We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expert reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Expert reception”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We had a one night stay at the Best Western High Sierra. It was very easy to find on the main road Its position was not scenic as it was near a petrol station and our room looked out over the roofs of lock ups. That said the rooms were clean and of a good standard and it had a compact indoor pool which is great for kids. Breakfast, which was substantial and good, is taken in a diner attached to the hotel. I agree with many other comments regarding the staff which were very well trained in customer service ( or naturally talented ), on checking in, the lady on reception was talking on the telephone, but immediately acknowledged our arrival and quickly closed the call. Many thanks to the staff and management for great customer service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dindan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Dindan,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. While our location only lends us to a few rooms with views of the mountains, we strive to meet our guest's expectations regarding the cleanliness and upkeep of our property as well as hire and train our front desk staff to provide the best customer service possible. It's nice to hear that we are reaching our goals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    324
    76
    29
    26
See reviews for
325
293
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We visit Mammoth at least once a year, and this was our first stay at the Best Western Plus. It will not be our last. It was so convenient, comfortable, with great showers. The staff could not do enough for us, they were friendly, and not one request was a problem. It was a very comfortable hotel for a ski trip. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoBearsinSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lax
Level Contributor
132 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

was at the hotel once before and liked it. but i noticed then that it took me about 10 minutes to get helped by someone at the front desk (which i had forgotten about).

i stopped in while in mammoth to see if they had rooms. there were two customers at the desk and two people working the desk. once the first customer left, the person at the desk said, "i have to go take care of something, she (the other person on duty) will take care of you." Um, really? I waited ten minutes including taking a phone call outside and the desk person was still with the first customer. so, i left and took my business elsewhere where i was welcomed warmly. Sorry BW High Sierra, fool me once shame on you. fool me twice, shame on me. What a pity.

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank paul518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Paul518,
I am sorry to hear about your experience. On occasion, particularly during the busy holiday season, there could be times when a guest does have to wait to check in. This is, however, generally not an excessive wait time. I will review your experience with the front desk staff to ensure that all guests are taken care of as efficiently as possible. Knowing my staff, please rest assured that the only reason why an agent will leave the front desk with guests unattended is to handle a waiting emergency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Wa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Our family took a three week trip through California, Arizona, Oregon and Washington and while we stayed in some luxury hotels (Fairmont, Loews, Venetiain) this was the absolutely cleanest hotel room we encountered. The breakfast was nice and we had a great nights sleep. The staff was helpful and friendly, and we loved the bakery across the street. Great price and attention to detail, plus I'm a mom who really likes a clean room and this hotel delivered that.

Room Tip: We had a room ion the second floor, facing the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happysaclvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My family and I have been skiing at Mammoth Lakes for many years and have always stayed at this hotel - even when it used to be Holiday Inn. Although the name changed, staff and the facilites remain the same - GREAT.

This hotel is a great value for the money and has the nicest staff anywhere. The hotel has a nice indoor pool and spa and all rooms and the suites are exceptionally comfortable.

What makes this Best Western different is the staff - from the managers to the kitchen to the room service staff - everyone is helpful and super friendly.

I highly recomment this hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are nice - upper floor (3rd floor) rooms are my choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank said a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

First off, this hotel was hard to find at night. It was nestled in between two businesses that hide the very narrow driveway to this hotel. In their defense, mammoth lakes at night is very dark. The address on buildings are not visible at all. Everything was ordinary in regards to service,amenities, and rooms. I was impressed with $89 special I was able to book online last minute (not inc tax/fees). The free breakfast was a great bonus. We stuffed our face

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waitingtoexhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear waitingtoexhale,
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed stuffing your face in our complimentary hot buffet breakfast and it appears that you visited us during our shoulder season which is the reason for the exceptional rate. I understand your frustration with finding us, we do what we can within town limitations to make ourselves more visible. When our building was built, we were restricted with our sign height and lighting options. Currently, to help guests locate us, we have blinking multi colored holiday lights on our sign. Now that you know where we are, I look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We checked in late on Thanksgiving evening with our two large dogs, after deciding to take a last minute holiday road trip. What an awesome setup for pet owners! The room was complete with food and water dishes and a pet bed.
In addition to the amenities for our four-legged friends, the place is great for humans too. The room is spotlessly clean, well decorated, and spacious. Throw in the micro/fridge combo and you're set! Definitely thankful for this find!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaitiekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation!! Many guests are concerned that our pet-specific rooms are not of the same quality as the other rooms in the hotel and I am happy to hear your confirmation that they indeed are. Our pet friendly rooms have been a hit since we began the program last summer and we work hard to keep them exceptionally clean and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.5 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
787 reviews
0.6 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
808 reviews
1.5 km away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,320 reviews
1.4 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
509 reviews
0.5 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Address: 3228 Main St, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western High Sierra Hotel is conveniently located in Mammoth Lakes near shopping, restaurants and public transportation. Our newly renovated hotel has beautiful guest rooms, an indoor pool and hot tub, exercise room, business center, game room, and our very own Cafe 203 complete with evening lounge. From our standard rooms with a king or two queen beds, to our suites with kitchenettes, we have a variety of accommodations to satisfy any desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing