We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great hotel experience”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We really enjoyed our overnight stay at the Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel. The room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The convenient location to many downtown attractions was also a big plus.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 691SeeIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    433
    79
    15
    16
See reviews for
444
537
68
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel is full of mold and truly run down.
The staff may be friendly but i got very ill upon entering my matchbox room.
I had to leave the hotel because of a reaction to the mold.
No gym very old fashion and no food/restaurant on site.
So many other great places to stay in PA. This is not one of them.

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jcs10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsOfDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear jcs10000

Honestly, your review is so TOTALLY WRONG & MISLEADING that we have filed a dispute with TripAdvisor.

So, fellow TripAdvisor readers, here are some facts.

1. This guest checked into room 306 which had been fully renovated less than 11 days prior to this guests arrival.

2. Room 306 had been occupied 9 of the 11 days prior and received a 100% Guest Satisfaction score. This process involves our staff calling guests within an hour of their arrival to insure total room satisfaction and cleanliness.

3. This guest checked in at 5:18pm.

4. This guest checked out at 6:55pm, about an hour and a half later and never answered the phone when our GSA called room 306.

While we do not question that you got sick here, since evidence was found on the bathroom floor; the cause of your "llness"was NOT MOLD. It just wasn't!

So, yes, we do not have a gym or a restaurant. And yes, we are a historic hotel and our staff is very friendly, but your false claims of mold at the Independence Park Hotel ruin the credibility TripAdvisor readers expect from it's authors.

We consider all reviews on TripAdvisor very important, unfortunately yours is just terribly wrong.

JM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

When on holiday, I normally prefer staying in places that can add to the overall experience, so a "Best Western" hotel would not ordinarily have been top of my list. However, this hotel has loads of character (as some other reviewers have said, much like a boutique European hotel), and is in an awesome location to boot.
We were staying here for only one night, basically stopping over in Philadelphia on our way to New York from Washington DC, so a hotel that was close to the major attractions was important to us. And you can't get much closer than the location of this hotel. Only a little over two blocks to the Liberty Bell and Independence Hall, one block to the City Tavern, and of course a lot of park space for the kids to run around in (and which we could see from the window of our room). It's also right in the middle of a bustling cafe and restaurant area, including a brewpub - Triumph Brewing - only a block away on the same street. Also, it was easy to get up early in the morning and take a short walk to the Visitor Centre on Market Street to get our (free) tickets to Independence Hall.
As for the hotel itself - very charming. Unfortunately, the lady at reception when we arrived wasn't too helpful. Also, we had booked online for the five of us to stay in one room (my wife and I and our three kids aged 7, 5 and 3), so I assumed this would mean there would be bedding for five, so we were surprised when we discovered there were only two Queen beds in our room. On checking with reception we were told this was the biggest room and the most beds they could fit in - ie, no foldaway beds. Fortunately, with young children, we were able to squeeze in for one night, but I wouldn't recommend a family of five sleeping in a room with this configuration with older kids, or for a longer period (fine for a family of four, of course, provided the kids are happy to share a bed).
Breakfast was included and great - I had actually forgotten this until we checked in, so it was a pleasant surprise, especially since we wanted to get up early to see some sights before heading to the train station. A nice continental selection, as well as scrambled eggs and a WAFFLE MACHINE, which the kids loved (with the Liberty Bell on them, no less).
Overall, despite the bedding situation an slightly surly staff, this was a great place for what we needed for our family.

Room Tip: Our room, facing the street, had a nice view, but was a bit noisy on a Saturday night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rilestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

The words charming, comfortable, charismatic sum up this building located in the historic area of town.
We stumbled across this gem out for a walk one night & elected to treat ourselves to a night at the Independence Inn.
We loved the lobby, with it's papers, tables for chess, newspapers, an open fireplace & sprawling arm chairs. The staff were efficient & attentive, offering to organize table bookings for restaurant week.
The hotel offers cookies & tea in the afternoon & a hearty cooked breakfast in the morning.
Our room was smallish but comfortable, the bed was comfortable but a loud squeaker. No noise could be heard from the window or adjoining rooms.
Wifi is wireless in the common areas but can be accessed by hard line in the room. Signal is strong.
The location itself is a hop, skip & jump away from 6th street, the liberty bell, Independence Hall, Little Italy and other magnificent tourist sites of Philidelphia.
Price is comparable to it's competition but it offers allot for the price.
We loved it & would return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laurajoshb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Hotel was well located for the historic sites. Staff were friendly and accommodated our early arrival. The room was ample sized but a little dated. Breakfast was incredible-make your own waffles was a great idea. Would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This hotel was fantastic and I will be returning on all future trips to Philadelphia. It is an incredibly charming, historic building in the perfect location to enjoy the historic landmarks of Phladelphia. Good, safe, central location. The room was clean and comfortable, reminded me of a boutique European hotel. The staff was outstanding, always friendly and helpful. For example, I was late for the (complimentary!) afternoon tea and cookies and they actually went to the trouble to pull the tea back out for me, without me even asking. Overall extremely friendly and homey experience.

The only negative was the lack of wireless internet throughout the hotel. The internet is complimentary, but wired only in the hotel rooms and wireless in the lobby. A tiny issue in an otherwise great experience. I'll be recommending this hotel to my family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julia761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This hotel is an all-around excellent place to stay, as it is much smaller and more charming than the other hotels I've stayed at in Philly. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and you get a sense of "home" there because of the accommodating staff, cozy front lounge with fireplace, small "inn" atmosphere and the amenities you get for the price you pay, which is well worth it. First, the hotel is fitting of the historical area it is in, as it is decked out in antique/traditional furniture. The front lounge serves tea and delicious fresh-baked cookies in the early evening and you can enjoy these sitting in a comfy sofa in front of a crackling fireplace. I saw that there was a computer with printer, board games and tables and chairs for relaxing or meeting up with friends or colleagues before hitting the town or going up to bed. The rooms were not huge, but the beds were very comfortable (not too soft or too firm, a good "medium"), and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. We had a room with 2 double beds, which we paid more for, but your only choices were 1 queen or 1 king in a room if traveling with friends. There were only "wired-in" Internet in the rooms, and wireless in the lobby which didn't work. The only fault I can find was that the Internet was REAL slow in the rooms, but as we weren't there in the rooms so long, it was enough for checking e-mail and Facebooking. Breakfast was EXCELLENT and was included in the rate, and if they have a special, they throw in hot breakfast in the buffet. They had DIY waffles with syrup (both regular and sugar-free syrups!), scrambled eggs, tasty sausages, toast, danish, cereals, jams, butter, juices, fruit and yogurt. The staff at breakfast were very thoughtful and since we came in late for breakfast (ends at 10:30, and we walked in at 10:15!), they asked if we wanted more sausages since they were out of it. We didn't feel rushed at all and so we left a nice tip for the lady there. Also, one of the ladies at the front who works nights ordered my sister a cab at 3:30am and said that they make sure that the cab is a regular and that they feel comfortable using this person for women traveling solo. Again, very thoughtful and a nice gesture!

About the area, it is by many historical areas, bars, clubs, and some restaurants. There weren't many cheap fast food areas nearby, but the front desk person directed us to an excellent Philly cheesesteak place and boy, was that amazingly good! There is a convenience/grocery store about 2 blocks away on 2nd and Market St. and about a block away is Cosi which has counterservice/fast food like atmosphere. The restaurants in the area are pretty expensive, but cater more to the tourist crowd, so you'll have to travel a bit to get to more local type, affordable places.

We loved our short stay and wouldn't hesitate coming back again for a longer visit here.

Room Tip: Rooms are small, so if you're not traveling as a "couple", get a 2 double bed room. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyleenAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,136 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
Address: 235 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning to "Visit Philly" this Autumn or Winter, be sure to stay the night at the Independence Park Hotel. We're located in Philadelphia's Historic District and the perfect spot to explore the city, catch a ball game, enjoy a show or just have fun! Stay with us and walk to the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Ben Franklin's Post Office, Betsy Ross's House, the National Constitution Center and Penn's Landing. Plus, there are dozens of great restaurants, art galleries and museums to wander through in our historic neighborhood. And if you're in Philadelphia on business, you will love our convenient location, free high speed Internet, complimentary 24/7 business pulse center and our award winning and pretty delicious complimentary continental breakfast. We are close to many corporate and government headquarters, as well as universities and renowned hospitals. Stay a night or longer and when you do, we promise to take good care of you. So, relax and enjoy our stunning architecture and host of complimentary modern comforts, designed to exceed today's demanding traveler needs. Make the most of your visit to Philadelphia, stay at Independence Park Hotel. Come be our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Philadelphia
Philadelphia Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing