We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely noisy and poor welcome for Silver Elite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn West Orange
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

I cashed in 70k points for two nights at this hotel and wow, do I regret it. This hotel is in a good location, but is poorly designed. For the 70k points, as a Silver Elite, I was given the first room by the front desk, near an elevator, and very, very noisy. Further, I explicitly requested extra towels and soap and those were not in the room and I had to call to request it yet again. The floors are ultra thin and I could hear everything upstairs. Front desk did work to contact the folks upstairs to quiet it a bit but not completely. For two nights, I had a restless, uncomfortable sleep and was very uncomfortable. Total waste of 70k points.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnThomas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear JohnThomas84,

I'm sorry you didn't have a 100% satisfactory stay. Due to us being an extended stay hotel, we do not have a concierge level like full service hotels have. I will be addressing extra amenities with staff for pre-arrival requests. I apologize you didn't have the extra towels or soaps in the room waiting for you, as this is something that we have control over. If you would like to discuss further in more detail, please do not hesitate to call me. The number of the hotel is (973) 669-4700.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere. The staff was knowledgeable and professional. I loved the room. There was abundant space and amenities. Harry's Bar was a nice touch for a little evening relaxing. I'll visit there again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you Ron! We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel, our staff and services. We truly appreciate the effort and time you took to write this review, letting others know of your experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Beautiful hotel! Great room! Full suite including a completely full kitchen.

Only one negative preventing this property from being a five star establishment.....Other than a bar downstairs offering a very limited menu for a very limited amount of hours, there is no restaurant either on the premise nor within walking distance. Thus, arriving late and without a car, you get to go to bed hungry.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jaykram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay. I am not sure of when you arrived, but we do have take out menus at the front desk for places that deliver and there are frozen food options in our Market if you find yourself arriving late. So sorry you went to bed hungry. We are glad with this exception you enjoyed the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Not sure what to say about my stay other than WOW, WOW and WOW.
When my cab first pulled up to the lobby entrance, I thought I was going to be staying at a B&B type hotel. But was I ever wrong.
After unloading my luggage I was promptly welcomed by Carol of the front desk staff who told me not to worry about arriving well before check-in time and then directed be towards my home for the week.
When I opened the door to my room I was shocked to see the size of the kitchen and work area. I was even a bigger fan of the large bedroom and bathroom.
The hotel sponsored "Happy Hour " events were a great way to unwind with co-workers before turning in for the nigh after marathon days at work.
The breakfast every morning was hot, fresh and never ran out despite the number of guests eating in the dining area.
On the days I didn't get back to the hotel in time for "Happy Hour" Harry's bar was a very enjoyable experience.
David,bartender had the CUSTOMER FIRST attitude each time my coworkers and I stopped by to unwind.
Once David got to know what my co-workers and I liked to drink, he always had the appropriate number of Blue Moon bottles waiting for us before we could sit down.
The last day of my stay, I discovered I needed to do wash and started to panic thinking I would not have enough clean clothes to make through the next stop on my trip.
Once again, Carol saved me by producing enough laundry detergent to do enough laundry for a month!
After getting my laundry done I asked Carol to please call a cab for me.
When the cab finally showed up an hour after Carol called, the driver did not speak English and understand that I needed to go to Brooklyn. After 15 minutes of trying to explain myself, I asked the driver to pop the trunk so I could get my luggage out.
When he refused to do it, I finally lost my patience and started to call 911 when Carol appeared to offer assistance. Once the driver saw Carol, he mumbled some foul language at as popped the trunk and took off after I slammed the trunk closed.
For those who prefer to cook in their suites, the hotel offers a shopping service that gets tacked on to your bill at the end of your stay.
Wish I had used that service instead of walking back from Whole Foods with three bags of food.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moose753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the hotel. I especially appreciate you naming Carol and can not wait to show her what a positive impact she had on your stay. Thank you for your business and please come back to see us again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

What a wonderful place to stay. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Rooms are very nice and clean and the hotel location was perfect for all the activities we had planned. Great parking. Breakfast was good and we went and had wine one night at the bar which was nice and quaint. We were in town for our son's wedding and this hotel added to our wonderful time there.

Room Tip: think any room would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mike1646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Congratulations on the wedding! We are so happy to be part of this wonderful event in your lives and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Convenient location and beautiful external property for a wedding we attended. Definitely recommend staying on their second or third floor to be on the same level as a lobby in case of heavy luggage. About a 30 minute drive from Newark airport. The rooms are spacious but bathrooms/decor are a little outdated. I asked the front desk if their laundry services included suit pressing but I never got a callback even though I was told they would check for me and ended up ironing it myself. Their gym is fantastic and was the one bright spot of my stay. I felt the cost was overpriced for the quality of my stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DrMrsBroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are so sorry you did not feel the hotel was a good value. Our prices are based on occupancy and comparable to like hotels in this area. We are happy you enjoyed the gym and I apologize no one got back to you about the suit pressing. If you were here on a weekend the service is not available after 9am on Fridays until Monday so they would not have been able to assist you, however the person you spoke to should have gotten back to you regardless. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

I was lucky enough to be booked into a suite on the first floor for business. Overall it was fairly quiet, but I did need to shut the door between the sleeping area and living area. My gosh, that suite was enormous! The bed was comfortable, and everything was clean and smelled nicely. The kitchen was half the size of my kitchen at home! Internet strength was strong, too, which is important to me. The outside of this place was gorgeous. Breakfast was tasty, and I really have no complaints.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Angela,

Thank you so much for your review and making the effort to let the traveling public know of your experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
1.2 km away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
574 reviews
2.2 km away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
227 reviews
9.1 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
8.8 km away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
8.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn West Orange

Address: 107 Prospect Ave, West Orange, NJ 07052-4202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range: $270 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange is an ideal choice among hotels in West Orange, NJ for business and leisure travel. We offer a comfortable home away from home, centrally located in the heart of West Orange and near many area attractions including Montclair State University and Wellmont Theater. Our West Orange, NY hotel is pet friendly and is an all-suite hotel boasting unique design and decor. We make it easy for guests to relax while traveling for work or pleasure, offering cozy guest suites and many enjoyable public spaces. When you stay with us at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, you will be able to sleep, work, and entertain in your suite and have productive experiences in the public areas of our hotel. We provide you with complimentary Wi-Fi, ergonomic work areas, and a daily free hot breakfast to start your day the right way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing