We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
livelovelaughsurf
San Diego, California

Great Service

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 12, 2017
Brad provided great service when checking in and answered all the questions we had! Our room was exactly what we wanted however, there was a really strong musty (maybe pet) odor that wouldn't go away. We asked the maid to spray a deodorizer to help neutralize the smell but then it just smelled like both. We probably should've asked to change rooms but didn't want to deal with the hassle. Hopefully, it'll get resolved before the next guest checks in. The hotel provides a good coffee area, a bar and a large hot tub.
Date of stay: December 2017
Room Tip: Upgraded bathrooms which were amazing but the carpets and decorative pillows should also be...
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$240
C$234
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$240
  • Algotels
0.1 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Motel Mammoth Lakes CA Exterior
C$143
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free parking
C$196
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$196
0.4 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$174
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • BestWestern.com
    C$173
0.9 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$349
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$283
  • Booking.com
1.9 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$389
  • Westin.com
    C$360
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    C$218
  • travelup.com
2.2 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$161
  • travelup.com
4.4 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$183
  • Algotels
6.3 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$278
  • Skyscanner.com
0.9 km from The Lodge at Sierra Nevada Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
17
4
15
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
17
4
15
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sierra nevada resort chip lobby mammoth fireplace kitchenette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 61 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

Called the lodge to update ourselves with this place that we very much enjoyed 15 yrs ago. Brad was most gracious with us on the phone explaining the location, identifying old land marks, detailing the new options post remodeling, and recommending possible ways to make reservations both with him AND the internet. We look forward to meeting him in person!!

Date of stay: November 2017
1  Thank terrystanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 11, 2017

Although it's quite dated I loved it. The surrounding views were beautiful. The room was basic and dated but warm and clean. There was a big outdoor jacuzzi that was fun to go in. Nice and warm. We didn't use the pool so can't comment on that. Lovely fires in the main room where we had a drink and played pool. Went next door for food. Service a little slow but food was very good.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 5, 2017

A thoughtfully reimagined large property right in the heart of the town center. On the shuttle and trolley route, walking distance to many eateries, natural food store, coffee bars, grocery store and entertainment. This hotel was a shabby throw back until the current owners doubled down and transformed it into a full service, mountain-style sanctuary. Our fireplace suite was spacious, beautifully appointed and welcoming. The staff is courteous, professional and genial. They seem to genuinely care how you enjoy your visit to the area. There are three onsite restaurants, spa, mini golf, ski rental, charming bar, billiards, outdoor pool and hot tub. Sierra Nevada Lodge offers activities for children and have really succeeded in creating an intimate feeling upscale resort out of a ski bum's crash pad.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

Outstanding location in the middle of town, close to restaurants and stores. While it may not be the newest hotel, I found it clean, comfortable and, most important Lee, quiet. The bed was outstanding and it had a very large shower. Over the years I've stayed in a number of hotels in Mammoth and nearly all are older like this one. So far, this is my favorite. I will definitely come back here!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank sintrasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Reading the reviews on the Sierra Nevada Resort and Spa, I get the impression they are written about two different hotels. How anyone can give this place more than two stars is incomprehensible to me.

We arrived at the hotel without a reservations and were told by Kim on reception that due to the cold weather the night before, housekeeping had not finished cleaning all the rooms and that a room would become available in the next 1 1/2 hours. She explained that the rooms available were in the 'Lodge' and were basic motel type rooms. Kim was very helpful and is the reason this review has two stars instead of one star.
The 'Lodge' is right at the back of the hotel complex and halfway down the corridor towards it, the smell hits you. A mixture damp, dirt and old smoke. The room itself (no 256) was painted in the most awful dark mustard colour, was old and tired with a cobweb decorating the corner above the sink. Sockets were old fashioned and some half falling out of the wall, the carpet one I did not walk on barefoot and the heating coming from a sad looking vent in the wall.

Did I mention the smell?

No breakfast is included in the price but a 'resort fee' is added to the room rate which covers a tired Spa area, under equipped gym, tiny pool and hot tub. Not worth $25 dollars per day.

We would not have stayed in this hotel if any other accommodation had been available and my advice is to go elsewhere. We could no wait to get away.

Room tip: Do not stay in the 'Lodge'. Can't comment on any other rooms.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stef D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews