We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Wilshire Grand Hotel(West Orange)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George(Montclair)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard West Orange(West Orange)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Plaza Hotel(West Orange)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Fairfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Belleville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (265)
Filter reviews
265 results
Traveller rating
145
89
14
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
145
89
14
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhole foodsfull kitchenhearth roomfront deskexercise roomlarge fireplaceindoor poolevery morningrooms are spaciouspots and pansoatmealbeautiful hotelfree breakfasthome away from homeliving areafire pitan extended stay
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 265 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2017

I stayed here as part of a group in town for a wedding. This place was a perfect pick for the event that did not take place on this site. As a large group of friends and family, this place provided a lot of space for us to be together between events, indoors and out. It also was very comfortable, pleasant surroundings, and a well-trained and accommodating friendly staff.

All rooms here are suites. Build in a huge square with ways to “cut through” you are never too far from where you want to end up.

The billiard room was the only place I would say needed attention, the table top was completely shot.The bar area was larger and very friendly attenders.

I considered it a sort of home away from home under these conditions.
Easy parking, a strong feeling of safety, and beautiful surroundings with inside and outside (courtyard) spaces, room included in this description.

Special mention of the staff is important here, always around, but never in your face. Every one of them are helpful, pleasant and down right cheerful.

Room Tip: I believe any room in this hotel would be a good choice.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dedwardv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let the traveling public know about your experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017

Surrounded by its own gardens, very well kept and beautiful parks nearby has perfect setting. Very easy to reach from the highway 280, just a couple of minutes away, ideal to reach Newark airport or NYC area in about half an hour. Rooms are spacious and include kitchen area, very well furnished with style and elegance, just like the common areas. Very comfortable bed. Very clean everywhere and very polite and helpful assistance from the various employees. Great breakfast, abundant and very good quality, different every day, which is amazing. Just the coffee is not up to par, but we prepared a very good coffee in our room with coffee and machine supplied by the hotel. The breakfast room is very nice and elegant with a big fireplace on one wall. The internal garden separates the main building from the pool and gym building. It's very charming with red umbrellas and a large fireplace pit that in the cool nights becomes the perfect place to hang and sip a drink. The indoor pool is very nice, but the water is too cold. On the contrary the hot-tub is great and very warm. The gym upstairs is not huge but has everything needed and is very comfortable, including water and towels. I don't give 5 stars just because our room, the 203, had strange noises coming from somewhere, perhaps the kitchens downstairs, and a beeping sound at many hours that was annoying. But if we are back in that area we will certainly come back to this hotel and ask for a quieter room.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IonAlexAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to let the traveling public know of your visit with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay but disappointed that the room had some issues. I think maybe the beeping may have been from a smoke detector battery that is going and I will make sure it was checked and fixed. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you again and thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile

Super quaint hotel l! The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. Our room was very nice and spacious. We had a view of the courtyard that was very nicely done. It had a great fire pit and outdoor area for my younger kiddos to run around. Landscaping was gorgeous. Breakfast was very nice!!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sjg176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much for making the effort to let others know of your experience and most of all, thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2017 via mobile

Always warm and friendly. Nice social hour.
Rooms with a fireplace in a peaceful setting...
As a platinum Marriott member, they upgrade me without asking... love this scenic place. I will return. Thank you

Stayed: May 2017
1  Thank Faye O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

We truly appreciate your efforts in letting the traveling public know of your stay. As a Platinum member you see a lot of hotels which makes this review even more special Thank you for your loyalty and taking the time to write this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2017

My sisters and I stayed in a most lovely studio suite with a King Bed and sleep couch. The suite also had a full kitchen. We were greeted warmly by the staff at check-in, who were so helpful in getting our airline boarding passes printed for a flight the next day. There were wedding and birthday parties going on there, and we were concerned it might be noisy, but we did not hear a thing all night. The bed was super comfy, and even the couch provided a good night's sleep. The room and the entire hotel had that old fashioned comfortable charm and a staff that went out of there way to be helpful and cheerful. The next morning we had a full buffet breakfast before we headed to Newark Airport, a short ride away. Some might consider this place a throwback to the olden days. If so, I wonder why more hotels don't try it. What could be more welcome than warm hospitality and a completely restful stay?

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marianna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel and our staff. We truly appreciate your effort and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews