We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient location is all it has to offer...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Convenient location is all it has to offer...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

If you're looking for convenience, this hotel has it. There are some great restaurants within walking distance. The train station is a short cab ride away (would have walked it, but the train station security strongly advised against it). The metro is just around the corner.

HOWEVER, this hotel was not quiet at all, and repeated complaints to management resulted in no help. Beds were average, cleanliness average, staff were if average help.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myzygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    320
    220
    72
    40
See reviews for
345
144
92
465
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

High points:
- nice view (we were on 18th floor),
- reasonably quiet,
- comfortable bed
- good-sized room - we had 2 cribs inside ours and still had space to move around. (The cribs took some time to be delivered to our room; fortunately, we weren't in a rush.)
- great restaurant
- very convenient to university city

Low points:
- there can be quite a wait for the elevator, especially at busy times of the day or if an event lets out downstairs
- building is old, though the furnishings are new
- parking lot is very cramped

Overall, if you're looking to stay in University City, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida
Level Contributor
574 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

I was looking for a conveniently located hotel in central Phl at a great rate. The rooms were comfortably appointed and I had a great city view. I rode the train from the airport to the main station and walked the few short blocks. The bed was very comfortable, room was quiet and I loved the restaurant. Super noodles. Walked everywhere. I will return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarks Summit
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This hotel also caters to family who have a child in Childrens Hospital of Philadelphia(CHoP). Very clean room, professional staff, no issues. Hotel is close enough to CHoP, U Penn and Drexel U that you can walk, safely, anywhere. Free internet on in-room computer. Front desk staff guided us to places we needed to get to. We don't always stay with Shertaon when we travel; but, found this hotel to be very convenient and it didn't disappoint us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Not on par with other Sheraton hotels for luxury or style. The interior is getting tired and needs a full remodel, not the attempted face lift.

The high point of this hotel is it's location to the Penn Campus.

The rooms that include the lounge for refreshments and continental breakfast were also a very nice surprise. I really appreciated being able to grab a cold Coca-Cola or an appetizer or a bowl of cereal in the morning!

The internet in the room was very hit or miss.

The gym, while small, was uncrowded with enough equipment for this fitness enthusiast. Forget about being able to use the pool/hot tub on weekends, especially if the hotel is the location of a family reunion.

The low point of this hotel is the elevator situation. If you are on a high floor or have any mobility issues, you will have a LOT of waiting, especially during high capacity weekends.

I was confused by the "lobby bar" situation and never did figure that out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travels5Usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

11/9/11 Great location to Penn campus, restaurants,Wawa convenience store across street. Close to trolley stop for center city. Room not cleaned first day. Second day I was to check-out at noon, when I returned from breakfast the door was wide open to my room, housekeeping started cleaning room before I had checked out and she had bagged my personal toiletry items and had them on the floor with the linens!! Housekeeping nowhere in sight. When calling Front desk just transferred me to housekeeping and I had to leave a voice message. Finally she appeared and said she had me down on her list as checked out already.During check-out front desk was inattentive at best to my situation and the man mumbled a feeble sorry bout' that. Will think twice about staying here again.

Room Tip: Room with view of UPenn campus is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonPhiladelphia, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Hello, CW:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I do apologize for the unacceptable service our housekeeping and front office staff provided for you during your departure day with us. This is not indicative of our service and be assured that your comments are reviewed with our management teams. We truly value our guests' feedback as this helps us to improve our training programs and service levels. We know that you have many choices to stay while in Philadelphia. We hope that the next time you are in town, you will give us another chance to show you how we do service our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

Great location! Walk to U.Penn or Drexel U.
We stayed for a recent Family Weekend at Penn, and the location was an easy walk to all the university.
The hotel was ok, nothing special. Was clean, friendly, but small rooms, old bathroom fixtures, worn/stained carpet. The bed was "mushy", way too soft for me, and the linens felt artificial.
Would stay there again only for the location/price close to the universities.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the noisy elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rj_traveler_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#5 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#21 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel
Address: 3549 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3361
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#35 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Philadelphia's famed education and medical centers, the Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel is a great choice when visiting Philadelphia for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity.ca, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia University City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Philadelphia University City Resort
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing