We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I found the Beef”
Review of Baby Blues BBQ

Baby Blues BBQ
Ranked #235 of 5,144 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: We are in walking distance to 30th St Station. We are 1/2 a block away from the "EL", so you can travel to all Philly sports stadiums within minutes.
Description: As featured on the food network's "Diners, Drive ins, and Dives" and The Travel Channel's "Ribs Paradise", we serve our own hybrid style of BBQ. Our influences include Carolina style pulled pork, Memphis-Style ribs, Creole seafood and Texas Style beef brisket. We also serve over 20 different soul-food side dishes both traditional and not. We offer full service catering as well as takeout & delivery. Look out for our Baby Blues BBQ food truck in the summer of 2015!
Reviewed September 22, 2018

After an all day meeting that ended close to supper I decided to find a place nearby instead of going back to my hotel. Boy am I glad I did.
Restaurant
It is not well signed outside and could be easily missed were it not for the aromas. Once inside the character of a BBQ joint was evident. They crammed in as many seats as they could, and while the place was packed, it was not uncomfortable. Inside was clean and well presented and the washrooms were in good shape.
Food
I ordered the BBQ Beef Ribs full order. The were cooked to perfection, and there was a lot of meat on those bones.
Beer
They could improve on their beer selection, but overall it was ok.
Service
The service was amazing. The waiter came to the table when needed, and the food came out hot and fresh. The waiter was also very knowledgeable about the beers which was a bonus.

Overall this is a must find place, and can't wait to go back.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Greg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2018

Had a family meal here. Great service and good food. Can recommend it. Great cocktails. Nice atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mjpscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

The food was amazing. Shared the Texas Beef Rib with my husband. Best mashed potatoes!!! The servers were helpful with explaining the menu and giving suggestions. We enjoyed a delicious meal and the atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Rosario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018

A group of us went here for lunch. Was mostly a disappointment. we each got something different, pulled pork sandwich, wings, BBQ Chicken, Ribs, and a Hamburger. The BBQ chicken was dry, the ribs were tough with little flavor, the wings were average, the burger was also average. The pulled pork sandwich was the most horrible, the bottom bun was a greasy sponge which was discarded. The top bun was burned, the pork had no flavor and was tough. Also note that none of these meals came with sides of any kind. When you got a burger or sandwich that is all you got no fries, chips nothing.

There were 4 different sauces on the table that we tried; Sweet, BBQ, Hot and XXX. The BBQ tasted like you average BBQ sauce, the Sweet wasn't very sweet, the Hot had no heat at all and the XXX wasn't much better. I've had better sauces from fast food joints.

Now on to the staff. The only person we interacted with was our waiter. Once seated he took our order and then vanished. Anytime we needed something like a refill, etc... we had to hunt for him and track him down. His demeanor was lackluster and it was like he really didn't want to be there. One of group watched him open a beer bottle with the bottom of his shirt and then hand it to a customer.

The atmosphere inside was that of an old run down bar. (see pictures)

All in all a disappointing lunch. There are far better BBQ places in Philadelphia so skip this one. Will never go back.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

Went with the Mason Dixon platter, a Memphis style half rack of ribs and a quarter smoked chicken. The waitress suggested Memphis over baby back due to the extra carmelization. I believe she meant just extra char as the ribs were quite dry. I would suggest the sweet potato fries. Probably the best I've had.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Flpnbitsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baby Blues BBQ also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Baby Blues BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing