We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$226
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Windsor Suites(Philadelphia)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$196
US$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 26/07
US$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$199
US$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$198
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
US$140
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,008)
Filter reviews
1,008 results
Traveller rating
558
312
79
37
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
558
312
79
37
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast deliveredqueen lofthardwood floorscontinental breakfastlocust streetyogurtexposed brickgreat boutiqueeach morningstreet noisewithin walking distanceshower stallsmall hotelreception arealarge bathroomkimmel centercenter city
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1,008 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2017

Perfect location for visiting Philly. Our room was unbelievably quiet for being in the heart of things. Close to historic Philly and walking distance to Rittenhouse area, City Hall, the Academy of Music, KImmel Center, National Museum of Jewish History - everything. Little Nonna's, next store, is a gem of a restaurant. I know Philly, grew up there, have stayed in some of the larger, fancier hotels closer to Rittenhouse Square and shopping on Chestnut. This is far better.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank siouxfilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis P, Guest Relations Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Siouxfilly

We want to thank you so much for leaving your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your business and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact the hotel directly when looking to book your next visit and a member of staff would be happy to assist you in making a reservation.

Again, thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2017

This remodeled old building is both modern and rustic. Cleverly laid out rooms are unique, not like a series of boxes as some places might be. Floors are hardwood, walls take advantage of the original bricks to be incorporated into the decor. Facilities are modern. Staff is friendly and helpful. We have stayed there multiple times over the years. It's very quiet. It is walking distance to the old city, Kimmel Center, Jefferson Hospital system buildings, Walnut St. theater and if you don't mind a mile walk, to the Philadelphia Museum of Art (and the various museums along the way).

They offer free breakfast - yogurt, bagel, danish, muffin, juice. Not very creative but OK.

They offer free access to the 12th St. gym. I have not taken advantage of this due to time but will have to do it next visit. They have wine from 6-7 and snacks. Sometimes there are interesting people to converse with.

My criticisms: it needs a fastidious observer to go around and get some things fixed. Dirt is starting to accumulate in corners of the windows. Blinds do not work properly. Can't read the numbers/names on the heat/AC switches so I had no idea if I was raising or lowering the temperature. Ice has to be brought to the room by the staff - no self serve - I find this inconvenient. There is a coffee maker, microwave and mini-fridge. No minibar - that's just fine with me as they tend to be way overpriced. On our bed, the fitted sheet did not fit - kept coming off the mattress.

Someone needs to attend to these details to make it a really nice place to stay in Philadelphia.

Room Tip: I have stayed in several rooms; all are equally good.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

John M,

Thank you for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor and we appreciate you taking time to leave us your feedback. We are terribly sorry that this visit did not meet the standards you have come to expect from our hotel. We are going to be reviewing your comments and observations with our management team, as what you described is not up to our high standards of service. If there is anything further you would like to share about your stay, please contact the hotel directly and ask to speak to a manager.

We do appreciate your business, continued loyalty and we thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2017

Overall, it was a wonderful experience staying at the Independent Hotel. It meet all of my expectations and I will definitely return on my next trip to Philadelphia. I enjoyed the breakfast trays each morning

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2017

Patricia G,

We want to thank you so much for leaving your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you business and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Please contact the hotel directly when looking to book your next visit and a member of staff would be happy to assist you in making a reservation.

Again, thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2017

Spent two nights here, free wifi and complementary breakfast delivered to your door each morning. Huge room, nice bathroom, free wifi. Lots of great restuarants close by and a supermarket close by. Great service, thanks for a great stay,

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Swannynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Swannynz,

You are welcome! It was our pleasure to ensure that you had a wonderful stay during your time in Philadelphia. Thank you for leaving such a lovely review for us on tripadvisor for your fellow travelers. We hope that you will consider staying with us for any future visits to the area. Please feel free to contact the hotel and a staff member would be happy to assist you in making a reservation.

Thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2017

Centrally located in Philadelphia, made getting around pretty simple. Rooms were clean and had fun, artistic styling - a blend of old-world and modern touches (wood floors, chest of drawers, old-fashioned desk, exposed brick in the bathroom - but also modern amenities and comfortable bed). Priced affordably - highly recommend for business or personal visits to Philly.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank evanh362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawna E, Front Office Manager at The Independent Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

evanh362,

Thank you for leaving us such a wonderful review for us on tripadvisor. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your business. We do hope you will consider booking with us on any return visits to Philadelphia.

Thank you for choosing the Independent Hotel and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews