St. Marys, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing