We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jason S

A great place to get away from it all!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 1, 2024
We stayed in cabin c17 May 27th - May 31st and had an epic time away from it all. There was still some snow on the ground, which made the views that much better. The staff at the lodge was very helpful and willing to accommodate the guests' needs. I would highly recommend this lodge to anyone.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$418
  • Priceline
2.3 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$495
  • Hotels.com
4.0 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$273
  • Algotels
4.6 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$385
  • Algotels
4.5 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • Choice Hotels
    C$384
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$484
  • Skyscanner.com
13.9 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$334
  • Priceline
4.1 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$204
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$360
  • Algotels
4.4 km from Tamarack Lodge and Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
414
134
45
22
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
414
134
45
22
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews twin lakes studio cabin mammoth mountain full kitchen brian snow fireplace skiing stove accommodations village lodging blizzard fires bears slopes westin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 639 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2024

Gorgeous. Healthy. So much snow still, the path ways to cabins were precarious. Shout out however to one of the managers MANNY who saw that we had my father with, and personally dug snow steps to our cabin. We travel a lot and there are some disappointing customer service experiences, however Manny had the professionalism many of us expect.

Room tip: If going during heavy snow bring boot grips to get to cabin.
Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uzid2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 8, 2024

We were blown away by how good this place was. Very comfortable, warm, excellent beds, quiet and a totally equipped kitchen. No television, what a joy, reasonable internet. Very welcoming staff. The snowy paths require a little dexterity but that’s not a complaint. I would be thrilled to stay here again

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 4, 2024

I hadn't been to Tamarack Lodge in more than 20 years but the special characteristics and charm of the place has more than endured. We spent a total of 5 nights in one of the small couple's cabin and felt both on vacation and at home. The room was somewhat rustic (as expected) but very cozy, the bed very comfortable, and the kitchen easy to work in. If you are going to cross country ski there is no better option than Tamarack; you can literally get on the trails from your doorstep. The main lodge is also very welcoming and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. During the trip our car battery died and the staff at the front desk loaned us a portable charger to get us into town AND loaned us the appropriate tools to change the battery when we returned (the garage in town, near closing time, was not as accommodating.) They even helped us with some unexpected copy needs! Last but far from least, the Lakefront Restaurant was excellent - a must if you're staying there and a celebrated and popular dinner stop throughout the area - and our meal there was a capper to this terrific visit.

A few tips I would offer would be to book your cross country ski passes directly with the center versus the 800 Mammoth number (which I originally did). They were more helpful (knowledgeable?) regarding discounts for staying at the lodge and two for 1 Tuesday passes, both of which saved us considerable money over the 4 days of skiing. Also, if you have trouble getting around I might ask for a cabin closer to the road (not sure if all sizes are available down low) because the slog in the snow from the road to the upper cabins is something to consider (they do have sleds you can load gear into and I believe you can also ask for assistance). Finally, ask about reservations to Lakefront Restaurant upon arrival as it is a small dining room and often booked but the staff does their best to get lodge guests in. Safe travels!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DayTrip726447
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny Marquez, Guest Services / Front Office at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2024

Thank you for choosing Tamarack Lodge for your cross-country ski trip and for taking the time to share your detailed feedback with us!

We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was a memorable and enjoyable experience. It's wonderful to know that the special characteristics and charm of Tamarack Lodge have endured over the years, and we are delighted that you felt both on vacation and at home during your 5-night stay in one of our cozy cabins.

We are also grateful for your kind words about our staff members and the exceptional service they provided during your stay. It's heartening to hear that they were able to assist you with your car trouble and other unexpected needs, ensuring that your visit was stress-free and enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for choosing Tamarack Lodge, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for another fantastic stay in the future. Safe travels!

Warm regards,

Manny Marquez
Lodge Manager
Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2024

This was our third annual trip visiting the Tamarack Lodge. We were looking for a cozy cabin in woods experience, not a big property, luxury everything experience and the Tamarack is it. We love it and so does our dog - it is truly a dog friendly property. The Lodge is located right across from the lake. When there is snow we hike, cross country ski and play in the snow to our hearts content. When there isn't snow we still hike, kayak and enjoy the beautiful Mammoth mountains. There are rooms in the lodge but we stay in the cozy cabins which are perfect - rustic, homey, with a full kitchen stocked with all the dishes and cookware you need. But spoil yourself one night and treat yourself to a gourmet dining experience at the Lakeside restaurant - it is fantastic. The property is well run, the staff is friendly, professional and attentive without being intrusive. The Tamarack Lodge is a perfect place to unplug, have fun and get cozy with your family and friends furry and otherwise.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Passenger46418545548
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny Marquez, Guest Services / Front Office at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2024

Thank you for choosing Tamarack Lodge for your third annual getaway, and for sharing your wonderful experience with us!
We are pleased to hear that you found our cabins to be perfect for your needs, with rustic charm and all the amenities you require for a comfortable stay. Treating yourself to a gourmet dining experience at our Lakeside restaurant sounds like a wonderful indulgence, and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed it.
We truly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you, your family, and your furry friends back to Tamarack Lodge for many more memorable vacations in the woods.

Manny Marquez
Lodge Manager
Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2024

Our family enjoyed a lovely, wintery stay in a cabin with easy access to our parking spots. The cabin was perfect for our needs, and was warm and welcoming. The staff members were as friendly and kind as we’ve ever experienced. When we needed something, we’d ring the front desk, and within minutes, Brian, Tim, Donald, or another staff member would come. The beds were very comfortable, and the kitchen stocked with all the necessary equipment. We would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 55ericw2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Manny Marquez, Guest Services / Front Office at Tamarack Lodge and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2024

Thank you for choosing Tamarack Lodge for your recent family getaway, and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your wintery stay in our cozy cabin and that it met all your needs.
It warms our hearts to hear your kind words about our friendly and attentive staff members, including Brian, Tim, and Donald. We take great pride in delivering exceptional service, and it's wonderful to know that our team members were able to promptly assist you with whatever you needed.

Warm regards,

Manny Marquez
Lodge Manager
Tamarack Lodge and Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews