We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,045)
Filter reviews
1,045 results
Traveller rating
571
321
85
45
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
321
85
45
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast delivered queen loft hardwood floors continental breakfast locust street yogurt exposed brick great boutique each morning within walking distance street noise small hotel reception area large bathroom kimmel center center city flat screen tv
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,045 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018

Employees do not put guests as priority. Rooms need more oulets and a desk. Neighborhood is good and I gelt.sage walking.around. good restaurants close by and within easy waking distance to major sites. Experience was average I think we could have the same experience for less money

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank smuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2018

Reasonable rates for an above-average hotel. Terrific neighborhood, within walking distance of dozens of attractions and restaurants. Warm and professional staff. We come to Philly often and we stay here every time.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NMolzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2018

I enjoyed my stay at The Independent from start to finish. The hotel is in a really great area (if you like the city vibe), with incredible restaurants all around and easy access to the Patco. Front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. The room (Queen Loft Suite) was two floors and really nicely appointed. It felt like an apartment. Second bathroom downstairs was really nice and the bed upstairs was very comfortable. Only SMALL complaint was that the fireplace in the room had the ability to create actual flames removed (I'm assuming for safety purposes), so all it did was generate a small amount of heat. As many reviews note, complimentary breakfast (pastries of your choice) is delivered to your door if you hang your card on the door the night before. All in all a beautiful hotel in an incredible location with very nice and accommodating staff. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VegaPhillyRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile

The hotel room was lovely and the breakfast generous, but that didn’t overshadow the 1:00 am phone call informing me that the hotel was fully booked, so if I needed another night stay, it would be impossible. NOT TO MENTION I hadn’t even ASKED for an additional night. Quelle nightmare! This, after spending 14 hours with my spouse in PA Hospital for major surgery. Middle of the night phone calls + hospitalized husband = panic attack.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank KimD1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 10, 2018

Great hotel with very historic appeal. Rooms were spacious and clean. Location was perfect. It is within a 10 minute walk from historic sites. It is next to a ton of good food and places to drink. I would recommend stay at this hotel to anybody. I was impressed with this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank andrewV4934QF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews