We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

from the moment we arrived we felt very welcome. The staff at this hotel were helpful in local activities and the bonus of a free shuttle anywhere you would like to go was a bonus.
the location is great and the rooms we a good size. The only downside......
ever person seem to have a large dog in their room. So at any given time you would be sharing a lift with a family and a dog.

Room Tip: Stay on a higher floor if possible for a nice view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quay5043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    586
    313
    93
    49
    28
See reviews for
476
402
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

There is an exit at the back of the hotel that has a handicap button that should open the doors automatically. It doesn't, but that doesn't matter much b/c those doors lead to 80 steep steps down a hill to the gondola. There's no way a handicapped person is navigating those steps.

And this is how one gets to the village and gondola. Lot's of fun in ski boots wit kids. NOT. This is such a major design flaw that I would consider other lodging options next time.

Other issues - the outdoor pool is cold. No adults swimming, only kids braving the pool temp. All of the adults crammed into the two small hot tubs.

The workout room is tiny and poorly equipped. There is no spa despite a sign that says pool and "spa." What the hotel means is hot tub. The "locker room" by the workout room is small and dingy.

Speaking of small, could the 1 BR suites be any smaller? What a joke. The comparable rooms at Beaver Creek Westin are much larger and nicer. They include a washer dryer and very nice bathroom. Not the case here.

At the restaurant there is a sushi bar. But if you don't sit at the bar, you can't order from portions of that menu. The waiter explained that I could order only sashimi but no rolls. "Sorry, it's very arbitrary" he said. It was a bummer considering there wasn't a single fish entree on the menu. The menu, though bizarre in its range of offerings, did produce some tasty dishes but they are quite heavy.

I arrived before check in time and did not expect the room to be ready. I left a cell # and the desk said someone would call when I could get in. Never received a call. Same thing in Beaver Creek.

It's a good hotel but if I hadn't received a big discount for a pre-paid room I'd be very disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ridley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have been staying here for years. Spoiled and won't stay elsewhere. Love the beds, in room fireplace and shuttle service. No need to drive. Service is exceptional. Plus you can rent skis and get tickets on premise.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We love the Westin Monache in winter (and summer but this is a winter-review)! The bar is great for Apres Ski and has a good happy hour. It is so cozy and the staff is so friendly. The food is also delicious. It is a kid and dog friendly place- so nice that parents can be in an upscale place with the whole family.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMN23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Westin Monache was perfected located across the street from the Village and the gondola up to the mountain. The rooms are very nice and the service was excellent. We flew up from LA and the airlines lost our baggage so the hotel sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne and set us up with the necessary toiletries until our luggage arrive. We enjoyed both the hot tubs and the bar while we stayed there. I don't have a pet, but this hotel was very pet friendly. Staying at the Westin has spoiled me for all trips to Mammoth in the future!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chimchim171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

From the moment we pulled up to check-in, everyone at this hotel acted like it just opened. In fact, it has been open for years. Nothing seemed to work correctly, the staff was constantly confused, and they ran out of tons of items. It took forever to check-in, and when we did, the room was nothing like it was promised. People we know had lots if things wrong with their rooms, such as broken cooktops, no hangers, not the correct number of towels, toilets that were stuffed, etc. At some point in the day, there is hot chocolate in the lobby, but they were always either out of cups or hot chocolate.

The hotel restaurant is overpriced and when we were there for a breakfast buffet, they were out of lots of things, including orange juice.

You have to valet park at the hotel, but only twice in our entire stay, was our car ready when we came down to valet. You have to call down 10-15 minutes before you are ready to leave to have your car ready, and almost everytime we showed up, they never seemed to get around to brining it up from the garage under the hotel. And, then they act like the person who answered the phone never tells them. So frustrating!

It's a nice looking property, but definitely not close enough to the Canyon Gondola to be all that convenient. You still have to hike up and down a ton of stairs to make it to and from the gondola. Not exactly a piece of cake with ski boots.

All in all, not terrible...but, really, it is time for them to get their act together. From all the guests lined up at the front desks constantly complaining about problems, it really needs some serious management changes...and fast!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains. They promised us one when we made reservations, and never delivere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VacationTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
157 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

The Westin Monache is all that you're looking for in a great hotel. It's perfect position overlooks the mountains and is on the doorstep of the village and gondola...it cannot be beaten for position in Mammoth.

Rooms are spacious with VERY comfy beds. The fireplace is very nice and the sun lounge is perfect place to relax with a book and chill out when the sun shines through your window.

Any criticisms? I don't know if it's a US thing, but watch out for the outrageous 15% 'minibar restock' surcharge (on top of tax and already inflated minibar price)...WTF?!?!? The hotel's bar/restaurant is a great spot to have their very good breakfast..but for me; the hotel lacks a decent arpres ski lounge...you know the one; cozy fireplace, stuffed chairs etc...Westin doesn't have it..so you're only options for a place to chill after the slopes is in the village.

The gym is light on for equipment but ok..I didn't use the heated pool but it looked great and saw many people enjoying the spa/pool area. Staff are friendly and the concierge was fantastic with his (thanks Buck) advice on restaurants and itinerary for a great side-trip to Yosemite. A real convenience is the shuttle bus...fantastic service.

The stay closed my honeymoon (in Cabo, LA and Mammoth) and was highlight. A great place. Get up here!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view...lovely outlook from an excellent sun-bed...a real treat
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenBSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
4.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
1.8 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
2.3 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 km away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#8 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing