We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Booked this room with intent of being at south edge of the downtown area. The room was not large, but more than adequate in size. A/C worked well. We kept blinds closed during the day. The breakfast was nice. Exercise room definitely needs some help. Price was good and we will use this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for writing and the 4 stars. Hope to see you again soon. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,364)
There are newer reviews for Alexander Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

The Alexander Inn was just what we were looking for. We loved wandering around the local area. We ate very well at a nearby bistro and a pub and were handy for theatres and the city centre. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, soft towels and lovely toiletries. As others have mentioned the room was fairly small, but we were aware of that when ŵe booked.
There was good choice for the continental breakfast, taken in a comfortable lounge, with hot drinks, fruit and pastries available throughout the day. The staff were welcoming and helpful. A great find and excellent value. We'd love to return to Philadelphia sometime, and if we do we would happily stay at the Alexander again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saevans2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

This is an adorable boutique hotel in Philadelphia. The location is fantastic and the staff is very helpful and friendly. It was within walking distance (.5 mile or so) from the Reading Market and also close enough to the Big Bus stop on antique row. I would stay here again if I find myself back in Philly.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sumer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the five stars. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

As another reviewer notes, our room was quite small. Because it was very hot in Philadelphia when we were there, we needed strong air conditioning and the window unit in our 7th floor room couldn't keep up. A refrigerator in the room would have been a fantastic addition. But no such luck.

The hotel IS centrally located, which made walking to various places (and transit stops) fairly easy.

The only ice machines are on the main floor near the kitchen and in the basement. Speaking of the basement, they also have two or three vending machines -- that's it. It looks and feels like someone's basement at home; hasn't really been upgraded to be part of the hotel.

Their breakfast was quite adequate, though nothing special. The area you ate in was very nice (grade of B or B+) and, along with the staff, probably one of the best things about the hotel.

If you'll need parking, it's a couple of blocks away and costs $20 per day. There's only one elevator and it's not super-fast.

I was attracted by the location and the "boutique" aspect of the hotel. Not sorry I went, but I am not likely to return -- though I will probably check out other boutique hotels and make my selection based on what I learned from this experience.

Room Tip: Top (7th) floor is very hot. There's not much to see overlooking South Street.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and son. Beibg an historic building, the archetecture was beautiful. It also meant, though, that the rooms were very small. This also means that, if you want the AC to work as intended, you need to move the chairs and tables out of the way. I don't know what they can do differently, though, as they seem to have done the best with the room available.

The service, on the other hand, was incredible. Anything you needed was at hand. If you needed advice on how to or help getting around the city, the folks at the front desk were extremely helpful.

In closing, I guess whether you stay here depends on what you value most. If smaller spaces don't bother you, then you will be thrilled by the impecable service. With three of us to a room, the close quarters were a bit much for us.

The service,

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Joedub77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for writing and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Philly. Our website clearly states the square footage of our rooms. For $20.00 more a larger room might have suited your needs better. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

The Alexander Inn has a great team of people to help you when you first get there. They do not have their own parking but there is 20 min parking in front of the hotel for loading and unloading. Good thing the streets are easy to navigate and public transport is good. The lobby is very small. If you have more than 4 people with you, best have them wait in the car for check in, and you may have to do more than one trip in the elevator to get people and luggage up.
Our room was on the 5th floor and you could see the tops of the modern buildings. Inside was not very spacious. The hotel is historic, but with 6 foot tall people staying in the room, there was no room to move around and the beds were too small. The bathroom had no place to put anything and the toilets were horrible. They were supposed to be water saving, but it took 3 or more flushes to get anything down. It doesn't save water, but it sure is annoying.
The breakfast was good. Enough to get you going in the morning. The room it was served in was...... tiny. With such a large inn, there is no way there is room enough to serve everyone if it was a full house.
I would not stay here again, but the wood work and floors were pretty and the staff was helpful. A good location for accessing all the attractions in the city.

Room Tip: Tiny lobby, tiny room, tiny beds, tiny bathroom....
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank new2t6rvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for writing and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Philly. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I booked this hotel because of the good reviews. The location is great- walk to most major attractions. The staff is excellent- friendly and helpful.
The room is small but the bed was comfortable. Parking was good- $20. a night at a nearby garage. You park across the street to unload and load luggage. The hotel gives you vouchers for the garage.
Breakfast is typical continental breakfast but was fresh and continually replenished.
Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cacruiser_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for writing, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to Philly. Hope to see you again soon. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,282 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $196 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing