We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$173
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$184
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$96
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$155
US$149
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$184/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$140
US$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$167/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 04/08
US$165
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveller rating
558
312
79
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
312
79
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast deliveredqueen lofthardwood floorscontinental breakfastlocust streetyogurtexposed brickgreat boutiqueeach morningstreet noisewithin walking distanceshower stallsmall hotelreception arealarge bathroomkimmel centercenter city
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2017

The place was clean and cozy and comfortable enough to sleep in. The bathroom showers were a little on the dirtier side than what I would've liked, but the in room breakfast service made it better.
Overall, good place to stay in the heart of Philadelphia for a decent price

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

kimjhoon_kim,

Thank you for leaving a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and our sincerest apologies for the housekeeping issue you experienced, as it is not up to our high standards. We will be meeting with housekeeping to review your feedback and for training purposes. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again and would be happy to assist you in making your next reservation.

Thank you again for choosing the Independent Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017

Our stay was fantastic! Staff was very accommodating, we forgot to send our breakfast choices and they went to great lengths to accommodate us. Great location, subway stairs were right outside the door. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank X1791EPrebeccar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

X1791EPrebeccar,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us at the Independent Hotel. Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review for fellow travelers here on TripAdvisor. When looking to book your next stay, please contact the hotel directly. One of our staff would be delighted in assisting you with making a reservation.

Again, thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

We decided to stay an extra night in Philadelphia and booked The Independent Hotel. They give you discounts on a parking garage as well as breakfast in the morning! It was great! The hotel is clean and adorable and our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Philadelphia!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank carolinegS308AX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

carolinegS308AX,

We really appreciate you taking time to leave such a wonderful review. We appreciate your continued business and hope that you will contact the hotel directly when looking to book your next visit. One of our staff would be happy to assist you in making a reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

We have stayed at the Independent 4-6 times in the past. We have always enjoyed it. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly and helpful. Location is excellent. I would recommend staying at the Independent for anyone travelling to Philadelphia

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Steven R,

Thank you so much for taking time to review the Independent Hotel. We appreciate your loyalty and continued business. We will be sharing your comments with our management and staff. Please feel free to contact the hotel when thinking about your next stay. We would be happy to assist you in making your reservation.

Again, thank you for your review and choosing the Independent Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

The Independent is perfect for a weekend in the city-knowledgeable staff, tasty restaurants nearby, fun history, and in the heart of the arts! We will be certain to return in our future trips to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 244mar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

244mar58,

Thank you for your review of the Independent Hotel in Philadelphia. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to enjoy our lively and colorful neighborhood. We will be sharing your comments with management and our staff.

Please contact the hotel directly when you are ready to make your reservation. Our staff would be happy to assist you with making your next reservation.

Thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews