We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
eileen h

Wonderful time staying at Tamarack Lodge, Mammoth Lakes, CA

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Feb 25, 2024
We had the most wonderful time staying at the Tamarack Lodge in Mammoth Lakes. The cabin we stayed in was cozy and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the evenings in the lodge, warmed by the fireplace. We had some very interesting conversations with other guests, while being entertained by local musicians. We appreciated the efforts of the many staff members who were always there to assist you, including David, Donald, Bruce, Tim, and Aldo.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny Marquez, Guest Services / Front Office at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this review
Responded Feb 25, 2024
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tamarack Lodge in Mammoth Lakes!
We're grateful for your recognition of our dedicated staff members, including David, Donald, Bruce, Tim, and Aldo. They take great pride in providing exceptional service and ensuring that each guest feels welcome and well taken care of throughout their stay.

Thank you once again for choosing Tamarack Lodge for your getaway in Mammoth Lakes. We look forward to welcoming you back for more memorable experiences in the future!

Warm regards,

Manny Marquez
Lodge Manager
Tamarack Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$429
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$429
4.0 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free parking
Pool
C$318
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$318
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$284
  • Vio.com
4.5 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$238
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$207
  • Hotels.com
    C$233
4.8 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$223
  • Expedia.com
    C$265
4.6 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Motel Mammoth Lakes CA Exterior
Go to your Happy Price
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$158
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
4.5 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free parking
View more hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
414
134
45
22
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
414
134
45
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews twin lakes studio cabin mammoth mountain full kitchen brian snow fireplace skiing stove accommodations village lodging blizzard fires bears slopes westin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 639 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2024

We are third time return guests to Tamarack Lodge. We try to go the end of January every year because it is not as expensive as the holidays. This time we chose to stay in the lodge proper. The heat and hot water were challenging for us but were explained very well upon questioning about the system. Basically you self adjust and/or wait. The lodge is a historic building and so one waits. We ended up completely temperature comfortable and warmly washing.

There is a possibility of having a kind of breakfast at the lodge upon request. It is an additional fee for the room. Every single morning we were presented our breakfast tray, ordered the night before, by Manny Marquez.

He always served it with a smile and appeared to really care that we were happy. Not everyone eats in the lobby so it was very nice.
From there we would proceed to cross-country ski and/or snowshoe for the the day.

Upon return, we were greeted by Manny almost every day and offered hot cider. For us this is a place to which we will return as many times as is possible.

Room tip: Bring money. Food isn't cheap. Rooms don't have fridges. If you have a cooler and can replenish ice, even better.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Scott Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny Marquez, Guest Services / Front Office at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2024

Thank you immensely for choosing Tamarack Lodge for your winter getaway and for being a loyal return guest! It's truly heartwarming to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us for the third time.

We appreciate your understanding regarding the heating and hot water system in our historic lodge. We strive to provide detailed explanations and ensure that our guests are comfortable during their stay.

I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast service provided by me and that it added to the enjoyment of your mornings. Your satisfaction and happiness are our top priorities, and it was my pleasure to serve you with a smile each day.

It's wonderful to know that you appreciate the peaceful surroundings and the opportunity for cross-country skiing and snowshoeing. We're thrilled to be your chosen destination for winter adventures, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more memorable stays in the future.

Thank you once again for your kind words and your continued support of Tamarack Lodge.

Warm regards,

Manny Marquez
Manager
Tamarack Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2024

World class location and service make this a unique high mountain experience! Brian, Tim, Manny, and the rest of team are simply outstanding at addressing whatever issues may arise, be it a foot of new snow, or whatever you need in your room to make your stay extra special. We stayed in the Top of the Lodge this time, which features panoramic views from the top floor, but have also enjoyed many other rooms over the years. The lodge dates back to 1924, and is therefore quite rustic, but if you are looking for the best alpine experience in the Sierra Nevada, this is it!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny Marquez, Guest Services / Front Office at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2024

Thank you immensely for taking the time to share your outstanding review of Tamarack Lodge! We're thrilled to learn that you had a world-class experience during your stay and that our team, particularly Brian, Tim, and I, exceeded your expectations in ensuring your comfort and satisfaction.

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the panoramic views from the Top of the Lodge and appreciated the rustic charm of our historic property, which dates back to 1924.

Your kind words mean the world to us, and we're grateful for your continued support and patronage over the years. We look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional alpine experience in the Sierra Nevada!

Warm regards,

Manny Marquez
Manager
Tamarack Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2024

What a unique property! We always have such a great time at Tamarack. The staff is always kind, friendly and helpful. Tim went out of his way to help us in the middle of a big storm - he made sure we had everything we needed to exit the property. Thanks , Tim!!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny Marquez, Guest Services / Front Office at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2024

Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at Tamarack Lodge! We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time and that our staff, especially Tim, went above and beyond to assist you during the storm.

Ensuring our guests' comfort and safety is always our top priority, especially during inclement weather, so we're pleased to hear that Tim provided you with the assistance you needed.

We appreciate your recognition of our team's efforts and hospitality. It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our winter wonderland soon!

Warm regards,

Manny Marquez
Manager
Tamarack Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2024

Great service! Tim hooked us up. Great place for a mid ski stop for food and drinks, warm up, or stay for the night. Make it a weekend. Hopefully come back soon see Tim again stay for the night and ski for a while have a sandwich kick off the boots stay by the first

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank R6550QEryanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny Marquez, Guest Services / Front Office at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2024

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tamarack Lodge! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your mid-ski stop with us and that Tim provided you with excellent service.
Tim and the rest of our team will be delighted to see you again!

Warm regards,

Manny Marquez
Manager
Tamarack Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2024 via mobile

Absolutely loved our afternoon at Tamarack Lodge in Mammoth Lakes! The highlight was definitely the excellent hospitality provided by Donald, especially during what used to be the traditional happy hour after skiing. Although we were disappointed to learn that the lodge had discontinued this much-anticipated happy hour, Donald stepped up wonderfully, offering a fantastic alternative that made our day. The cross-country ski center is top-notch, and the open bar in the afternoon was a treat we looked forward to daily. Our experience was so memorable thanks to the staff's efforts, particularly Donald's. We sincerely hope management considers bringing back the afternoon bar service. It's these little touches that truly set Tamarack Lodge apart. Highly recommend for an unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank kendallermshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny Marquez, Guest Services / Front Office at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2024

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about your recent visit to Tamarack Lodge in Mammoth Lakes! We're thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic afternoon with us and that our hospitality, particularly from Donald, made your experience memorable.

Your suggestion regarding the afternoon bar service is greatly appreciated, and we will definitely consider it as we continue to enhance our offerings to meet the needs and preferences of our guests.

Thank you for recommending Tamarack Lodge, and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more enjoyable experiences in the future!

Warm regards,

Manny Marquez
Manager
Tamarack Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews