We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great for Kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin Institute

The Franklin Institute
Book In Advance
US$59.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPass
Ranked #16 of 426 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in honor of America’s first scientist, Benjamin Franklin, The Franklin Institute is one of America’s oldest and premier centers of science education. The museum is known for blockbuster exhibits, a bevy of interactive ongoing exhibitions, and one-of-a-kind theatrical experiences. Today, the Institute continues its dedication to public education and creating a passion for science by offering new and exciting access to science and technology in ways that would dazzle and delight its namesake.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

But not so much for others..a great family destination that I always wish was a little *more*.

Make sure to get there early so you can experience all of the exhibits and aren't rushed through.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paranormalnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,074 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,174
    534
    218
    93
    55
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heath, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great dinosaur exhibit, but the science stations is what we enjoyed the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We went here primarily for the dinosaur exhibit with our 5 year old daughter, and don't get me wrong, it was great. But definetly the institute as a whole is a greater experience that we all enjoyed. She was very interested to learn and understand how the exhibit works, and had a lot of fun doing so. It was as crowded as you would expect it to be on a weekend, not too much as for her to have a hard time to experience the exhibits.

Helpful?
Thank Helard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ/Philly area
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Favorite Philly Museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

If you have to go on a weekend, go first thing Sunday morning so you can head out by 11, when it starts to get crowded. During the week, go first thing, or after lunch to dodge the school groups. Fun inter actives, and the giant heart is famous. The special exhibits are STELLAR - Bodyworks, King Tut, Cleopatra were just a few we've enjoyed. Onsite garage parking is very small and tight, if you have a van or giant SUV, you'll have difficulties finding a big enough space.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank bubba53smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So sad...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I used to go to this museum when I was a child and I loved it. Walking through the huge heart, the amazing IMAX theather, the cool interactive exhibits... But, the last time I went I was sad that people had destroyed the place. They need to either have more security to ensure the place doesn't get vandilized or make an effort to fix the many things that are broken.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara3282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots to learn for all ages!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We visited the Franklin Institute yesterday as a family (kids 7 and 11 years old). We all enjoyed our visit including a 3 D movie and an IMAX movie. The museum has so many exhibits that we will need to return another time to see the rest. We look forward to going back when The Dead Sea Scrolls exhibit comes in May 2012.

Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Franklin Institute also viewed

 

Been to The Franklin Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing