We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Independent Hotel
Ranked #38 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2017 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the Independent Hotel for five nights over Thanksgiving. I was greeted by Joyce when I checked in, and soon met John who is not only the general manager, but also works at the front desk. He brought s breakfast tray to my room each morning. They were both amazing and tried to make my stay better than it was. There are a few little things that need improvement and they were grateful for my feedback. They promised to make all these things better. I look forward to my next day at the Independent Hotel.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis P, Guest Relations Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Fred S.

Thank you so much for leaving your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate all of the feedback you have given us. We are continuously working to improve and uphold our high standards and cant wait to have you stay again. Please feel free to reach out to me directly to book your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2017

Perfect location for visiting Philly. Our room was unbelievably quiet for being in the heart of things. Close to historic Philly and walking distance to Rittenhouse area, City Hall, the Academy of Music, KImmel Center, National Museum of Jewish History - everything. Little Nonna's, next store, is a gem of a restaurant. I know Philly, grew up there, have stayed in some of the larger, fancier hotels closer to Rittenhouse Square and shopping on Chestnut. This is far better.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank siouxfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis P, Guest Relations Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Siouxfilly

We want to thank you so much for leaving your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your business and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact the hotel directly when looking to book your next visit and a member of staff would be happy to assist you in making a reservation.

Again, thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

This remodeled old building is both modern and rustic. Cleverly laid out rooms are unique, not like a series of boxes as some places might be. Floors are hardwood, walls take advantage of the original bricks to be incorporated into the decor. Facilities are modern. Staff is friendly and helpful. We have stayed there multiple times over the years. It's very quiet. It is walking distance to the old city, Kimmel Center, Jefferson Hospital system buildings, Walnut St. theater and if you don't mind a mile walk, to the Philadelphia Museum of Art (and the various museums along the way).

They offer free breakfast - yogurt, bagel, danish, muffin, juice. Not very creative but OK.

They offer free access to the 12th St. gym. I have not taken advantage of this due to time but will have to do it next visit. They have wine from 6-7 and snacks. Sometimes there are interesting people to converse with.

My criticisms: it needs a fastidious observer to go around and get some things fixed. Dirt is starting to accumulate in corners of the windows. Blinds do not work properly. Can't read the numbers/names on the heat/AC switches so I had no idea if I was raising or lowering the temperature. Ice has to be brought to the room by the staff - no self serve - I find this inconvenient. There is a coffee maker, microwave and mini-fridge. No minibar - that's just fine with me as they tend to be way overpriced. On our bed, the fitted sheet did not fit - kept coming off the mattress.

Someone needs to attend to these details to make it a really nice place to stay in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several rooms; all are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

John M,

Thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor and we appreciate you taking time to leave us your feedback. We are terribly sorry that this visit did not meet the standards you have come to expect from our hotel. We are going to be reviewing your comments and observations with our management team, as what you described is not up to our high standards of service. If there is anything further you would like to share about your stay, please contact the hotel directly and ask to speak to a manager.

We do appreciate your business, continued loyalty and we thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

Overall, it was a wonderful experience staying at the Independent Hotel. It meet all of my expectations and I will definitely return on my next trip to Philadelphia. I enjoyed the breakfast trays each morning

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2017

Patricia G,

We want to thank you so much for leaving your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you business and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact the hotel directly when looking to book your next visit and a member of staff would be happy to assist you in making a reservation.

Again, thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017

Spent two nights here, free wifi and complementary breakfast delivered to your door each morning. Huge room, nice bathroom, free wifi. Lots of great restuarants close by and a supermarket close by. Great service, thanks for a great stay,

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Swannynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

Swannynz,

You are welcome! It was our pleasure to ensure that you had a wonderful stay during your time in Philadelphia. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for us on tripadvisor for your fellow travelers. We hope that you will consider staying with us for any future visits to the area. Please feel free to contact the hotel and a staff member would be happy to assist you in making a reservation.

Thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017

Centrally located in Philadelphia, made getting around pretty simple. Rooms were clean and had fun, artistic styling - a blend of old-world and modern touches (wood floors, chest of drawers, old-fashioned desk, exposed brick in the bathroom - but also modern amenities and comfortable bed). Priced affordably - highly recommend for business or personal visits to Philly.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank evanh362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2017

evanh362,

Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review for us on tripadvisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your business. We do hope you will consider booking with us on any return visits to Philadelphia.

Thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Very disappointed after having enjoyed a previous stay 4 years ago. Noisy. You had to reenter 6 lines of info EVERY time you wanted wifi. The hotel refused to give me a receipt when we left (who does THAT?) I had to call downstairs several times to ask for room service; to ask for Kleenex (box had been left empty), to ask for toilet paper (roll had been left almost empty). Lots of street noise (music) all night long. AN expensive room, which looked out onto a wall, with poor service.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L5196BFwilliamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

L5196BFwilliamc,

We are so sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking time to leave us a review. We do take these matters seriously and will be reviewing your feedback with ALL of our management and staff to ensure things like this do not happen in the future. If you would like to discuss your experience in more detail, please feel free to contact the hotel directly and ask for a manager.

Again, our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,395 reviews
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#23 of 88 in Philadelphia
585 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Independent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Independent Hotel

Address: 1234 Locust St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-5612 (Formerly The Inn on Locust)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $169 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Independent Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Independent is a 24-room boutique hotel located in a fully restored Georgian-Revival building located at 1234 Locust Street in the vibrant Midtown Village area of Center City, Philadelphia. Now listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Independent is ideal for tourists and business travelers looking for a grand feel in a boutique, personalized hotel experience. Our guests experience luxury accommodations in the heart of Philadelphia, and are able to walk to theaters, the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Rittenhouse and other Philadelphia attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Independent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Hotel Philadelphia
Independent Boutique Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing