We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ericucho n
Riverside, California

Good Location,Value, Ambience, and friendly Staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 29, 2023via mobile
Location tip: Located behind on main St. behind the chevron station, across the street from Rick’s sports center. You could miss the sign. If you get to motel 6. You past it.
Location: Good location, within walking distance from restaurants and stores as well as public transportation
Check in: it was quick and there is also a self check in kiosk available
Pet friendly: this hotel is pet friendly there is an additional charge of $35 per pet, but your fury family members can stay in your room. This is a plus for me sometimes we take vacation with the fury ones.
Indoor pool:
It has an indoor pool and jacuzzi. Good option for a night swim or relax in jacuzzi.
Spacious lobby: it has a spacious lobby on the first and second floor which makes it nice place to gather if you are a big group.
Front desk staff was friendly courteous, detailed with all the information about the hotel, specific hotel. Parking is one of them, one car per room. Parking tag is provided. They also emphasize, they will not switch rooms after check in.
Cleanliness: lobby and hallway looked very clean. Room was also very clean. No complaints about cleanliness
Comfort: rooms are decent size. A good size bathroom sink counter which is good for your personal toiletries, lady’s make up. Good size bathtub.
Bed were the downside for me. Beds are extra firm and one was lumpy. I always expect a comfortable bed, but beds were hard.
Staff: Feint desk and rest of the staff were very friendly and courteous. Upon arrival I was getting coffee they were out. Yuliana was cleaning the lobby. She quickly brought fresh coffee, which was really appreciated after a long drive.
Complementary breakfast: the usual scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, bagels, bread, fruit, juice, coffee, milk, and cereals. Do not know if it was a busy morning or they may need more help. One guy cannot keep up. All was pretty empty.
Overall decent stay. I would stay again. They need to do something about the beds, but also had good points like cleanliness, friendly courteous staff, location, pet friendly which makes a good option
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: This place is pet friendly and there are not too many pet friendly in here area. Good for the...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel, responded to this review
Responded Dec 30, 2023
Dear Ericuchon,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Empeiria High Sierra Hotel and for posting such a generous review of our hotel and staff. It is a pleasure to know we met all of your expectations and that you loved our location, staff, amenities, accommodations, and services! We enjoyed having you and your furry friend as our guest, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.
Happy Holidays and Happy New Year!

Thank you,
Emily Cooley
Sales Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$350
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$288
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Free parking
Pool
Motel Mammoth Lakes CA Exterior
C$142
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.3 km from Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Free parking
Mammoth Creek Inn exterior alpenglow
C$236
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Free parking
Fitness centre
C$262
C$234
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$240
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Westin.com
    C$361
  • Expedia.com
    C$389
1.5 km from Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$230
  • travelup.com
2.4 km from Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$183
  • Algotels
6.1 km from Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$276
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Empeiria High Sierra Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviews (1,147)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
480
426
123
53
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
480
426
123
53
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool free breakfast one night stay beds were comfortable front desk staff ski trip western mammoth microwave
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2023

Staff were very professional, efficient and friendly. Good location for walking around in the town of Mammoth Lakes. We stayed here two nights. Good location for getting to and from Mono Lake, Lee Vining and Tioga Pass in to Yosemite, Bodie State Park (the reason for our visit). We traveled with our large dog (75 lbs.) and this hotel was pet-friendly. For what they charged per night extra for the dog, I would have expected a small welcome package and that they would automatically give us some extra towels and top sheets for the beds (we did ask for these and they did provide). The room they assigned to us on the first floor was convenient for getting the dog in and out to take care of his business. The windows to the room faced the parking lot with cars parking right up to the window. We had to keep the curtains closed most of the time for privacy. The lighting in the room was very dim as well.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2023

Dear 830loris,

Thank you for selecting Empeiria High Sierra Hotel and for your nice rating. We are delighted to learn that you and your furry friend loved our spacious accommodations with thoughtful in-room amenities along with a convenient location and courteous colleagues. Having said that, we have taken additional notes of your comments as we continuously strive to improve our guest experience. We appreciate your valuable feedback, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Thank you,
Emily Cooley
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2023

If you are looking for excellent value for money I can highly recommend this hotel. We had a spacious room at the back (view of large sheds and trees), with two huge comfy beds. The bathroom was clean and well supplied. There is a shallow bath with an over-the-bath shower which had reasonable pressure and plenty of hot water. Some might find it a little odd that the washbasin is in the bedroom, not the bathroom, but we soon got used to it. The room is not automatically serviced every day, which again was fine by us, but you can request servicing whenever you want. The wifi was a bit weak in the evening but fine during the day. The swimming pool was beautifully clean and warm, although I found the jacuzzi a bit too hot for my liking! There was a large supply of clean towels at the pool. We visited in September 2023 and found this hotel to be an ideal base for exploring the area. Finally, and most importantly, the staff were delightful. So, overall, whilst not perfect, certainly very good value for money, and therefore highly recommended!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2023

Dear 147wendym,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Empeiria High Sierra Hotel and for posting such a generous review of our hotel. It's so nice to know you found your suite comfortable and that you were pleased with the exceptional service from our staff. We are also delighted to know you had a great time at the pool and jacuzzi. Thank you once again for your kind words and recommendation. We look forward to your next visit.


Thank you,
Emily Cooley
Sales Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2023

If the price paid was even 40 less or included the breakfast I don't think I would write this review this way. Easy check in. Room in good shape overall. Stayed in top floor to avoid ceiling/walking noise. Perceived value for us tanked at breakfast at the 'resting nomad'. Had to wait at a kiosk that errored out. No one to help so went back to front desk. Then had to pay additional $12 each for the privilege of finding out there was only cold bacon and cold eggs available to eat at the 'buffet.' And an automated prompt to tip before eating!??! There is NO menu, despite one still available online. No cook to order station. Limited bagels in saran wrap and two english muffins in the rack. No actual sliced bread. The "Fresh" fruit in a bowl had sus orange and apples on the verge. No typical berries in a bowl. There was iced water, cold OJ and coffee, but no hot tea bags in the buffet area. Go back to the lobby for that. For a holiday weekend, really not prepared. Side note- mattresses were comfortable but the frame has sharp corners that stick out past the mattress. Have stayed here before, I really want to like this place, but a free continental breakfast with hard boiled eggs and danishes would almost be a better bet.

Date of stay: July 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mungie2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
General Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2023

Dear Mungie2021,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It is disappointing to learn that we did not exceed every expectation. We regret that you felt our breakfast did not have the variety you expected. We do try to provide an assortment of options, and we are grateful for the feedback that helps us improve our guest experience. We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests, and we genuinely apologize for not doing so during your time with us. Thank you for being our guest, and we hope you will stay with us again for the exceptional stay you deserve.

Thank you,
Emily Cooley
Sales Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2023 via mobile

Clean. Well appointed rooms; good coffee, microwave, safe, fridge, tv. Vanity outside of bathroom-huge bonus points so two people can get ready in the morning in peace. Great staff. Yay for the fitness center, tiny but it worked (please consider opening at 5 rather than 6). $12 buffet breakfast with fresh food and a person who will make you an omelette fresh!! (Tip the guy please!) Easy parking. Great location near restaurants and stores. If I’m ever in the area again they have my business.

Room tip: Get the breakfast! Take some time to see Convict Lake.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Resort61489595210
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2023

Dear Resort61489595210,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Empeiria High Sierra Hotel and for posting such a generous review of our hotel and everything we offer. It is a pleasure to know we met all of your expectations and appreciate you mentioning our amenities, accommodations, service, and the breakfast we serve! We enjoyed having you as our guest, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to our area.

Thank you,
Emily Cooley
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2023

Checked in at three and were greeted by a very friendly lady at the front. Had to run our credit card twice for some reason but got that sorted. Parking was very easy to find and we were placed on the 2nd floor. Our room was modern and clean. Beds were comfortable as well. Loses 2 stars as we could hear everything through the walls and ceilings and didn't get much sleep. Neighbors upstairs were loud as well as hearing people go up the main stairs.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dano9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Guest Service Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at Empeiria High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2023

Dear dano9258,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback for fellow travelers! We are happy to know you liked our comfortable accommodations and that our devoted associates took great care of you. We will certainly share your praises with them. We are also happy to know that you appreciated our valet parking. However, we truly regret the noise disturbances from other guests of the hotel. While we know this cannot change your recent experience with us, please know for future visits, our front desk is available at any hour to help make you as comfortable as possible. We are grateful for all of your feedback and hope you will return for the flawless stay you deserve.

Thank you,
Emily Cooley
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews