We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice, but pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice, but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This is a great hotel to stay at if you're visiting Penn or affiliated institutions. Located in the heart of the Penn area. White Dog Inn is just around the corner. Very nice and elegant. Room was spacious and comfortable. However, it's not cheap, so I can't give it high marks for value. Also, restaurant staff was only so-so. Had to signal several times before I could get my coffee cup refilled.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentflyer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    330
    74
    26
    8
See reviews for
390
184
88
458
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel has all of the bells and whistles one would want from a boutique hotel, which is a very nice change from the typical Hilton experience. My check in was smooth and informative, but it wasn't "too much" because there's a lot to explain. An eloquent balance of information and room orientation with good conversation.

The valet and doormen were friendly. I did not care for my vehicle street parked as valet, doesn't seem secure, though nothing happened. Just a preference.

Kudos to housekeeping, one of the cleanest rooms I've stayed in and the bathroom was immaculate.

Looking forward to returning! Thank you for a nice, one night stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IntoTheAirwaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This Hilton is so nice. Had a great meal at Penne also. Loved my room - nicely furnished and decorated. Great bathroom. Highly recommend this hotel. This is the nicest Hilton I have stayed at (except for the one in Rome, Italy). The staff was so friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Recently renovated rooms, ipad in the room, good service, in the middle of the UPenn campus.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaccun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Nice rooms and staff, lousy amenities, the in room iPad is worthless, it doesn't even connect to the web. Tv hard to work, staff woke me at 5 a.m., they locked me out in the morning when I was out running, even though checkout is at noon and the room had a bad chemical smell, like burning plastic from a new lamp. The room service menu is very limited. But the location and staff are very nice, but this is not a great value due to the limited amenities offered. I have stayed at far nicer hotels. Still, a solid bet for a campus visit.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatsitwerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
638 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I had not stayed in this hotel for 10 years. What a difference and what an improvement! Beautiful clean rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ct
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

we were recommended to stay at the Sheraton because we were visiting Drexel and wanted something within walking distance in order to see the neighborhood. based on Tripadvisor reviews, we chose Inn at Penn instead. the prices are on par for this type of hotel. the decor is nice downstairs, the hallways nice and wide and the rooms very spacious. Beds were comfortable especially the pillows. nicely decorated, big bathrooms and nice amenities Very happy that there was free wi fi (usually this type of hotel then charges you for it!) and there were ipads in the room which we only used to see about room service but supposedly you can use it to surf the web. the front desk and especially the lady who also was at the concierge desk was very helpful. Valet parking was friendly (and yes about $36 ) and they gave me a campus map of drexel with the pertinent streets highlighted. gym is pretty nice too. cant beat the location if you want to go to penn or drexel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knatalie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing