We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,558)
Filter reviews
1,558 results
Traveller rating
983
458
82
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
983
458
82
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews liberty bell old city american revolution afternoon tea and cookies historic sites great location within walking distance wine and cheese across the street parking pass chestnut street small hotel betsy ross house charming hotel would stay here again few blocks yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,558 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2018

Our first floor room overlooked the main street yet was pleasantly quiet, with instant hot water, and was roomy enough for both of us.
Breakfast was superb! soft classical music is played as you dine on a wide variety of dishes that will suit most culinary traditions, and the tables were set with clean linen everyday. A bonus was the complimentary tea and cookies served at 3.30 pm.

Room Tip: Try making your own waffles on the machine provided!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davylad49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 25, 2018

My husband and I have stayed at The Independence a couple of times now. As previous people have said it is ideally situated, good hotel and above all the staff are so nice. Never stayed on a Tuesday so can't comment on the wine and cheese evening. The cookies and coffee are much appreciated after a day of walking. So much to see and do around this area. A must is the Museum of American Revolution, right opposite. Quite a few restaurants around. We were so sad to hear about the fire last week. Our thoughts and best wishes go to all the people concerned on that dreadful morning, especially the staff who work at The Independence. Hope everything goes well for The Independence and you will be up and running in a couple of months.

Room Tip: We have stayed at the front and back of the hotel,all rooms were fine with us.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Pickersgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsofDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear Pickergills,

We appreciate your repeated support, your kind words and your best wishes for our staff and team as we rebuild the Independence Park Hotel. Thank you so much for these heart warming comments, they mean so much to us.

We are sorting things out, contacting future guests and taking care of the groups who had booked with us. But, we are really looking forward to opening our doors and taking care of our friends, guests and everyone who enters our doors.

We will see you in a few month. OK?

Thanks

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018

The Independence Park Hotel is a 36 room property on the National Register of Historic Places that sits in possibly the best location for exploring Olde City Philadelphia. Under the Best Western Plus label it offers an expanded continental breakfast in the downstairs atrium and on Wednesday evening, a wine and cheese buffet from 5-7pm, that is outstanding. Parking is around the corner, a short block away for $18 a night with in and out privileges. There are 2 reserved spots in front of the hotel for easy loading and unloading. It sits right across the street from the outstanding new Museum of the American Revolution. The 3 night trip over Valentine's day was outstanding and look forward to returning to this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsofDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear Mark G.

Thanks for the PERFECT 5 Star review and for sharing your experience with the world on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your staying with us over Valentine's Day 2018.

These comments are very welcomed and we look forward to seeing you again.

We are currently closed due to a fire adjacent to the hotel, but we will be restoring our historic hotel and reopening again in a few months.

So, come back and see us later this year. OK?

THANKS

JM.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2018

This is a reply to Badger 781. We were in the hotel when we had to evacuate at 3:30AM on Sunday, Feb. 18th. If you had seen the 4 alarm fire 2 doors down that took almost 24 hours to put out initially and almost 500 firefighters working you would not be so quick to condemn hotel personnel. They had to coordinate with several city entities and figure out how to help us get our stuff back No hotel personnel were able to be in or near the building, so please cut them some slack about lack of communication. We had 3 different employees helping us and who were in touch as often as they could be, and because we were on the first 3 floors were able to retrieve our belongings Monday afternoon. The basement is completely flooded and the 5th (top) floor basically doesn't exist anymore. This is a wonderful property and we will be back next President's Day.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank cpframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsofDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear cframe,

Wow, your review brings tears to my eyes, this is so nice of you to post these comments. Thanks.

Yes, this has been a rather challenging week, but it's friends and guests like you that make us smile and forge ahead.

We appreciate your gracious words and look forward to seeing you when we reopen in several month.

Be well.

THANKS

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 21, 2018

My siblings and I made reservations at this hotel for a family get-together in March 2018. My sister and I made our reservations directly with the hotel; my brother used Booking.com. In mid-February, Booking.com notified him that his reservation had been cancelled. He called the hotel only to get a recording saying that there had been a fire nearby and the hotel would be closed for 90 days. Yet neither my sister nor I were ever notified of this, despite the fact that we are Best Western Rewards members. To make it even worse, the phone recording gave a 1-800 number and said we were welcome to call that number to cancel our reservation and be placed in another Best Western Plus hotel. Really? Best Western requires US to cancel our reservation at a hotel that is closed because of a fire? And Best Western implies that the only way we can cancel is to agree to go to another of their hotels. As resentful as I was about this, we did make reservations at another Best Western Plus just because we wanted to get reservations ASAP without doing a bunch of research and coordinating again. Unfortunately, this hotel, the Best Western Plus Convention Center, was less centrally located and more expensive than the Independence Park. Count me NOT IMPRESSED with Best Western Plus!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank badger718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnsofDistinction, General Manager at Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2018

Dear badger718,

I believe you are referring to the 4 Alarm fire that took place only a few days ago, which destroyed a several historic buildings, displaced 60 adjacent residents, killed 17 family pets and resulted in the extensive water damage, complete computer systems destroyed and closure of the Best Western Hotel. Correct?

We regret the inconvenience your family has encountered, however we are in the process of contacting all future guests and advising them of the tragedy that took place here a few days ago.

Honestly, we started with those whose reservations set to arrive sooner and working our way to those who are father out.

And while we respect everyone's opinion and the review they post on TripAdvisor, yours is one I would never have expected, especially after such a horrific tragedy.

Nonetheless, we hope your family has a nice gathering next month!

JM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews