We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Independent Hotel
Ranked #38 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Stayed two nights with our 2-year old in Oct. 2017. We loved our stay! The room was beautiful, spacious and had everything we needed. The complementary breakfast was an added bonus! Staff was very helpful. Only small negative was the noise at night since we stayed facing the street but it only happened a couple of times and was very brief. My husband forgot his shirt and they mailed it back to us so we are forever grateful!

Room Tip: For quiet, avoid booking facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yviand S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Yviand S,

We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The management will be sharing your comments with our staff. Please let us know when you will be back to Philadelphia, we would be happy to assist you in making a reservation with us.

We thank you for choosing to stay at the Independent Hotel in Philadelphia and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (962)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 962 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2017

What a great iconic building centrally located to the center of town where almost everything was walkable. New interior and rooms, very clean. Service was very good. It's in a hopping part of town, so if you stay during a weekend, there may be plenty of noisy activity outside that could keep you up, even with the windows closed and the AC on.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank V9502GBsusans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B, General Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Dear V9502GBsusans,
Thank you for sharing your experience with other viewers on here and for the time you spent to letting us know your feedback. We were extremely happy knowing that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations in everything therefore we were honored with the 5 stars rating. I'm also so proud to share with you that our hotel has just been recognized on Conde Nast Traveler's prestigious Reader's Choice Awards list as a top 10 hotel in the Mid-Atlantic region for 2017. It was a pleasure to have you and looking forward to serve you again with your next stay, hope in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The Independence is a perfect combination of welcoming warmth and modern flair. From the amazing and personable staff to the clean and unique rooms, our stay was wonderful! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 965smithj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

965smithj,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Independent Hotel in Philadelphia. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sharing your review with our staff. Please feel free to call the hotel when planning your next visit. We would be happy to assist you in making your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Cars parked in loading zone in front of hotel with no hotel personnel helping with luggage. Parking terrace cross the street under construction-valet it. Don't try to self park like I did. Terrifying experience on/off ramp. Must get Tix validated at parking office before exiting even it's prepaid at hotel.
Room not ready til 4pm. Many guests waiting for rooms and only one unhappy overwhelmed housekeeper in sight. Dirty beddings, lumpy mattress and thick-hard pillows.
The room and the building are actually really beautiful. Great location. Nice products in bathroom. It could be a super chic boutique hotel under right management

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank happywifeof16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

happywifeof16,

Thank you for your review of the Independent Hotel. We are sorry for the experience you had parking and inconveniences you experienced with check-in and housekeeping during your recent stay with us and appreciate the feedback you left for us. The management team will be reviewing your comments with all departments involved for training purposes, as what you experienced is not up to our standards. Again, we are terribly sorry for the experience you had during your stay with us. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly if you would like to discuss the details of your stay further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We had a good stay. The location of the hotel is excellent - everything in Philly within walking distance and lots of good restaurants nearby (try Little Nona's next door). The hotel is comfortable, clean, with friendly staff and discounted parking in a lot one block away. A few things to note however - these did not bother us but they may others: - You enter through a first floor into a small area and need to take the elevator to the second floor to the main reception. I.e. there is no one to greet you at the entry, which might be a problem for people who want help with lots of bags. If anything, I am sure you can call them and someone will come down and assist. - We were on the second floor and could hear the noise from the bar below. However, it was not too loud - more like background noise and nothing ear plugs would not take care of. Also, it got quiet by around 10pm. For us this was fine. - Breakfast is delivered to your room but its not much to get excited about - a very basic continental breakfast. We did not bother after the first morning. I would stay again here because of the location and price.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank natashah179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2017

natashah179,

We really appreciate you taking time to review us with fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you appreciated the uniqueness of the property and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your candor and the details you left about your stay. We will review your feedback it with the management team, to maximize any improvements that can be made for fellow travelers when they stay with us.

Please feel to contact the hotel directly when you are looking to book again. We would be happy to assist you in making your next reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Such a beautiful hotel right in center city close to everything. Clean rooms and excellent service. I will definetly be back. A few block from City Hall. Rooms are comfortably sized with beautiful hardwood floors.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jagxk8lvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Jagxk8lvr1,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and the unique architecture and decor of the Independent Hotel. We will be sharing your comments with our staff and management team. We hope that you consider staying with us again when you return to Philadelphia and would be happy to assist you in making a future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Not at all what I expected! Nothing was done right. Threatens to be out or be charged after being told I could get an hour late check out. No IC club gift! Small bed, small shower, no outlets to plug into, and the room was match book small!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 456tray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,396 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#21 of 88 in Philadelphia
585 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent Hotel

Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $170 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Independent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing