We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveller rating
677
383
122
64
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
677
383
122
64
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whitebark restaurant white bark self parking heavenly bed window seat studio suite starbucks coffee glass of champagne mini kitchen resort fee stove top hotel restaurant gas fireplace kids club shuttle service beautiful resort flights of stairs
Filter
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2014

Disappointed with our stay at this hotel. Had a high expectation before arrival having seen pictures of the hotel. left feeling disappointed with this hotel and could not recommend. Seemed to have allot of dogs staying at the hotel which surprised. My son had an incident with 2 dogs whilst at the pool area. We later found out dogs weren't supposed to be there.

Would have prefered to have slept with the windows opened but were unable to do so because of noise going on outside the hotel room, as this was located on the lower entry side of the hotel. Because of having to keep the windows closed due to the noise outside we all woke up the next day with sinus problems because of having to keep the airconditioning operating all night.

The room still had a slight cooking odour still lingering from the prior occupants when we checked in. We had a one month travelling holiday around California and this hotel was the worst for us in terms of value for money. I would recommend to shop around if contemplating staying in Mammoth Lakes area.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Thank you for your review and I apologize we didn’t provide you with a true Westin experience. All Westin hotels are dog friendly. This property is visit by many dog owners. We have a very good relationship with the pets and their owners. We have very few issues with dogs barking or act badly. I am not sure the length of your stay, or if you called to change rooms; these types of issues are frustrating and a change of rooms would have been appropriate. If we did not suggest this remedy, I again apologize.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night as part of a road trip. We were visiting the area for the first time.

The hotel was gorgeous. Our room included a gas fireplace, small kitchenette with dishwasher, and a cozy windowsill seat to sit in to read or enjoy the view of the pines and mountains.

The staff was friendly and helpful. We felt quite welcome during our "shoulder season" stay.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TAD_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Thank you for your business! We appreciate you staying at the Westin Monache. Join us again the next time you are in Mammoth.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2014 via mobile

Came to stay here after reading all the great reviews - we are more than thrilled to have found this beautiful hotel! The room was amazing and very comfortable. The only glitch we had was that our first room had bulldozer work going on right below it ( getting ready for the upcoming snow), this was fixed immediately by the front desk when I called by moving us to a new room. Love this hotel, we will be back!

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Thank you for your review and I apologize for the noise issue. I am happy to read we were able to resolve your room location and allow you to enjoy the rest of your stay. We look forward to your return. Thank you for your business!

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2014

Rooms and staff great, couldn't fault it, you get what you pay for.
Beds and pillows are incredibly comfortable! One of the best hotel beds I've ever slept in.
Nice kitchen with everything provided.
Parking is a bit crowded as you need to use your room key to enter the car park and there is no where to really park whilst you are checking in, just a small island at the main entrance.
you have to pay a resort fee which can be annoying if you don't even have time to see any facilities but this seems to be standard. It was kindly waived for us as part of our military discount.
Free Starbucks in lobby
Mammoth is beautiful, there is a free shuttle to get you about town lots of nice restaurants.
We used the outdoor pool and there is also an activity centre for kids.

Room Tip: Try the back if possible
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank blondeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Westin Monache! I appreciate your kind review and your service to our country! I am happy to read you were able to enjoy the pool; it is very nice this time of year. I hope you and the family have another opportunity to return to the property.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2014

This property has many high touch features in the rooms, which have a very complete kitchenette and a flat screen TV and fireplace, but are fairly compact. The outdoor pool and Jacuzzis are nicely landscaped and there is a large gas grill which we used. The pools are very clean and worked fairly well, although the motor is quite loud. Like many ski resorts this one has an underground parking garage and the gate worked well, but the spaces are very small and half the lights were burned out so it was luck of the draw if you could actually see to find anything in your car. The elevators were nice sized and quick. We hate that they don't have carts so you can bring your stuff upstairs. We don't want a bellman hovering over us while we sort thru what to bring in. The internet was positively the fastest, best internet we have ever experienced in a hotel. There was a repeater in the room and there is a printer/business center in the lobby area. We did have trouble the first night with the TV. The blu ray player was placed so that it blocked the signal from the remote to the TV, but the mechanic came quickly and took away the offending blu ray player. And would it kill a 4 diamond property to have 2 luggage racks??? Don't most couples have at least 2 suitcases?? The location is good, right across from "The Village" down a killer flight of stairs. The concierge was good and made good suggestions. $25 per night resort fee is obnoxious, but not unexpected at this kind of property. Ice machines are not on every floor. While the tiny refrigerator does have an icemaker, when you first arrive it will be empty and there won't be much ice for 24 hours so you will have to find the ice machine on the 5th floor.

Room Tip: Our room seemed amazingly quiet, but I suspect they are all pretty good.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the Westin Monache! I appreciate your feedback and we will begin to resolve the scenarios you presented. I am having Engineering go through the garage and repair or replace any lighting deficiencies. We now have an Ice Machine on the 7th floor as well, with an additional machine on the 3rd floor coming in a few months. We all appreciate your business! I hope you return the next time you are in Mammoth Lakes.

Be Well!
Patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews