We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,039)
Filter reviews
1,039 results
Traveller rating
568
320
84
44
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
568
320
84
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast delivered queen loft hardwood floors breakfast basket yogurt locust street each morning street noise within walking distance small hotel reception area large bathroom center city charming hotel kimmel center academy of music flat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 1,039 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were very impressed with the room and the super comfortable bed. The room was very large for a boutique hotel. We walked to a fantastic restaurant and we got a voucher from trip advisor for free parking. We arrived just in time for the complimentary wine and hors d'ourves. The manager at check in was very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was okay, fruit, juice, croissant, and yogurt. It was delivered to the room, which was nice. We did not get a chance to walk to any of the nearby destinations, but next time we are in Philadelphia we will plan to stay at the Independent.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipr343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2012

At our stay in November 2012 we experienced very friendly and helpful staff. The room was big, clean and pleasant. The great location allows to walk to all significant sights in town. You get great value for your money. Only breakfast was disappointing (a basket with packaged food).

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WenZhuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We wish to say that they were kind, friendly, prompt and clean. From extra towels without asking, great shower, comfortable bed, clean, great in-bed breakfast, quiet, welcome letter, coffee and tea corner, plus water and juice, upon entering. Good size rooms, location was great, answered questions quickly. One extra piece for me was the chocolates on the desk, when checking in. Loved it! Great bar and rest. on the first floor. Elegant!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiriamMakeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is clean, the rooms are a good size and the bed is comfortable. However, our room had no TV service and while the staff attempted to correct nothing was accomplished. No discount was offered for this problem. The ceiling tiles in the bathroom didn't fit. The shower head leaked. Finally there was no in room safe. There are more reasonable options in the Gaborhood such as Alexamders.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsajmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were in Philadelphia when Hurricane Sandy hit: all the flights were canceled, all the shops and restaurants were closed. Stranded, we suddenly had to extend our stay at The Independent. And what a terrific job they did: several members of the staff came in and stayed at the hotel for three days to make sure they could take care of guests. They brought in food and extra wine. They let us know where we could still get sandwiches. They extended our parking privileges free of charge. And they put a cheery face on everything, even as they prepared for power outages and other eventualities. After spending hours on the phone with airlines and car rental agencies that were not at all equipped to deal with the hurricane, we relished the gracious service of The Independent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IndependentHotel, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Hi Scott,

Thank you for your kind review. While we realize being stranded during a storm isn't ideal,but I am glad we were able to make your stay comfortable during the storm. I do hope next time you are in town we have better weather so you can truly enjoy all that Philadelphia has to offer.

Safe & happy travels,
-Erin Fitzharris
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews