We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lightner farmhouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Lightner Farmhouse
Ranked #7 of 23 Gettysburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lightner farmhouse”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Always feel right at home. Close to everything. Love it every time!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    32
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
68
176
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Cedar Room at the Lightner for our anniversary on November 4, 2011. Eileen and Dennis were very welcoming. They made an excellent breakfast and had delicious cookies available for us throughout the stay. Our room was very nice, comfortable, and had a electric fireplace that was a nice touch. We were even greeted by Jezebel the cat on our porch. We took the Paranormal Tour with Betty at night and it was great fun. Betty is such a truly nice person and we really enjoyed learning all about the ghosts of the house and talking with her. She took us to Sach's Bridge where we got some unexplainable pictures. I loved that we were able to use KII meters and other authentic ghost hunting equipment. Betty even gave us a CD with all of the pictures that she took. All in all it was a great stay and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Cedar room has it's own outside door and a porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midnight1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardon, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Just returned from an amazing three days and two nights in Gettysburg. The Lightner Farm B&B was just right for a fun, scary, halloween with my sister and two daughters aged 18 and 20. From the moment we drove down the driveway we were pulled in to the Lightner Farm B&B. The hosts Eileen and Dennis were very gracious and after helping us become familiar with the B&B and the history, they let us make ourselves at home. We enjoyed our roomy two bedroom suite in the attic. Without delay we were introduced to the "ghost cat" that lives in the Pine Suite. The following night (Halloween) we enjoyed a great paranormal investigation with Betty and her daughter Sam. We spent two hours exploring the whole Lightner Farmhouse, as we had the whole house to ourselves! We had several VERY exciting experiences that night and made sleeping a little un-nerving in the beginning but soon we all fell asleep on our comfortable beds. There were so many strange things that happened that it would take too long to explain them all but be warned, if you are looking for a really fun place to experience the paranormal, this is the place to stay. We throughly enjoyed our stay and would love to come back again.

Room Tip: If you need extra room as we did with four adult women, the Pine Tree Suite works very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bermuda Dunes, CA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here on our way to a wedding in New York. We brought his parents with us and we all had a great time and stay. The breakfast was wonderful and the grounds are just beautiful! We got a late start and the owners called to give us information about checking in. The owners were terrific and a pleasure! We would highly recommend staying at this wonderful B&B!

Room Tip: When staying here I would recommend J's in the village. Great food!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed here to see fall foliage and experience the history of Gettysburg. We also experienced the October 2011 snow! This place is wonderful! The hosts are great. They think of everything. The breakfasts are good. It is perfect! I want to go back in the summer! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidicrnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

After a tiring road trip my husband and I were thrilled to find the Lightner Farmhouse in an easy-to-find, quiet, location. Each morning soft music, candles and superb home cooked breakfast (Blueberry pancakes to die for) awaited us. The owner's friendly knowledgeable advice regarding tours and restaurants (J's at the Village is best) made all the difference in our day. Add spacious, quiet rooms, comfortable beds and two adorable Pugs and we really think we found a home away from home at the Lightner Farmhouse.

Room Tip: The Oak Room had two windows with great light and great view of farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azwanderer_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My friends and I wanted to take a quick trip to Gettysburg, so I booked this B&B. It was such a warm inviting place ! The owners were beyond grascious to us, directing us through town when we got lost, and providing a map of where we wanted to go. Can't wait to go back, and the cottage in the back allows children, so I can take my daughter next time.

Room Tip: we had the attic room because it slept 4, loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eryan109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
5.6 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#7 of 28 in Gettysburg
2,510 reviews
5.7 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 28 in Gettysburg
1,046 reviews
5.0 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Inn at Lincoln Square
Inn at Lincoln Square
#11 of 28 in Gettysburg
378 reviews
5.1 km away
Brickhouse Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.5 km away
Baladerry Inn
Baladerry Inn
#5 of 23 in Gettysburg
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lightner Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lightner Farmhouse

Property: The Lightner Farmhouse
Address: 2350 Baltimore Pike, Gettysburg, PA 17325-7016
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Gettysburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lightner Farmhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Lightner Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing