We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Efficient, Yummy Bratwurst & Bread”

Lucky Frog Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 616 Restaurants in Bradenton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: German, Mediterranean
Description: The German Lunch and Dinner spot is in the Publix-anchored shopping center at Cortez Road W. open Monday - Saturday. Since opening in September 2014 the Lucky Frog is part of Bradenton’s 10 Best Local Eats, voted three times as Finalist by Bradenton Heralds Peoples Choice and has 4.9 Stars from 5 on Facebook. They offer German and Mediterranean Meals (vegetarian or gluten-free possibilities available) and everything is made from scratch by the owner, Master Chef Uwe. The name comes from "The Lion and the Frog" retold by Brothers Grimm. On the menu, the dishes are named after the fairy tale. There's the Golden Palace, a Vienna-style Schnitzel with German potato salad, the Queens Heart, a Beef Meat, marinated in Red Wine and Vinegar with Red Cabbage and homemade Spaetzle, and the fresh made Potato Pancakes are the best in town. Uwe takes a great care with plating the food. "Your eye is eating first before your stomach. If it's appetizing already, then you really enjoy your meal."
Restaurant details
Description: The German Lunch and Dinner spot is in the Publix-anchored shopping center at Cortez Road W. open Monday - Saturday. Since opening in September 2014 the Lucky Frog is part of Bradenton’s 10 Best Local Eats, voted three times as Finalist by Bradenton Heralds Peoples Choice and has 4.9 Stars from 5 on Facebook. They offer German and Mediterranean Meals (vegetarian or gluten-free possibilities available) and everything is made from scratch by the owner, Master Chef Uwe. The name comes from "The Lion and the Frog" retold by Brothers Grimm. On the menu, the dishes are named after the fairy tale. There's the Golden Palace, a Vienna-style Schnitzel with German potato salad, the Queens Heart, a Beef Meat, marinated in Red Wine and Vinegar with Red Cabbage and homemade Spaetzle, and the fresh made Potato Pancakes are the best in town. Uwe takes a great care with plating the food. "Your eye is eating first before your stomach. If it's appetizing already, then you really enjoy your meal."
Reviewed March 7, 2016

1st time there, we were very pleased, will go back soon! It is located in a back corner of a strip plaza, but it's worth hunting it out.

Went in about 9:15 Sat A.M. Had the Queen Mom & the Handsome Prince. We were pleased with the taste, the size, & price. Cooked fresh, yummy bread & very good Bratwurst. We left completely full.

We were very pleased with how clean the place was. The decor is calming & pleasant.

We noticed a nice selection of German beer. Our server told us that they will have dinner entertainment (German, then Jazz) coming up later this month, so we plan to go back on the German night. There is seating indoor & outdoor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K, Owner at Lucky Frog Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2016

Thank you so much, Vicki. It was nice to meeting you and we're very glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. Hope to see you soon for Lunch or Dinner. If you want to come for our German Music Evening, please make a Reservation because we are fully booked early for our entertainments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 124 of 204 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2016

The food was excellent. The service was good, friendly and prompt. It's in a strip mall, but they do their best to create a nice atmosphere. Place was clean. We had the potato pancakes which were delicious, but applesauce was out of a jar. Goulash was excellent, very tender and tasty, but späzele could have been better. I suspect they were not hausegemach. The side salads were terrific, lots of color and very fresh. Prices fairly high because not all parts of the meal had the same care and effort and it is in a strip mall. But over all I would recommend lunch there because the lunch specials are more reasonable and the food is worth a trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JBandDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K, Owner at Lucky Frog Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2016

Thank you very much for your nice review, your recommendation and that you enjoyed our food and service. Our Spaetzle are "hausgemacht", you're invited to take a look or get a lesson how to do ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2016

Best German food ever. Easily compares with the best restaurants I have tried in Germany. Recommend making a reservation, small and fills up quickly.

Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K, Inhaber at Lucky Frog Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Thank you so much for enjoying our German Meals and for this nice Review. Hope to see you soon back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2016 via mobile

I had the Black Forest and it was delicious! The staff was very nice and friendly. I'll be back.

Cutest place ever. Love the decorating and our waitress Donna was so sweet.

Thank Tristan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K, Owner at Lucky Frog Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2016

Thank you so much. It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you soon back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2016

When I walked in I knew I was in for a treat. The smells immediately provided great memories of Germany and it's truly wonderful cuisine. Everything was totally delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jhonesnaps60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone K, Inhaber at Lucky Frog Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2016

Thank you so much, John, for your great Review. It was a great pleasure to have you and your family in our Restaurant and speak to you. Hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lucky Frog Restaurant also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to Lucky Frog Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing