We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$226
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Windsor Suites(Philadelphia)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$198
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$165
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$155/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$135
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,007)
Filter reviews
1,007 results
Traveller rating
557
312
79
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
557
312
79
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast deliveredqueen lofthardwood floorscontinental breakfastlocust streetyogurtexposed brickgreat boutiqueeach morningstreet noisewithin walking distanceshower stallsmall hotelreception arealarge bathroomkimmel centercenter city
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 1,007 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2017

What a great iconic building centrally located to the center of town where almost everything was walkable. New interior and rooms, very clean. Service was very good. It's in a hopping part of town, so if you stay during a weekend, there may be plenty of noisy activity outside that could keep you up, even with the windows closed and the AC on.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank V9502GBsusans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2017

Dear V9502GBsusans,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other viewers on here and for the time you spent to letting us know your feedback. We were extremely happy knowing that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations in everything therefore we were honored with the 5 stars rating. I'm also so proud to share with you that our hotel has just been recognized on Conde Nast Traveler's prestigious Reader's Choice Awards list as a top 10 hotel in the Mid-Atlantic region for 2017. It was a pleasure to have you and looking forward to serve you again with your next stay, hope in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

The Independence is a perfect combination of welcoming warmth and modern flair. From the amazing and personable staff to the clean and unique rooms, our stay was wonderful! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 965smithj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2017

965smithj,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Independent Hotel in Philadelphia. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sharing your review with our staff. Please feel free to call the hotel when planning your next visit. We would be happy to assist you in making your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Cars parked in loading zone in front of hotel with no hotel personnel helping with luggage. Parking terrace cross the street under construction-valet it. Don't try to self park like I did. Terrifying experience on/off ramp. Must get Tix validated at parking office before exiting even it's prepaid at hotel.
Room not ready til 4pm. Many guests waiting for rooms and only one unhappy overwhelmed housekeeper in sight. Dirty beddings, lumpy mattress and thick-hard pillows.
The room and the building are actually really beautiful. Great location. Nice products in bathroom. It could be a super chic boutique hotel under right management

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank happywifeof16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

happywifeof16,

Thank you for your review of the Independent Hotel. We are sorry for the experience you had parking and inconveniences you experienced with check-in and housekeeping during your recent stay with us and appreciate the feedback you left for us. The management team will be reviewing your comments with all departments involved for training purposes, as what you experienced is not up to our standards. Again, we are terribly sorry for the experience you had during your stay with us. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly if you would like to discuss the details of your stay further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

We had a good stay. The location of the hotel is excellent - everything in Philly within walking distance and lots of good restaurants nearby (try Little Nona's next door). The hotel is comfortable, clean, with friendly staff and discounted parking in a lot one block away. A few things to note however - these did not bother us but they may others: - You enter through a first floor into a small area and need to take the elevator to the second floor to the main reception. I.e. there is no one to greet you at the entry, which might be a problem for people who want help with lots of bags. If anything, I am sure you can call them and someone will come down and assist. - We were on the second floor and could hear the noise from the bar below. However, it was not too loud - more like background noise and nothing ear plugs would not take care of. Also, it got quiet by around 10pm. For us this was fine. - Breakfast is delivered to your room but its not much to get excited about - a very basic continental breakfast. We did not bother after the first morning. I would stay again here because of the location and price.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank natashah179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

natashah179,

We really appreciate you taking time to review us with fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you appreciated the uniqueness of the property and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your candor and the details you left about your stay. We will review your feedback it with the management team, to maximize any improvements that can be made for fellow travelers when they stay with us.

Please feel to contact the hotel directly when you are looking to book again. We would be happy to assist you in making your next reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2017

Such a beautiful hotel right in center city close to everything. Clean rooms and excellent service. I will definetly be back. A few block from City Hall. Rooms are comfortably sized with beautiful hardwood floors.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jagxk8lvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017

Jagxk8lvr1,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the unique architecture and decor of the Independent Hotel. We will be sharing your comments with our staff and management team. We hope that you consider staying with us again when you return to Philadelphia and would be happy to assist you in making a future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews