We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lisa G
Mammoth Lakes, California

Rustic Luxury in the Eastern Sierras

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Oct 5, 2017
A thoughtfully reimagined large property right in the heart of the town center. On the shuttle and trolley route, walking distance to many eateries, natural food store, coffee bars, grocery store and entertainment. This hotel was a shabby throw back until the current owners doubled down and transformed it into a full service, mountain-style sanctuary. Our fireplace suite was spacious, beautifully appointed and welcoming. The staff is courteous, professional and genial. They seem to genuinely care how you enjoy your visit to the area. There are three onsite restaurants, spa, mini golf, ski rental, charming bar, billiards, outdoor pool and hot tub. Sierra Nevada Lodge offers activities for children and have really succeeded in creating an intimate feeling upscale resort out of a ski bum's crash pad.
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$317
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    C$317
0.1 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$423
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$423
1.9 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free parking
Pool
Mammoth Creek Inn exterior alpenglow
C$235
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free parking
Fitness centre
C$395
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.2 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free parking
Pool
C$232
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Cabin 3
C$251
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Skyscanner.com
2.1 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$228
  • Expedia.com
    C$259
6.3 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$265
  • Skyscanner.com
0.9 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
17
4
15
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
4
15
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sierra nevada resort chip lobby mammoth fireplace kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 61 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

Outstanding location in the middle of town, close to restaurants and stores. While it may not be the newest hotel, I found it clean, comfortable and, most important Lee, quiet. The bed was outstanding and it had a very large shower. Over the years I've stayed in a number of hotels in Mammoth and nearly all are older like this one. So far, this is my favorite. I will definitely come back here!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank sintrasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Reading the reviews on the Sierra Nevada Resort and Spa, I get the impression they are written about two different hotels. How anyone can give this place more than two stars is incomprehensible to me.

We arrived at the hotel without a reservations and were told by Kim on reception that due to the cold weather the night before, housekeeping had not finished cleaning all the rooms and that a room would become available in the next 1 1/2 hours. She explained that the rooms available were in the 'Lodge' and were basic motel type rooms. Kim was very helpful and is the reason this review has two stars instead of one star.
The 'Lodge' is right at the back of the hotel complex and halfway down the corridor towards it, the smell hits you. A mixture damp, dirt and old smoke. The room itself (no 256) was painted in the most awful dark mustard colour, was old and tired with a cobweb decorating the corner above the sink. Sockets were old fashioned and some half falling out of the wall, the carpet one I did not walk on barefoot and the heating coming from a sad looking vent in the wall.

Did I mention the smell?

No breakfast is included in the price but a 'resort fee' is added to the room rate which covers a tired Spa area, under equipped gym, tiny pool and hot tub. Not worth $25 dollars per day.

We would not have stayed in this hotel if any other accommodation had been available and my advice is to go elsewhere. We could no wait to get away.

Room tip: Do not stay in the 'Lodge'. Can't comment on any other rooms.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

Passing through on a road trip. We enjoyed our stay. Thought the location was great and the room was clean and comfortable. We thought the extra resort fee was a little much as we didn't use the spa which we would have to pay extra for the services or the pool or sauna. Definitely would stay again.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank L82travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 7, 2017

First of all, this place is a far cry from a 3.5 star hotel with a 'resort' in its title. With its old, two-story Motel-6 like buildings, ugly landscaping, across the parking lot restaurants and tiny pool, the overall feeling is closer to a roadside motel than what you probably had in mind when you were booking that room with at a high(ish) nightly rate.
On to the room; it was a lot different than those pretty pictures online. It was old, ugly, poorly maintained. Ours had that distinct smell of being smoked in despite the hotel advertising itself as smoke-free. It was probably not just because the previous occupants smoked, but the smell infused to everything in the room after years of being smoked in. Opening the windows did not help, the horrible smell was there every time we walked into the room. This must be impossible to miss by housekeeping or management, yet it seems the hotel chooses to ignore it. The decor is quite outdated, there are virtually no easily accessible power outlets and the faucet was so jammed that my daughters could not turn it on. The windows were so jammed that us as adults could only open with extreme difficulty.
Finally, this not-so-resort-like place comes with a $28.5 resort fee. I have no problems with resort fees as long as they are truthfully disclosed. The issue here is I booked through Hotwire and the hotel has found out a loophole in Hotwire policy that essentially allows a hotel to not disclose its resort fees even though you are still on the hook for it. Honest hotels make that disclosure so that you are well aware of the real nightly cost when making that reservation. Sierra Nevada is smart enough (or deceiving enough depending on which side you are looking from) not to disclose it so that you are fooled into thinking you are getting a decent rate, whereas your real nightly rate is significantly higher.

Room tip: Avoid Lodge rooms
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dennisyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 27, 2017

Stayed at the Resort the second week of August. The staff, especially Kim were very accommodating during our stay. We rented a 2 bedroom chalet which overlooked the green. The chalet was clean and comfortable. The pool and Jacuzzi were also very nice. The Jacuzzi was spacious as well. This was my third time staying at the Sierra Nevada Resort. I would definitely recommend it. Rafters also has a very nice outside cafe which we also took advantage of.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews