We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“aware of their shortcomings” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“aware of their shortcomings”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

The concierge is only on duty until 6:30 and that's on the days when she shows up. Monday? No concierge, but the front desk said they could help. Except for the fact that people were chef kind in and out, so there was a wait. And then the information the desk clerk/manager gave me about the buses in the city and the price for seniors turned out to be erroneous. I also complained that the WIFI in the rooms was unreliable and now and then failed. He said they knew that and were going to change their service. And he admitted that the lack of a concierge was deplorable. I then went to the elevator bank where one of the two elevators was out of service. There seemed no point to making any further complaints.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnihotel, Manager at The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for you honest experience. Everyday we strive to provide the best possible experience for our guests staying with us at the Omni Hotel and we certainly let you down this time. We are currently working on changing internet providers and that issue should be resolved shortly.
Please allow us another opportunity, please call me directly at 215-931-4210.
Chris Laufer
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    459
    146
    71
    34
See reviews for
531
438
67
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

It was a very nice hotel, but unfortunately a couple was in the room the next to us and it was fairly obvious what they were up to - if you get my meaning. Better soundproofing would have been beneficial. I'd definitely recommend asking for a room that doesn't have an adjoining door to a suite with unknown guests.

Room Tip: I'd definitely recommend asking for a room that doesn't have an adjoining door to a suite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Fire_Worx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omnihotel, Manager at The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us this past weekend. We are apologize for your experience
And would love to have you back as our guest, please give me a call directly at 215-931-4210 when you have a chance.
Chris Laufer
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alapaha, Georgia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We were doing a family trip through Philadelphia but were worried about safety. I chose this hotel because of its proximity to the historic sites. We were rewarded with a glorious hotel that was less than a block from Independence Hall. At no point did we feel unsafe. The hotel staff were very friendly and the views from our room were spectacular. I will definately be staying here again on my next trip to Philly.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jgaskins43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights and was pleasantly surprised..... spacious room, very comfortable bed and bathrobes, bathroom also large and had counter space! Quite close to historic sites and about a 15-20 min walk to the Convention Centre or Macy's. There are 2 convenenient breakfast places next door....one is a small shop called "Benjamins" and the second larger one is "Cosi". The staff was very friendly, helpful and prompt also.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nuyu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

Our time in Philadelphia was only 24 hours and the hotel was the best choice! Very nice people at the front desk, the guys at the door were sweet and kind to my child. They gave my daughter a backpack with some crayons, a map and other little things that amused her. At night, they send milk and cookies for the children. She loved them!
Bed and bathroom were very nice and clean.
The breakfast even was a bit expensive, was very good and the portions were quite big.
I really liked the experience there.
Ahhh, I almost forget! The location couldn't be better!

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lmlozano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Va
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

Very nice hotel with spacious well furnished rooms and bathrooms. Very comfortable beds. Friendly hotel staff. Within walking distance of many of the historic sites. Nice bar, lounge area off the reception area. Very clean. Some furnishings showing a little wear.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbergazzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently overnight for a trip to the Orchestra. We stayed here a couple of years ago and enjoyed it then. The location is very convenient to the historic sites and Old City. Parking, as in all of Philadelphia Center City is a hassle. We parked in the Bourse parking behind the hotel, but valet parking would probably have been just as expensive. The rooms, as last time, were beautiful. Well maintained, very quiet.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blockschip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing