We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great museum for kids.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Franklin Institute

The Franklin Institute
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPass
Ranked #16 of 431 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Founded in honor of America’s first scientist, Benjamin Franklin, The Franklin Institute is one of America’s oldest and premier centers of science education. The museum is known for blockbuster exhibits, a bevy of interactive ongoing exhibitions, and one-of-a-kind theatrical experiences. Today, the Institute continues its dedication to public education and creating a passion for science by offering new and exciting access to science and technology in ways that would dazzle and delight its namesake.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
nashville, tn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great museum for kids.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Our kids (ages 13, 8, and 2) really enjoyed the museum. The sport challenge area was the older kids' favorite. The planetarium show (Wildest Weather) was good. The adults thought it was okay, maybe geared towards children a little too much - wasn't as good as say the science museum in Chicago.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank oceangirl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,198
    545
    220
    94
    58
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Full of educational activities and fun for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This place was great and there's so much to do you could spend the day or more here. Awesome photo ops too. There's everything from working with simple machines, seeing dinosaur bones, exploring sports, how the body works, learning about motion, how the eye works, and so much more.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaStarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkiomenville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“must see and do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This a museum that wants you to touch, use, and think about their exhibits. It is for all ages, 1 year to 101. They have special exhibits that come and go, but the real meat of the museum is all the hands on learning exhibits available. We go for the special traveling exhibits, but spend most of the time enjoying their ever evolving constant themed exhibits. Don't miss the walk through heart. Parking is an elevator away, under the museum. The train is another easy way to arrive. Signs are posted in the city to get you there, and to any other museum in the area. i went as a child on school field trips and have gone as a parent too. it is always a new and learning experience.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jenw43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for Kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

But not so much for others..a great family destination that I always wish was a little *more*.

Make sure to get there early so you can experience all of the exhibits and aren't rushed through.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Paranormalnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heath, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great dinosaur exhibit, but the science stations is what we enjoyed the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We went here primarily for the dinosaur exhibit with our 5 year old daughter, and don't get me wrong, it was great. But definetly the institute as a whole is a greater experience that we all enjoyed. She was very interested to learn and understand how the exhibit works, and had a lot of fun doing so. It was as crowded as you would expect it to be on a weekend, not too much as for her to have a hard time to experience the exhibits.

Helpful?
Thank Helard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Franklin Institute also viewed

 

Been to The Franklin Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing