We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
63
103
69
31
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
103
69
31
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt hot tub third floor dvd player off season free breakfast king room winter months ski lockers bit dated beds were comfortable ski trip slopes lodge fireplace skiing mammoth
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 304 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

We planned a Yosemite trip but the summer of 2018 fires threw us for a loop. We contacted the lodge in advance and they said the fires weren’t near here and that parts of the park are still open to drive through. We were weary so we inquired about canceling. Unfortunately, we had to pay up front via credit card and they told us that we could cancel up to 48 hours in advance but that we’d lose close to $400 for both rooms for the one night. We got here to find the fire over the other side of the mountain with billowing smoke completely blocking out the sun. Even worse, the rooms are stuffy and hot and are NOT equipped with air conditioning. It was advised for us to use the box fans in the window to get cool air but it’s so smoky outside that we have to breath in the toxic air all evening. I have terrible allergies and this is just not okay. I’ll never stay here again, nor do I recommend this lodge during the summer months/fire seasons. I don’t complain, but for close to $200 per night during this less busy season, they should at least have air conditioning and be more flexible with cancellations due to the circumstances we inquired about.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank AJI75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

I was unaware initially that we would be located off site, that turned out to be a great thing. The hallways and the outward appearance of the building are very misleading. The room felt more like a small condo or apartment, my son had his own area in the mountains and we had our own bedroom. Our stay was nice and cozy and warm, and there was also a fireplace to enjoy. The breakfast the next morning left a lot to be desired, there were boiled and peeled eggs, cold cereal and milk, and possibly the worst cup of coffee I’ve ever had in my life. Skip the free breakfast and go out to eat… Other than that our stay was amazing.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

On our way to Yosemite we spent a night here. Very nice rooms/apartments, by far the largest so far on our LA-tour. Clean and with a great kitchen if you would like to cook yourselves.

Unfortunately no bears around, although we were shown during breakfast a picture of a bear outside the bakery taken the same morning.

Average breakfast. Nice pub. Ok restaurant. Short way to lots of restaurants 'downtown'.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Jan_Robert_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2018

Comfy, warm and 5 mins walk to the nearest ski lift. Couldn't ask for a better location. Fantastic bar downstairs where you can unwind after a day on the slopes and grab a bite to eat for tea too. Rooms are not that flash but all that we needed considering we only go there to shower and sleep. The views from the rooms are amazing! Highly recommend and we are definitely going back one day.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mamaselle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2018

Austria Hof Lodge does not pride itself on customer service. We booked our room on Monday and on Tuesday we decided to cancel our reservation. Instead of stellar customer service, Austria Hof almost did not allow us to cancel, even though it was less than 24 hours later. Per their hotel standards, we had a $50.00 cancellation fee. However, the management informed us that we would instead have to pay 50% of our accommodation unless the ENTIRE hotel sold out over the two days. Of course, this did not happen. Austria Hof Lodge essentially scammed us into paying for more than we should have. It's very disappointing to see this hotel have such poor customer service and such inflexibility when it comes to their guests. My family has stayed here often in the past however, we will definitely be staying at one of the other 50+ options we have when visiting Mammoth in the future.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews