We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveler777565

A great Motel 6

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 3, 2023
Our room was spare but clean, and everything worked well. We appreciated the room's furnishings of a small table, 2 chairs, and shelves deep enough to hold shoes or bags, etc. We stayed 3 nights and will return.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$395
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Vio.com
    C$271
  • Priceline
    C$361
2.1 km from Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Free parking
Pool
C$316
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$317
  • Destinia.com
    C$256
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$283
0.8 km from Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Mammoth Creek Inn exterior alpenglow
C$216
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$234
  • Agoda.com
    C$194
  • Hotels.com
    C$235
1.5 km from Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Free parking
Fitness centre
C$237
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    C$194
  • Vio.com
    C$190
  • Expedia.com
    C$231
0.7 km from Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$259
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    C$259
  • Vio.com
    C$170
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$179
5.8 km from Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$240
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$226
  • Agoda.com
    C$166
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$177
0.4 km from Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$422
  • Agoda.com
    C$309
  • Hotels.com
    C$423
1.2 km from Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviews (683)
Filter reviews
683 results
Traveller rating
85
208
230
96
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
85
208
230
96
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviews central location would stay here again short drive one night stay mammoth pros
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 683 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2023

We stayed here because it was one of the cheaper options in Mammoth Lakes. It was our first experience of Motel 6 and although, never say never, I am not confident we will use Motel 6 chain again.
The room was clean, bed comfortable and shower good, so probably all that really matters.
As other reviewers have commented, the exterior paint is peeling and the whole complex does look tired.
Reception staff were very friendly.
Recommend Liberty Dinner/Restaurant across the road for dinner. Tri tip steak and ribs were great and very good value.
Overall if you can afford $20 more a night and can find a room, spend the little bit extra. But if you do stay here just don’t have high hopes.
The scenery around Mammoth Lakes is amazing, so you will spend more time away from the room than in it.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank heweyWhangarei
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brand Experience Team, Other at Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2023

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We take all guest experiences seriously and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We value your business, and would love the chance to make your next visit with us even better. Please don’t hesitate to come back and stay with us again. We look forward to serving you.

Cameron A.
#Team6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2023 via mobile

I base my reviews on several factors, one of those being Value. Do I consider the item/service I’m spending my money on valuable? The simple answer for this establishment is no. We booked a two-night weekend stay and decided to leave a day early because we simply couldn’t waste the money.
This Motel 6 is located in Mammoth lakes - and we get that it’s a pretty prime location, however, you can spend just a little more and get more value for your money.
Besides location; this Motel 6 has a few things going for it. It’s staff are friendly, The room was clean. Parking is ample. And the location is safe. Where this Motel 6 lacks is amenities! They should really consider reducing the profit margin and consider investing back into itself. It’s in need of renovating. There is NO storage in the room whatsoever…. No dresser, no nightstands, no sink cabinet - nothing. You get the standard suitcase rack and a few hangers on wall hooks. There are no small appliances such as a mini-fridge, coffee maker, microwave. Another area less than admirable is the “picnic” area which is just filled with stone. No landscaping - no places to set - no places for pets. It’s a real letdown when everywhere else you’re surrounded by the mountain scenery and foliage.
If the costs to stay here was about half of what’s currently being charged - we would have continued our stay and would be satisfied we received a fair value for our money. I’ll stay elsewhere next visit.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank dreadpiratedb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GSix Claudia A Garcia-Gonzalez, Owner at Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2023

Hi Traveler,
We're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us, and we apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced. We hope for the opportunity to improve your experience with us. Please visit again.
Lilith
#Team6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 13, 2023

We always enjoy staying at this Motel 6. But I have to give a shout out to Britney who searched up and down for my girlfriends makeup bag after we called and thought we had left it behind. We ended up finding it packed in the bottom of our stuff, but really appreciate her spending valuable time to look for us. All of the staff are friendly and super helpful, the rooms clean and the views are incredible. We've stayed at the Mammoth Motel 6 for years of winter and summer mountain escapes, and look forward to many more. Thanks again to all the staff!

Date of stay: May 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GSix Claudia A Garcia-Gonzalez, Owner at Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2023

Hi Andrew,
Thank you so much for sharing your kind words. We work hard to make your visit the best experience possible. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Lilith
#Team6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2023

A motel 6 stay will never be confused with upper end properties...but did I get good value for the price paid? Absolutely!
This was the first time I used my AARP card, and got a discount of approximately $15/night...total for 2 nights was under $250.
The property rooms appeared to have been updated recently, so the room (1 queen bed) was modern, comfortable, efficient, clean and quiet (even though I was near the office...upside was I was near my car).
Best Motel 6 stay in memory!
Highly recommend!

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
GSix Claudia A Garcia-Gonzalez, Owner at Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2023

Hi Jerry,
Thank you, we really do love getting such positive feedback! We’re glad your experience was a good one and hope to see you again real soon.
Lilith
#Team6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2023

Place has gone downhill, stayed during Hwy395 weekend snow shutdown, so they charged predatory pricing of $300 PER NIGHT.. was forced to stay two days so imagine paying $600 for 2 nights at a Motel 6! I've paid less for a 5-star Michelin rated resort hotel.. Front desk staff are "flatline" with no empathy, non-responsive to concerns. Frankly, they act like they dont hear you and don't address questions.
- Heating / AC unit is LOUD so bring ear plugs (or just dont stay here)
- You pay EXTRA for a room with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker.
- Bathroom and showers drip (yes, more nighttime noise)
- Outside noises like people talking, walking to room or vehicles running/starting are LOUD in the rood, no sound insulation.
- If you are on ground floor and someone is in room above, be prepared to hear them taking and footstep thumping. You can even listen to the conversation of your neighbors! That keeps you awake too. Do your homework, shop around until they get their act together. A place to stay in a pinch? Yes. Satisfying? No.

Room tip: Stay on 2nd floor unless you want to hear your neighbor above you stomping around.
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nosm2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Brand Experience Team, Other at Motel 6 Mammoth Lakes, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2023

Hi Traveler,
Thank you for providing your feedback. Your experience is not our standard of service. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and would like to discuss your experience further. Please use the Contact Us feature on our website to connect with us.
Lilith
#Team6

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews