We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn West Orange
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2017

My wife and I recently had a wonderful stay at the Marriott Residence Inn in West Orange.

I would recommend it highly for anyone considering staying at the hotel.

We were having our home reconstructed and stayed at the hotel for two months.


As a residence in, the hotel provides exactly what you need to have a comfortable stay.

So, of course, there is a full refrigerator and stove. The kitchen even has a dishwasher.

Supplied were all the necessary pots and pans, utensils, dishes, cups and glasses.

There was a coffee maker, a toaster, just on and on, everything you needed.


But it is much more than that. The Residence Inn has high ceilings in the rooms. One of the things
that makes you feel "boxed in" in a typical motel or hotel is just that the ceilings are low. These ceilings
are the same height as ceilings in a home, and it makes a difference. In addition to the visual effect, the air
is just better. Which, of course, is why schools, by law, have to high ceilings of a certain height.

The furnishings in the room are real wood furniture, not some of the cheap press board imitations.

They give you everything you need. The hotel has a pool, a jacuzzi, a laundry room, an exercise room.
Plus it has a real courtyard with very nice landscaping. That comes complete with a real grill. People were out
there grilling all the time.

Then to the breakfasts. Most complimentary breakfasts are pastry and coffee. This was very very difficult. Every day had
scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, grits, coffee, bagels, breads, pastry. The list goes on and on. Now this hotel is owned by
the same gentleman who owns a well known NJ restaurant /catering hall, right next door ---- The Manor. So the food is not "hotel" food.
The food is good restaurant quality food.

And then to the staff. These were not ordinary staff. These people knew their jobs. They were extremely competent, professional, friendly
and helpful. And not officious. Nothing worse than some 25 year old inexperienced kid talking to a 50 year adult, as if the 50 year old is a child
and knows nothing. None of that, at all.

Nice little bar downstairs, pool table, nice decorations.

So, yes, this is a great place to stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jonn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Wow, John N thank you for such a wonderful review. I can not wait to read this to our staff. We truly appreciate your effort and thank you for staying with us. We love that felt at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017

I've stayed at the Residence Inn West Orange twice now and would definitely stay again - especially for long-term stays. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. My only complaint (which the management did address in a survey from Marriott) is the hotel rents out an area often for showers, parties, etc. and this could mean the restaurant is closed. The area they rent out is not like a ball room, it is the common area where guests have breakfast and is noisy for those with rooms nearby. Other than that, no complaints. The rooms are clean and if you need anything just call the front desk and they will help.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank windycityjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and for your kind comments regarding our staff and services. Our upcoming renovation will address seating for Harry's which should eliminate any issues with your concerns about the grill. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Our daughter had twins on Jan 2, 2017 and we stayed in this hotel intermittently 19 days over seven months. Their breakfast is good, service is good and accomodations are very nice. Pleasant staff, always helpful. Recommend it highly. Having the full kitchen(everything but oven) and microwave is very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay and letting the traveling public know of your experiences. We are thrilled you found a home away from home when visiting your family. Congratulations on becoming grandparents!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The Inn was our home for two months when our apartment flooded and we transitioned to a house. We had three cats with us, we were asking for privacy and towels and coffee and gluten-free bagels and odd requests for weeks, and every single person I ever dealt with on the staff was courteous and helpful to a fault. Kim in sales was tremendously kind; Carol (Carol!!), Holly, Tom and everyone at the front desk were stellar; the breakfast staff, especially William, Rose, Noemi, Anna and Olive, were always helpful and put a smile on my face; Daniel in Housekeeping and his entire staff were patient, friendly, thorough and helpful the entire time. The full kitchen, hot tub, laundry room and free wine some nights made our endless weeks doable and let us live our lives a little easier. OK, currently, the hotel needs to be upgraded in many ways - now scheduled for Nov 2017 to begin renovations. But being looked after with kindness and professionalism was much more important to us during a very stressful time. My family and I are hugely grateful and cannot thank them enough. Give them all raises please....

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BARDESS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

We are thrilled you enjoyed the service you received as our guest and truly appreciate your efforts in letting the traveling public know of your experience. I cannot wait to share your comments with the staff. We wish you the best in your new home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

I cashed in 70k points for two nights at this hotel and wow, do I regret it. This hotel is in a good location, but is poorly designed. For the 70k points, as a Silver Elite, I was given the first room by the front desk, near an elevator, and very, very noisy. Further, I explicitly requested extra towels and soap and those were not in the room and I had to call to request it yet again. The floors are ultra thin and I could hear everything upstairs. Front desk did work to contact the folks upstairs to quiet it a bit but not completely. For two nights, I had a restless, uncomfortable sleep and was very uncomfortable. Total waste of 70k points.

Room Tip: Ask for the highest floor possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnThomas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F, Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear JohnThomas84,

I'm sorry you didn't have a 100% satisfactory stay. Due to us being an extended stay hotel, we do not have a concierge level like full service hotels have. I will be addressing extra amenities with staff for pre-arrival requests. I apologize you didn't have the extra towels or soaps in the room waiting for you, as this is something that we have control over. If you would like to discuss further in more detail, please do not hesitate to call me. The number of the hotel is (973) 669-4700.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Loved the atmosphere. The staff was knowledgeable and professional. I loved the room. There was abundant space and amenities. Harry's Bar was a nice touch for a little evening relaxing. I'll visit there again

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you Ron! We are so happy you enjoyed the hotel, our staff and services. We truly appreciate the effort and time you took to write this review, letting others know of your experience. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Beautiful hotel! Great room! Full suite including a completely full kitchen.

Only one negative preventing this property from being a five star establishment.....Other than a bar downstairs offering a very limited menu for a very limited amount of hours, there is no restaurant either on the premise nor within walking distance. Thus, arriving late and without a car, you get to go to bed hungry.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jaykram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lori H, General Manager at Residence Inn West Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay. I am not sure of when you arrived, but we do have take out menus at the front desk for places that deliver and there are frozen food options in our Market if you find yourself arriving late. So sorry you went to bed hungry. We are glad with this exception you enjoyed the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Orange
1.2 km away
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
The Wilshire Grand Hotel
#1 of 4 in West Orange
574 reviews
2.2 km away
Courtyard West Orange
Courtyard West Orange
#3 of 4 in West Orange
227 reviews
9.1 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#1 of 1 in Livingston
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 km away
Garden Plaza Hotel
Garden Plaza Hotel
#4 of 4 in West Orange
170 reviews
8.8 km away
Ramada Wayne Fairfield Area
8.1 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn West Orange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn West Orange

Address: 107 Prospect Ave, West Orange, NJ 07052-4202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > West Orange
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in West Orange
Price Range: $271 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn West Orange 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange is an ideal choice among hotels in West Orange, NJ for business and leisure travel. We offer a comfortable home away from home, centrally located in the heart of West Orange and near many area attractions including Montclair State University and Wellmont Theater. Our West Orange, NY hotel is pet friendly and is an all-suite hotel boasting unique design and decor. We make it easy for guests to relax while traveling for work or pleasure, offering cozy guest suites and many enjoyable public spaces. When you stay with us at Residence Inn by Marriott West Orange, you will be able to sleep, work, and entertain in your suite and have productive experiences in the public areas of our hotel. We provide you with complimentary Wi-Fi, ergonomic work areas, and a daily free hot breakfast to start your day the right way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn West Orange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn West Orange Hotel West Orange
West Orange Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing