We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rock Solid Place”

Jake's and Cooper's Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Jake's and Cooper's Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #797 of 5,113 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: US$15 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Manayunk
Cross street: Levering
Transit: Septa Regional train R6 stops right behind the restaurant.
Description: Jake's and Cooper's Wine Bar is an innovative restaurant featuring New American cuisine for over 32 years. Chef Bruce Cooper and his staff feature a classic approach to cuisine in a comfortable environment. Come try one of our wines from our new constructed Glass Wine Room at prices that are far below the industry mark up. In 2008, we opened Cooper's Brick Oven Wine Bar, adjacent to Jake's. Featuring more than 30 wines by the glass from all around the world, Cooper's is a casual, neighborhood eatery. We also welcome guests to bring your personal cellar selections and join us for dinner in the JAKE'S DINING ROOM for a $15 corkage fee any night of the week.
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

Great place - great menu !
Had the calamari & grilled octopus Salid
Both great . Duck confit spring rolls !
Defiantly coming back here ! In downtown Manayunk .

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank JeffZ136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 46 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

After a disastrous city caused flood that forced the restaurant to close for 4 months, Jakes has returned to its satisfying self. A neighborhood gem, Bruce Cooper’s staff, food and fair priced wines makes coming here a steady treat. For those who dare, the calves liver, bacon and onions is a special treat.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Harvey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

Splendid time sitting outdoors in the sunshine enjoying a near-perfect Sauvignon Blanc. Food looked good too, with a variety of simple but attractive menu choices including Pizzas and more traditional tavern and brunch items. Indoors, Mediterranean hues and wood gave a relaxed, homey feeling and outdoors it was a fine afternoon to watch Manayunk stroll by. This hilly, Philly once industrial neighborhood has gentrified over the years, but the Industrial brick facades and traces of factory life inside still create a unique neighborhood atmosphere.

The wine bar is dog friendly at outside tables and a diminutive Boston Terrier at the next table brought smiles to passersby all around.

No trace of bad service mentioned by someone out here. I guess anyone can have a bad day. I'd personally rate this place higher than the numbers say so far. Wine was expensive at $10 for a small carafe (slightly over a glass) and prices for other wines ranged even higher, but what is not expensive over there?

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TommyBoy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2017

as we are staying out of Phili we got this place as a recommendation for dinner. Now i like my wine and thought Hey "Wine Bar" got to be good!! Well it was the worst wine list i had seen in a long time and the food was O/K but it was really expensive "Over rated"

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DENNIS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

A pleasant outdoor and dog friendly place. Crab cakes were excellent, and many other dishes as well. Very congenial staff, great people watching.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank jbbriefel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jake's and Cooper's Wine Bar also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Jake's and Cooper's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing